We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean bed, dirty apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trondheim Vandrerhjem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nice building, practical solutions, potential to be an ok place to stay, BUT: very dirty floors, bathroom, cabinets, ...the entire apartment was sticky and dirty. Most DIRTY rental we have experienced!

Room Tip: Choose a cleaner place to stay for health and welfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AdviseNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eideriksen, Front Office Manager at Trondheim Vandrerhjem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi, and thanks for your review. We have experienced some errors with our cleaning routine. The challenge is when some lives at a long term rent, and some at short term. We have a new routine who will ensure that this will not happen again.

Best regards
Trondheim Hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Splendid inn all ways, new buliding, nice staff, good conditions for making your own food. Clean and convenient carpark. Nice view and within walking distance to historical buildings, downtown and shopping but still very quit area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KentR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Modern nice place to stay 20 minutes walk outside the citycenter. Comfortable beds. Maybe to few toilets/bathrooms for so many rooms. But in wintertime you are sometimes alone in the dormatory and have the bathrooms for yourself. Nice view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SophiaLoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eideriksen, Manager at Trondheim Vandrerhjem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi and thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at us. Welcome back at Trondheim Vandrerhjem/hostel

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice, clean hostel with friendly staff. Rooms are tidy and not too large. Staff was happy to leave a breakfast sandwich for me in the fridge because I had an early departure time. Bathroom could have been kept a bit cleaner, but other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eideriksen, Manager at Trondheim Vandrerhjem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi, and thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our new Hostel. Since the hostel and the staff is new, we constant want to improve our routines. We thank you for your constructive feedback about the toilets. We will immediately look at the routine for baths and toiltes.

Welcome back

Best regards
Trondheim Vandrerhjem/hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a great stay, stayed in a dorm room with 4 beds. Everything was clean. Kitchen was good, with 2 dishwashers and 2 freezers. Beamer for watching TV is available. Big couches, and several tables available to work/eat/lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eideriksen, Manager at Trondheim Vandrerhjem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi, and thanks for the great review and welcome back at Trondheim Vandrerhjem/Hostel.

Best regars
Trondheim Vandrerhjem/Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've stayed here several times before, but the whole hostel has been removed and rebuild. The new building is something totally different. No longer the charm of the 70th, the upgraded hostel is extremely modern inside and outside.

I stayed in a single room for three nights (single room was i a small "flat" with three single romms that share a small kitchen, living room and bathroom). With 550 kroner per night it is an average Norwegian price. Sheets come 60 kroner extra and breakfast 60 kroner/day if you want/need. The whole hostel is in the norwegian universal design standard, which means accessible for weelchairs etc. Elevator, everything is up to date.

I arrived here on day 1 after the reopening. So I will not give negative review for things they haven't been able to get organised. All in all the impression is very good. Clean, very friendly receptionists (24/7), a garage to park your car (costs extra), short distance to the bus stop (15 minutes to the city center) or you can walk.

Highly recommend this hostel. When everything is working as it should it is a great place to stay in Trondheim. (pictures later)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haakon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

It's quite a good place, clean and recently refurbished. The cost is an average for Norway and it offers to its visitors a living room, a playing room, a kitchen and a breakfast place. There's wifi and a code to access on night time. Polite people at reception. Bad side: the location, not that central. BTW Good place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beasinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 25 in Trondheim
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trondheim Vandrerhjem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trondheim Vandrerhjem

Address: Weidemanns vei 41, Trondheim 7043, Norway (Formerly Trondheim Vandrerhjem Rosenborg (Hostel))
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Trondheim
Price Range: £35 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trondheim Vandrerhjem 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderne vandrerhjem like utenfor bykjernen. Enkeltrom, tosengsrom, familierom, suiter m.m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trondheim Vandrerhjem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing