We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 14:00
Review Highlights
Three out of four is PERFECT

If you speak to locals there seem to be four main aspects to Bergen, mountains, valleys, the... read more

Reviewed 31 March 2018
Tunrida
,
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
It was a good chance to know about this city

Firstly, it is a quite a wonderful chance to have a boat trip in Bergen cause Bergen is a harbour... read more

Review collected in partnership with VisitNorway.com

Reviewed 12 March 2018
LaurenMannn
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
13
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip captain arve land skiing snow ride
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

If you speak to locals there seem to be four main aspects to Bergen, mountains, valleys, the harbour and rain. We got the first three out of the four and that was just perfect for us. On the first day of our visit, my son and I took the funicular and hiked, under perfect blue skies and over pristine white snow to the top of Floyen. Spectacular and sublime. In the middle we did the Norway in a Nutshell tour and by the end, we believed that trolls and giants really must live in a place so magical. On the final day, Arve from Scandinavian Yachters took us out on the First Player boat and we left the worries and cares of the land behind. We learnt how Bergen was born from the sea and about the fish that swim there (de-lousing boats, who would have known!). Arve has a deep knowledge and an even deeper love of the harbour and the many boats that sail on it served up gently with some dry Scandinavian humour. He seems to know all the answers to your questions and, by the end of the trip, it is easy to learn and to love the harbour too. Looking forward to the next time. I'll bring beers if you like!

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank Tunrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arve A, Captain at Scandinavian Yachters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Oh, thank you, Tunrida! It was a pleasure having you onboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Firstly, it is a quite a wonderful chance to have a boat trip in Bergen cause Bergen is a harbour city.
Second, the host of the boat was a very easy to talk, funny man, you can ask a lot about or talk about the city with him. Just like chatting with a friend of you.
Third, the landscape of Bergen is amazing especially could see all of it from the sea.

At last but not the least, it worth the price and the time. It will be a valuable experience during your Bergen trip ever. :)

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with VisitNorway.com
2  Thank LaurenMannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arve A, Captain at Scandinavian Yachters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Oh, thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The skipper was knowledgeable and spoke in a clear voice, easily heard from the bow/front part of the boat. The harbor area is diverse with many interresting points. We were lucky with the weather, which in Bergen can be wet. Would recommend, but check forecast & dress accordingly.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Espen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We had a group of 9 and were given the royal treatment on this sailing trip. Tom and Arve went above and beyond to cater to our group. Instead of the typical requirement starting at a minimum of a 7 day trip, we were offered an hourly rate so we were able to sail for the afternoon. They served a delicious dinner while at sea at a very reasonable price. This is certainly a can't miss and was a highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank 310lindsaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arve A, Captain at Scandinavian Yachters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We loved this intimate tour in a open sailing ship. The guide was knowledgeable and quite funny. A chance to make conversation with other passengers, there was room for only four couples. The sail was unfurled out in the open fjord, but powered by the motor as we moved through the channels hearing about the cultural history and changes in Bergen. A wonderful alternative to the tourist packed ferry tours offered through the big companies. Highly recommend for savvy travelers looking to get out of the contrived tourist experience.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank potte129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arve A, Captain at Scandinavian Yachters, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews