We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Scandic Nidelven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Nidelven
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Trondheim very much and the hotel just added to our comfort. We loved being able to walk around explore the charming city due to its comfortable location.

The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful no matter how many times we asked them the same questions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stop here every summer and the best reason for doing so is the breakfast. There are a couple of weeks in july with reduced breakfast quality, but still its just downgraded to normal good hotel standard. The rest of the year its exeptional.

The hotel otherwise keeps a good standard as you would expect. Very central in Trondheim. Service is very good and the rooms are resonably spacious. The air condition is perhaps a bit underdimentioned for extreme warm days, but if you should be so lucky to get such days in Trondheim this is a minor problem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city or the river have a much nicer view. If your room faces the road on the west s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oveko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We loved the hotel because of the stylish rooms,the clean bathroom, the exellent breakfast, the great location, free internet, the friendly and smiling staff. The hotel is in walking distance from the town center with all the shops and restaurants.
A perfect hotel for couples, solo, families, busniess or friends.
I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank northernnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings and a remarkable breakfast with many choices. Comfortable room, clean, nice bathroom. Free fast internet. Everything need I have as a business traveler is met by this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvergastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Here you will get the best breakfast in Trondheim. Compose your own omelette, order a Cortado from the Barrista or just enjoy the view of the harbour. This hotel is close to the city centre, the good restaurants and two minute walk from the Central station

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaareSkarsvaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior (or deluxe? I've forgotten their terminology) room. I was told on the phone that it would have a river view. When we got there, our river view required neck-craning and our only opening window was over the road and was a falling hazard for our kids. They offered us a different room with a fantastic river view, looking right at the pedestrian bridge. We were much happier with that room. The finishing in the deluxe rooms is very nice.

Breakfast has tons of choice. Oddly, they don't check that you're a hotel guest. I wonder how many people just come by for a sample of their award winning breakfast!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mckmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a very well located hotel, central to transportation and for great walks around the main sights and restaurants. Compared to all the other hotels (even more expensive ones) that we stayed at in Norway, the rooms were fairly spacious (though average by US standards). The real standout is the breakfast buffet, which was staggering in its breadth and quality - anything that you could ever want for breakfast is there, and you can go back as often as you want! My only negative comment would be that the on-site restaurant was closed and the bar has a very minimal set of offerings. Still, there are great restaurants within close walking distance so this wasn't a big hindrance. Drinks were VERY expensive at the bar, though this is typical for Norway. Our room was on the side facing the train station and it was a bit noisy with the window open (and no air conditioning in the room so we had to open the window since the weather was quite warm while we were there).

Room Tip: Avoid the side by the railroad station if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Nidelven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegt 1 - 4, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing