We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Solsiden
Nearby Hotels
US$161
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
US$182
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$126
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$160
US$156
Quality Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Nidelven(Trondheim)
US$252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
122
235
100
30
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
235
100
30
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelshopping centresmall shoprestaurants and barsinside atriummodern buildinghandy locationcomfortable roomairport busthe breakfast areacomfortable staythe riverbreakfast buffet was goodwalking distancea great stayhotel is locatedparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Two nights at this hotel in July 2014. Hot weather and no air condition in the room.
The reception was nice and welcoming. We got our room and then we asked when the restaurang opended and what they served.
The reply was that the restaurant was closed during summer time. We got a discount card of 15% on a restaurant in the neighbourhood. We when to the restaurant and it turned out to be a very expensive one.

We went back to the hotel to get some food from the reception shop. The shelves was empty and the time was around 3 PM pnly.
We asked the reception when there would be a refill. The reply was, "Tomorrow!".

No food at all at the hotel. We when outside and looked for a more price worthy place to eat.

Breakfast next morning was a hit! Large selection of different food to eat. Beacon was perfectly fried!! We where very happy about the breakfast. This was awesome!

We had dinnes in another town this day. The breakfast next morning to was just a fine as the first morning. The hotel is nice, the room we got was kind of small for a Scandic Hotel in this size.

It is located very close to the city center. Just outside there are full activity even in the night. Many motorbikes making noice. If you stay here in the summer and it is hot, ask for a room away from the city center. The noice is to loud to sleep in with a window open, even on sixth floor!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the oposite side from the city center side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Marathonrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merete I, General Manager at Scandic Solsiden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi there marathonrunner!

Thanks for giving us a nice review.
Hope you had an enjoyable stay in tropic Trondheim this summer.
We're pleased to hear that you were happy about our breakfast buffet and that our location is valued.

This summer we closed our restaurant, since there's an abundance of restaurants right outside the hotel with open air terraces. And with the weather conditions this summer, we would have a hard time keeping guests indoor.
I wouldn't say that the restaurant we suggested is overprised. In fact it's one of the most family oriented restaurants at Solsiden, with dishes in all price categories.

However I'm glad you found a good alternative.

Wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed here several times when we have visited the lovely city of Trondheim.

The location is really good. Its close to the entertainment area Solsiden, Its close to the old part of Trondheim called Bakklandet and the "old city bridge" landmark. The city centre is about 1-1,5 km away.

The rooms are not too big, but of high quality. The breakfast area on the first floor has everything you would expect at a breakfast table. You can park your car in a nearby parking garage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merete I, General Manager at Scandic Solsiden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014
Google Translation

Hei hei

Tusen takk for en hyggelig tilbakemelding.
Dere er hjertelig velkommen tilbake når som helst.

Ha en fortsatt fin sommer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a nice hotel, but watch out for the laundry prices. They do not provide a price list and when the bill comes it is a whopper. Imagine being charged 285 USD for a medium size bag of laundry (2 pants, 3 t-shirts, 6 underwear, 6 pairs of socks and one or two other items)!

I know that Norway is an expensive country, but this is over the top.

Room Tip: Avoid the west side in summer. We had to change rooms to get away from the sun.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merete I, General Manager at Scandic Solsiden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Roger

First of all, thanks for your review and feedback.

Second, I'm sorry for your encounter with Norwegian laundry prices. Most hotels use external laundry companies and prices are very high compared with other countries.
By normal procedure we always show our clients a price list when they come to us with laundry, so that they are aware of the expences. But in your case, this did not happen, and we sincerely apologize for that.

I can fully understand that you were shocked with the laundry bill, as was I, when it came to my attention. You could have stayed at our hotel two more nights for that price.

You can rest assure that we have repeated this routine to all of our front desk staff to prevent this from happening again.

Since we handled your situation in the wrong way, we would like to reimburse your expenses. I have sent you an e-mail regarding this, so please respond to that, and we'll fix it.

I hope you had an otherwise pleasant stay with us and in Norway, and hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Scandic Solsiden is perfectly located in the new entertainment area of Trondheim- lots of restaurants, bars and shopping nearby, plus close walking distance to the cathedral, all the old warehouses along the river, and the main shopping area. First a warning on getting there- we jumped on the airport shuttle expecting to be dropped off outside the door. There are two different airport shuttles and we got the wrong one. Still only meant 400 metres walk, but took a bit of searching to find the hotel-- check you get the right shuttle!
Checkin was quick and easy, and we had a corner room which was disabled friendly-- in other words, very roomy, with easy access all round. With windows on two sides, we could get a good cross draught through the room, which we needed to cool it down after the long hours of late June sunshine. The blind on one window let lots of light through, so bring your sleeping shades. The beds were OK ( two singles pushed together-I'd prefer a king double) and the bathroom fine. The breakfast area was light and airy, and the buffet selection pretty good. The nightly rate was very reasonable for expensive Norway--I don't quite understand why food, wine and entertainment are so expensive but hotels are pretty good. All up, a good hotel at a good price in a great location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merete I, General Manager at Scandic Solsiden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Frans
I enjoyed reading your review about us, and hope your stay in Trondheim was great.

You mentioned a very important thing for those travellers coming to Trondheim by air plane. There are two airport shuttle buses. Make sure that you take the grey one, called "Vaernesekspressen" as this bus stops 25 meters from our hotel. No problem taking the other bus, but there is a 5 minute walk or so, as you mentioned.

I wish you all the best and hope to see again in Scandic Solsiden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel has a very good location and gives excellent value for money. The airport express bus (Værnesekspressen) stops right outside the hotel and there is a shopping center and several restaurants, bars and coffee shops in the area. Also it is easy to walk to the city centre and all its tourist attractions. The hotel offers bikes and free access to a gym nearby. We arrived early and it was no problem to get an early check-in, although we were warned that only rooms facing the inside atrium were available. The room was average size, everything was clean and functional. There was no mini-bar, but a fridge that could be used for your own goods. The free wifi was working fine and the hotel offers a very convenient online checkout. Breakfast was good. The bed was a little bit too hard and there was a slightly annoying noise from the ventilation system, which could disturb your sleeping quality.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside atrium are probably the least attractive, since you can't open a window. However, these rooms are very quiet if you don't mind the low humming noise from the ventilation system.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merete I, General Manager at Scandic Solsiden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Marie

Thank you for a very nice review!

Regarding our inside rooms facing the atrium: All these rooms have windows that can be opened. Thanks to the ventilation system the air inside the room is fresh, so you don't really need to open them. And they are very quiet as you mentioned.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards
Merete Imbsen
General Manager Scandic Solsiden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews