We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here one night for a conference at the hotel. Booked a standard simple room for one person, but it was actually big enough for two persons. The room was very nice decorated, and the bathroom was a good size and very nice and clean. The shower didn't have a door in front, so the floor got wet when showering... Maybe I got a room with handicap facilites (the toilet had hand support on each side). Anyway, were very satisfied with the room.
The hotel has VERY impressive and cool interior/exterior, it has a lot of details to explore. The lobby area is large and futuristic. Conference facilities are also very good, although the baguette we were served was so big that it was difficult to eat in a standing position. Had a 3-course dinner at the conference which was very good. Three glasses of wine were included, but the waiters filled up our glasses when it was only half empty, so we didn't get as much wine as we paid for...
Had to leave at 7 am the following morning, before the breakfast buffet opened. A small (tiny!) buffet is available for guests leaving early, and it was rather disappointing... Just ham and cheese (which was dry after exposure to room temperature), jam, and some fruit vegetables. Have read that the main buffet is great, but the hotel should also consider to make it better for guests who need an early breakfast!
The sky bar at the top of the hotel is also amazing. Prices are quite high, but its worth it for just a few drinks while you enjoy the view of Trondheim.
Location is at the pier, which is a bit outside the main city centre - you can walk to the centre in about 10 min.
Would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi Hege S,

Thank you for your stay and for writing this nice review! We are glad to hear that you would recommend the hotel for both business and pleasure. Your feedback is very important for us, we will take it with us.

Hope to see you again at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    344
    98
    28
    14
See reviews for
148
285
45
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halden, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spent 3 nights here while attending a conference.

Excellent food - both breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The room was delicate and the bed was the best I've encountered in any hotel so far.

The service was perfect, both in the reception, hotel bar and sky bar. Wide selection of beer and bartenders with good experience.

Apart from this, as a private person it might be a bit pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Thanks for a good stay.

Facilities like swimming pool and spa not tested by me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi Trond B,

Thank you for staying at Clarion Hotel Trondheim and thank you for taking the time to write this nice review! I am glad you enjoyed our food, service and room. The great taste of food and personal service is very important for us.

Welcome back to Clarion Hotel Trondheim!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here during a Nordic congress. Even though the response to the previous reviewer stated that the passports by non-Norwegian citizens are copied, no-one asked for my passport (I'm Finnish). The breakfast was good, and prepared from mostly organic incredients. The lunch and dinner were also delicious. On the first evening I ordered a shrimp sandwich from the bar downstairs. The shrimps were fresh and delicious, not frozen as they usually are. The room was small, but there was a kettle with free coffee and tea bags. I went swimming to the nearby Pierbaden, and bought the ticket from the hotel reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rippe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hi Rippe39,

Thank you for staying at Clarion Hotel Trondheim and for taking the time to write this feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our organic breakfast and lunch. The food is important for the hotel experience and something we care a lot about.

Welcome back!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed 09/10.10.2012. When I had check-in time at reception, I presented polish ID-card which is in Norway on the same level like passport, receptionist asked me about my passport. She was very ugly that I had not passport - only polish ID-card. She done copy of my ID-card and blocked my credit card in case of emergency (I think mini-bar). She said that this is normal procedure, but I saw at another people had not copied passports and ID. I felt like robber, thief. I have lived in Norway 2,5 year and It was first time that my polish ID was not OK and first time that I have blocked my credit card. Unfortunately it was first time I felt like man from third world! In my opinion it was ETNIC DISCRIMINATION!!! Mateusz W.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Mateusz W,

First of all- thank you for staying at Clarion Hotel Trondheim and for taking the time to give us feedback.
We have some procedures we have to do when we check in people who is not a Norwegian citizen; ask for the guests passport and take a copy of it. That is because we have to fax it to the police. (External Form). We also need to register the credit card upon arrival, room rate + 10 %.

We're sorry that you feel discriminated! And hope to see you again at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim.

Best regards, Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed there for one week in August. The hotel seems to have a rather posh image, but the quality of rooms and service are only moderate. 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre. When arriving after 11PM, the only possible meal was a shrimp sandwich. Minibar not refilled during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Explorist,

Thank you for your stay and thank you for writing a review. In the end of this month we will get a bridge from the hotel area and to the Central station in Trondheim, then it will just take some minutes walk to city center.

Hope to see you again at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed for 3 days for a conference. Quirky hotel but good service and excellent breakfast. Has no recreational facilities but you can pay to use excellent pool and gym next door. Main problem was the size of the room - which was too small and compared poorly with the Radisson Blu Garden hotel where I also stayed. Hotel is a little way from main town.

Room Tip: Check how big a room they are giving you when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your stay at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, and thank you for writing this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, the food at the hotel is very important for us. When it comes to the rooms, our standard room is 17 sqm. We have different categories, so we will love to help if the guest wants a bigger room.

Welcome back!

Best regard, Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovik, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed there 2 days/nights on a conference. Very good conference rooms; from the very small to a very large on(Cosmos). The last one we had a mutual dinner with show; in total approx. 730 persons on 73 tables.
That worked very,very good.
The breakfast; very good.
Lunch and dinners....well, well it depends on"what you pay,is what you get". Not too good. I must admit.
The room; nice,clean,a comfortable bed; at least for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Hi jørgen K,

Thank you for staying at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim and for giving us this nice feedback. We are happy to hear that your conference went well- we have a lot of talented and service minded staff that works hard for making the best events for our guests.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim

Property: Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Address: Brattoerkaia 1, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, located by the harbour in Central Trondheim, is one of Scandinavia's largest convention hotels with 400 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Modern design, exciting dining concepts, a vibrant atmosphere and a view of the fjord. The attractive harbour location is close to Pirbadet, the largest waterpark in Norway, as well as Rockheim - the national pop and rock expo centre. Welcome to try Astrum Grill & Raw Bar. The Sky Bar on the 9th floor has a roof terrace of a full 190 m2(2,045 square feet). Here, you can enjoy a spectacular view of the city centre and the Trondheim Fjord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing