We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good but booring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good but booring”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a conference hotel and it is doing a good job of hosting conferences. It is a safe bet to arrange a conference here, all the things are in place. Some Claron hotel has a cool design but I think the attempt to create a unique hotel failed here. The rooms are without any personal touch, they could be anywhere in the world. The only thing that sticks out is the windows which is full of dots(!) that obstruct the view, but I had the view of a parking lot so it did not matter. Small working desk with a plastic chair! But good internet connecton.
No training facilities at the hotel but the hotel has an agrement with a nearby training studio.
The food (i had lunch and dinner) was ok but nothing spectacular.
Personally I think the exterior of the hotell is terrible. I just could imagine in 10 years this building will be voted as the ugliest in Trondheim.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a windows without dots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    338
    98
    28
    14
See reviews for
144
285
43
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The harbour location of the hotel and the quality on the hotel room in the 8th floor was exelent. Kindly personal in the respetion, in the resturant an also in the Sky bar. The sky bar spectakuler in the bright summer night of june. We can see the Trondheimsfjord and nearly 360 degrees view of the main city of Trondheim.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed her 3 weeks ago. Nice addition to Trondheim.
Bit far from the centre but views from hotel makes it worth it.
One of the best breakfasts in Trondheim, where the standard is generally very high.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
I do wonder though why they put so much thought into the design of the hotel, only to spoil it by putting a very ugly Clarion logo on the outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deinboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

this hotel ws recomended by our host. rooms are confortable and well appointed. I am not crazy about the italina style shower (no curtain) but that is comon in scandinavia... Superd breakfast buffet. roof top bar is a real plus especailly as sundown last foreveer in this latitude. helpful staff etc. price are high but that is standard in Norway. having direct bus from airport (Flybussen not the otehr company) is a plus. I am also told that you can access the really nice municial pool complex next door for free.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the fjord. mine was 3rd floor over entrace and with window opened the bus was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent service from check-in to check-out. Pleasant staff and very good food. This hotel is a modern conference hotel located close to the fjord and the Hurtigruten ferry terminal. Excellent skybar too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sadoprest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What is it with Norwegians and Norwegian hotels in particular that they sleep under individual, child-sized duvets? I don't like duvets much but when a couple share a bed, why are they expected to sleep "unconnected'? All hotels in Norway provide small duvets--two on a queen-size or just one about the size of a baby cot if you're alone.
The other greatly annoying thing about 5-star hotels in Norway as well as most others is the shower. They seem to think that flooding the entire floor of the bathroom is the only way to shower. They provide a partial partition and simply allow the bathroom to flood and everything in it get wet. Don't enter after showering without shoes.
The restaurant prices are not just ridiculous, they are obscene. $140 for a set dinner for one without any liquor. There's room service. Maybe you can stomach $40 for a mystery burger but then add $15 for room service plus tax. As much as I like Norway, the cost of simply existing there puts me totally off. Add to that the aggravation of uncomfortable sleep conditions and a wet bathroom and $275 a night makes me wish there was a motel 6 handy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us at the Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim.
We hope our large breakfast and hotel location, where the fjord meets the city in Trondheim, provided the best surroundings.

We will certainly be able to offer large/double duvets in the future,
And will use your constructive feedback in our daily focus to meet future expectations both to product, service and
cost-/price level for all our international visitor in the best possible way.

Thank you for making us better by reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor!

Yours sincerely

Stig Hillestad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here one night on business, Newish hotel connected to the conference center,lovely spacous clean room overlooking the sea,the hotel is huge good wifi connection,good choice of tv in the room,staff are friendly and accomodating,bar area is comfotable and spacious,breakfast was good lots of choice with most things on offer! The only negative is there is no hotel gym and pool is next door which is an additional cost !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice feedback, and for staying with us at the Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim.We hope our large breakfast and hotel location, where the fjord meets the city in Trondheim, provided the best surroundings. We are offering free passes to 3T - gym which is just across the street from us. We really hope to see you again.

General Manager
Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim

Property: Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Address: Brattoerkaia 1, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, located by the harbour in Central Trondheim, is one of Scandinavia's largest convention hotels with 400 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Modern design, exciting dining concepts, a vibrant atmosphere and a view of the fjord. The attractive harbour location is close to Pirbadet, the largest waterpark in Norway, as well as Rockheim - the national pop and rock expo centre. Welcome to try Astrum Grill & Raw Bar. The Sky Bar on the 9th floor has a roof terrace of a full 190 m2(2,045 square feet). Here, you can enjoy a spectacular view of the city centre and the Trondheim Fjord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing