We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Not in the middle of the city centre, but you can easily walk. The hotel is located on the seaside, and I was lucky to get a sea view room. The size of the room was pretty good, not big at all, but good for my business trip.

I attended a conference with 800 people, and we had dinner at the hotel. It was ok - the dance floor is good, and the reception area is very spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you had a nice nice and conference. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    323
    95
    26
    13
See reviews for
139
274
39
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had a short, but lovely stay at the hotel. The staff at reception was very efficient and friendly, the room was comfortable and silent, the bathroom sparkling clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent and there is stunning view from the room terrace at sunset. All is only a few minutes walk from the train station, airport bus, and 10 minute stroll from downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is a conference center and so is fairly expansive place with a nice view of the harbor. The rooms are big and comfortable, and the service was good. Wi-fi is excellent. Best breakfast buffet from my Scandinavian trip... virtually everything is there. The only slight drawback is it's around a 10-12 minute walk to the city center... though they do have bicycles to rent and the city is generally bike-friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinkjer, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

New hotel With clean rooms, skybar and a very Rich breakfast buffet. The hotel is a short walking distance to the Railway station and the restaurant area "Solsiden". 10 minutes walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Arve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay. We welcome you back at a later date.

Best regards
Stig Hillestad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The rooms are nice, bathrooms nice but as others have said, everything gets wet when running shower or facet in wash basin. good water pressure. wireless internet worked well. We were on 4th floor and it could be a little noisy from street at times. The Atmosphere restaurant had a buffet for breakfast that was included in the nightly rate and was fantastic with large selection of anything you could want. In afternoon it was a large selection also and very good however a little pricey but everywhere else is also. The living room is a good less expensive choice for a lighter lunch and better value. The Sky Bar and Atrium grill is very good with great views of city and water. Expect to spend $9 USD for a coca cola, $15 for a beer,$18 for a glass of house wine just about anywhere you go in Trondheim. It is an expensive city. There is a small grocery as you leave Hotel to the left called Rema 1000 and it has soft drinks by the liter for much less prices. It also sells beer. To buy liquor you have to go to state store located in town. Prices are very high but nice to have a bottle for a drink in your room. The staff at all venues in Hotel are excellent. There were a few things that I could not figure out and was so busy most of the time I never got around to asking about. The TV volume could not be adjusted higher than 27 which was OK on some stations but you could barely hear other cable channels and the thermostat in room would stay at 22 degrees even after you adjusted down as per instructions. So was a bit warm sleeping a few nights. Location is a 10 minute walk into town center, so other hotels have a better location. I would stay here again if in Trondheim.

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor if possible as there is much industrial traffic noise on road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear sir! Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your stay. Its nice to hear that you are satisfied with our selection of food and with our staff. Regarding the water from the showers we are looking for solutions. The thermostat shall initially be able to adjust to whatever feels comfortable, so feel free to contact our staff at your next visit so that they can help you with it. We welcome you back at a later date.

Best regards
Stig Hillestad, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a conference hotel and it is doing a good job of hosting conferences. It is a safe bet to arrange a conference here, all the things are in place. Some Claron hotel has a cool design but I think the attempt to create a unique hotel failed here. The rooms are without any personal touch, they could be anywhere in the world. The only thing that sticks out is the windows which is full of dots(!) that obstruct the view, but I had the view of a parking lot so it did not matter. Small working desk with a plastic chair! But good internet connecton.
No training facilities at the hotel but the hotel has an agrement with a nearby training studio.
The food (i had lunch and dinner) was ok but nothing spectacular.
Personally I think the exterior of the hotell is terrible. I just could imagine in 10 years this building will be voted as the ugliest in Trondheim.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a windows without dots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The harbour location of the hotel and the quality on the hotel room in the 8th floor was exelent. Kindly personal in the respetion, in the resturant an also in the Sky bar. The sky bar spectakuler in the bright summer night of june. We can see the Trondheimsfjord and nearly 360 degrees view of the main city of Trondheim.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig H, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding our hotel! We are pleased to hear the stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed it. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Trondheim. welcome back :)

Mvh General Manager, Stig Hillestad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim

Property: Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Address: Brattoerkaia 1, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, located by the harbour in Central Trondheim, is one of Scandinavia's largest convention hotels with 400 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Modern design, exciting dining concepts, a vibrant atmosphere and a view of the fjord. The attractive harbour location is close to Pirbadet, the largest waterpark in Norway, as well as Rockheim - the national pop and rock expo centre. Welcome to try Astrum Grill & Raw Bar. The Sky Bar on the 9th floor has a roof terrace of a full 190 m2(2,045 square feet). Here, you can enjoy a spectacular view of the city centre and the Trondheim Fjord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing