We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we went there.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Munkholmen

Munkholmen
Ranked #12 of 100 things to do in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trondheim's execution ground in ancient times. Benedictine monks built a monastery on the island very early in the 11th century, probably one of the first two monastries in Scandinavia. In 1658 it was converted into a prison and fortress, later becoming a customs house. Its most famous inmate was the Danish Count Peder Griffenfeld, who spent 18 years as a prisoner there. Today The Monks' Island is a popular recreational area, with a nice beach and a restaurant.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad we went there.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The guided tour was essential to understanding the history of the place. I thought that the guide might have been a little more clued up on the calibre of the weapons installed by the Gemans.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank zufuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    74
    33
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The history of the building is quite interesting, and the guide was charming. It also has a gallery, where you can find local handcrafts. The café was expensive, but I saw that many locals go and have picnics in the garden, and it's a lovely view of Trondheim.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aenru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good little detour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The trip out to Munkholmen is a nice detour if the weather is cooperative. The ferry ride is short (12 min or so), cheap for Norway (80 kr return), and gives you a nice view of the harbor en route. The island itself is small, and so unless you pay to take a tour while out there, you'll likely find yourself on the next ferry back one hour later.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must-see for visiting history buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

If the weather and temperatures are nice you should definitely visit Munkholmen. This islet has nice areas for bathing in the fjord, for bringing bbq equipment to make a good lunch, or for just relaxing on the grass and enjoy the summer's day.

Also if you enjoy history you should definitely visit, this islet has been in use for a range of different purposes in the last milennium. Munkholmen has been used as a monestary where monks would brew beers, a fortress, a Nazi battlement during the war, and more. There are guided tours in both Norwegian and English every day during summertime.

A truly beautiful place, the only reason it doesn't get a full score from me is because of the café/restaurant. Very overpriced (even for Norwegian standards) and the products are fairly average. Bring your own food, and you will have a great day in the sun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Obijahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went there for an evening socials after a conference. They have started with the summer catering for groups now so we took advantage of that and made reservation weeks before our conference. The meal package included a guided tour of the area. The tour, though short, was as great as everyone said here. So much history and interesting small details, if you are into that kind of thing. It is a small island with a few buildings in it so it is not a long sightseeing trip unless you decided to stay for a while and catch the next boat. The acoustics of the main building is definitely great and the architecture is very reminiscent of the time when they were built. They are restoring some of the parts right now but seems like they are trying to be faithful to its history., and that is really good to know. Our group were in their exclusive dining area and it was very cozy. The head server was very nice and friendly lady. We had jamon serrano on a bed of spinach and strawberry for appetizer, grilled halibut with roasted asparagus and potatoes for main course and then strawberry and rhubarb soup with vanilla ice cream for dessert). Their food has exceeded my expectations! I guess I expected them to be one of those great tourist attractions (or hotels) that serve overpriced meals... I would definitely recommend this to family and friends... (I don't know if they have an english website, they are very capable to entertain non-Norwegian speaking guests. We had English guide tour and english-speaking servers).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoselledFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munkholmen also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Munkholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing