We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the city centre!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Trondheim
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here when I visited "Olavsfestdagene" - Norway's largest church and cultural festival. I chose a room on the back side of the hotel because of less noise from the traffic. I had no view there, the room was small and simple. But my wish was to have a place to sleep and eat breafast and both was very satisfactory! I choose this hotel everytime I visit Trondheim, because it's cheap and in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fokus96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a budget hotel and is overall an OK hotel. It hasn't got any charm, it isn't cozy; however, it offers a good bed and a decent breakfast. The best about the hotel is probably its location.

Room Tip: book one of the rooms who face the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelleKoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Right in the centre of town, excellent value (for Norway). Breakfast included, not fancy, but entirely adequate. Room was clean, and although the furniture were not new, they were entirely all right. Really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This hotel is perfect if you like to sleep naked, because you will not be able to adjust the temperature in your room. The window doesn't open and there is no thermostat to program. The rooms are very outdated, the bed is old, with a tatty bedspread and lumpy pillow, and the furniture looked plucked straight from a yard sale.

The room I had (422) is a skinny, narrow cell shape. The bathroom is small, with a shower right by the sink with only a curtain separating the two. I had to put my shampoo on the ledge of the sink as there are no shelves or places to put toiletries. There is no fan in the bathroom, which creates a lot of steam and humidity - not ideal in an already stuffy room.

The breakfast was adequate, and there is free wireless internet, making the experience tolerable. I wouldn't stay here again however, unless I was stepping up from camping.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erin-norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

After staying in the City hotel of the same group in Trondheim, I was a bit worried having to stay in this cheaper Budget Hotel. However I was proven wrong (on most points).
Overall the staff is friendly, breakfast is OK (fresh bread), rooms are quiet and big enough.
Only in the weekends the corridors can be noisy, also some rooms might have hinderance from the noise of an air in/outlet.
The corridors stores some trolleys with laundry. The booking office was not really approachable when using the benefits of the membership programme.
A good hotel in the city centre for business trips or for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einzelganger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This is considered a budget chain in Norway. I had a room with a single bed. The room was small and narrow, but decent enough. The shower consisted of a corner in the bathroom separated by a curtain. The breakfast buffet was adequate. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is an Irish pub on the ground floor of the building and other restaurants nearby. The hotel is located in the center of Trondheim.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JBH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This is just an average hotel in the city center but expensive one. Their bathroom was quite small and there were fewer selections for breakfast. The hotel was clean and reception was quite helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GyanBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Scandic Lerkendal
Scandic Lerkendal
#11 of 25 in Trondheim
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Trondheim

Address: Kongens gate 15, Trondheim 7013, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Trondheim 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing