We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with an enjoyable atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Frati

Frati
Ranked #11 of 267 Restaurants in Trondheim
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Frati is the taste of Italy - in the middle of Trondheim. For over 40 years has the Italian restaurant served tasty dishes, and is known for its tempting appetizers, better dinners and a wide selection of fine wines. In the family run restaurant, good ingredients are spcied up with joy and friendly people. The hospitality is great, and everything is arranged for you to relax and enjoy an evening of good food and good company in a real Italian restaurant.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food with an enjoyable atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Frati is known for their good atmosphere and good food - and they did not let me down. I had some mussels as appetizer and entrecote of veal for the main dish. The mussels were tasty and the veal was tender – both served in the most common way... Not really interested, but far from bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    245
    116
    42
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Excellent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Restaurants are very expensive in Norway. Dinner for two easily $100+ with just a drink each .Frati is on one of the main streets in the heart of town. 2nd floor with beautiful décor.Menu is authenic Italian.We have eaten in NY, Rome etc.and never had a better meal .Bread was good,salad excellent (but expensive) and pasta outstanding. Drink prices in Norway outrageous.Beer is $12 and wine a little more.Our meal with a drink each was $90. Service was also excellent. Considering wait staff are salaried and seldom tipped I was impressed with the service.You can leave another 5% if deserved and it was.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I've been to Frati several times. The menu consists of meat, fish, pizza and pasta dishes, and the food is very nice. Because I can't have food containing gluten I've only had the meat and fish dishes, they are tasty and served in large portions. The staff is polite and attentive, but in the evenings and weekends the restaurant is normally packed with guests and this is sometimes noticable when it comes to the service. Frati is famous for their "plankestek", and I will also recommend the filet of lamb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltogpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food and nice prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I´ve been to this Italian restaurant some times now, and I have never been disappointed. The prices are low relative to the good food and the great service you get. The lamb fillet was extremely tender and came with cream gratinated potatoes. The portions of food are quite big.
All in all I would recommend this restaurant to all people visiting Trondheim.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Frati is always a pleasant experience. They really know how to prepare the veal! The Barolo is one of the best I have ever tasted.
Great atmosphere and the service is excellent with waiters who know what they serve. One of them even found her iPhone charger so that one of the guests in our group could charge the battery during the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frati also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Frati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing