We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Nidelven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Nidelven
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a very good hotel with a very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast buffet. Despite its location at the edge of the downtown, it is still conveniently located within walking distances from all places to visit. They even provide bicycles for touring the city.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms along the rail/road line on the North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelber155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    448
    97
    34
    16
See reviews for
168
341
73
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The location is convenient with a bus from the airport stopping just outside. The city centre is within walking distance. The rooms are not too small and the beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is a feast, with an impressive selection of food and drinks. A slight negative is that the buffet is served in a slightly narrow corridor that becomes very crowded and tends to queue up during breakfast. Dinner in the hotel restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing buffet breakfast. They have a barrister for coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There is a wide variety of options from fresh squeezed juices to local foods to warm baked pastry . The chef will make you an omelette or carve meats. However, if you need an iron, you need to go to the basement to find the iron behind the computer room. The rooms are comfortable however there are limited electric outlets. The hotel is a short walk to shops and town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great location, bus from airport right outside.
Very accommodating, friendly efficient staff. Room was satisfactory to our needs, did miss having a bath though. View was lovely, looked out to the Fjord.
Really good restaurants and bars within 5 mins walk, I was amazed at all the outdoor heating and fleece blankets outside these places to keep warm.
We had room service breakfasts, dear lord i was grazing all day in the room whilst my partner was on his course nearby lol
Truly wonderful, peaceful enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

You have to arrange for a late check out, In order to fully appreciate the breakfest! Its simply brilliant! Location is very good, and a nice view of the river floating past. The rooms are clean and has a fresh approach. I really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
395 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here 29/30.05.2013. The location of the hotel is just great. A couple of minutes walk from where the bus from the airport stops. Only a few block from the center of Trondheim and "Solsiden" - with it's many bars and restaurants is located on the other side of the river from the hotel. The breakfast and lunch is well-known and I was not disappointed - just make sure you are hungry and have enough time to enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms were spacious, clean and from our wing we had a great view of the Trondheim fjord. But the best part was the breakfast, which I had heard very much about, but it was another thing to actually experience it. It is not only the quantity but rather the quality of products you can eat. There are buffets for everything; from juice-and smoothie's bar, coffee-bar (where they prepare any kind of coffee you want) fish-food, meats, eggs, pastries, salads, bread, cornflakes, yogurts, you name it they've got it!!
As for price range, it is a bit expensive but in fact it adds up as you seriously don't need to spend money in lunch if you really have a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Dining area, best to sit in the one that is straight forward from the elevator, other one near coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migratorypalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Nidelven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Property: Scandic Nidelven
Address: Havnegaten 1-3 | P.O. Box 101, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing