We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the middle of Trondheim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Trondheim
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This hotel is in a great location in central Trondheim. We found the staff exceptionally helpful and kind. When we arrived at night and in the rain, we got separated from our friends as they tried to find a place to park. The hotel staff offered the use of their desk telephone to call our friends on their cell phone to locate them. All was well but that kindness and concern was very much appreciated by some very weary travelers.

The room was very large and quiet. We requested a room away from the street and our request was honored. The breakfast was served longer hours than in most hotels and it was delicious.

The hotel connects to the underground parking garage and to a very large shopping mall. In the long winters and rainy fall months, it is quite a delight to be able to stay out of the weather. Trondheim is a little gem and worth spending some time in on a visit to Norway. One of the highlights of our visit was the Ringve Music Museum. It has a fantastic display of musical instruments from around the world.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Trondheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

The hotel is situated right in the heart of town, and convenient for restaurants, buses, supermarkets, tram and the main sights. Airport bus stops outside. Very lively outside till the early hours because of the sidewalk restaurants, and lots of people about. But it was very quiet inside the hotel because of the sound insulation. There was no minibar, but wine and beer were available at reception for reasonable rates ( for Norway) !

Very helpful front desk, internet access was free, brilliant breakfast, but unlike other Thon Hotels we stayed at, coffee was not free. Only aspect which was not convenient was that it was not close to the Rail station ( about 15/20min slow walk). Taxis were readily available.

During our day's stay, we visited the Cathedral, took a bus to the Ringve Music Museum, walked the old town and took the Tram to Lian. I read somewhere where its the most Northerly tram in Europe - it takes about 20 minutes to travel to the end of the line. You get good views of Trondheim on the way up, and you alight at the terminus in the country.

We found it worthwhile purchasing a 24 hour ticket for the tram and buses. This was 75NOK for one person, and 100NOK for two travelling together. The single ticket was around 27NOK. Purchase tickets from the driver.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I'm sure that if I had visited the hotel in the winter, I would have written a great review. But, on a gorgeous sunny day, our room overheated badly. The cool air through the window was enough to fix the temperature, but the noise level went from reasonably quiet to annoyingly loud. If you are visiting in the winter or are a heavy sleeper, then there are many pluses to this hotel. Unfortunately, we managed only one good night's sleep over our six-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcademicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We stayed on room nr 401, and the indoorclimate on this room was really bad!

Stayed: November 2008
Thank GOTTO-002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Decent, budget accomodation. Centrally located. Room was small, but all you need for a nights sleep. Bed was perhaps a little small for big men. Clean and very well kept. Very good buffet breakfast, nearly same quality as top hotels.

Value for money, no luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The best part was its central location. Its very close to the main torget area. Trondheim is generally a small city and its thus possible to walk to about anywhere from this hotel. The receptionist was helpful and welcoming.

The hotel by itself had small rooms. The rooms were cozy and neat, with a good view over the main street. We were made to stay on the 7th floor where the lift does not go! Was indeed a pain to lift our bags all the way from the 6th to the 7th floor. Probably the only negative spot during our stay

The hotel has a public parking lot just below and has some parking spots very close to the entrance. So this was very handy for us. The main E6 highway too runs along the hotel, so getting out of the city was very easy.

All in all, a good basic hotel with an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank RMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. It is central and convenient to everything in Trondheim. Buses at the front door, shops at the back! Hard to find on a dark wet night but otherwise cosy. Rooms and bathrooms are small but clean and the buffet breakfast is the best I have had anywhere in the world. They even offered supper of coffee and waffles for free! The famous cathedral is just around the corner and it easy walking around town, it's flat.
I love this hotel! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Trondheim!
Lynn

Stayed: September 2005
4  Thank spin462002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Prinsen
Thon Hotel Prinsen
#16 of 25 in Trondheim
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Nidaros (Gildevangen)
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Augustin
Quality Hotel Augustin
#15 of 25 in Trondheim
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Trondheim

Address: Kongens gate 15, Trondheim 7013, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Trondheim 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing