We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skiven Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Hanseatic Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Klosterhagen Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
25
22
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
22
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanexcellent locationcity centrecoffee and teafew minutes walksinkbryggen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Location and price - the key elements for any accommodations are met by Skiven. Located in one of the oldest parts of Bergen and close to everything. Only minutes to train or bus station and the main harbor area. Great base for touring Bergen.

Guesthouse owners were very pleasant, hospitable and helpful - starting with original emails. The room was a good size and very clean. Shared facilities of a bathroom (shower and toilet), a second room with a toilet worked out well: and the kitchen which had everything needed to keep some of the food costs down was also convenient.

Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emphasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Excellent location having walked from the ferry with lots of luggage. Train station was 5 minutes away and we were easily able to catch an early morning train. Also walked into town which only took a few minutes.

Guesthouse owners were very pleasant, hospitable and helpful. The room was a good size to accomodate us (couple and one child) and very clean. Shared facilities of a bathroom (shower and toilet), a second room with a toilet and the kitchen which had everything you would need to keep some of the costs down as eating out in Bergen is not cheap!

The price really was excellent and perfect for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandelionClocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The building was very old but close to the station. The room was clean. The interior had a sense of beauty. There was a kitchen for common use. The rate was reasonable. The owner was a friendly, kind and beautiful woman. I enjoyed talking with the owner and other visitors at night. One couple of visitors from France served us a glass of French wine. Thank you very much for a nice wine, French gentleman.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yo-Chan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We spent three nights in this Hotel during last December.
The room was pretty spacious and properly clean, the position very favourable to get to the city center by foot in a couple of minutes. After taking Flybusse from the Airport, once you get off at the stop they mention you, it takes not more than 5 minutes to reach the hotel, even if you're carrying your luggage. The hotel puts at their Guests' disposal a little kitchen, that could be a good compromise considering that the prices in the area are crazy!The hotel rate as well was the most convenient of our whole trip around Norway!
Our stay was very positive, we were just a bit disappointed when, by late arrival and after having sent several e-mails, the lady at the Reception told us that we weren't expected to check-in and the room was "quite ready"...
but a little mistake can always occur and it didn't disturb our stay.
We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LittleKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This guesthouse was excellent, my boyfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights in December, and we highly recommend it! It is two minutes away from the main train-station, but not on a main road, so very quiet, incredibly easy to get to, and a short walk away from teh harbour.The house itself is lovely, the room we were in was spacious, bright, spotless, warm and comfortable; we had our own sink, mirror, and table with chairs in the room, a spacious wardrobe, and very comfortable beds. Bathroom was amazing, with heated floors, and even though it was shared, it felt like it was ours! Kitchen is of course extremely handy, since we saved a significant amount of money by having simple meals at home, and in addition to a full set of kitchen utensils there was tea, muesli, pasta, and always a bowl of stroopwaffel (Yum!) left for us on the kitchen counter! Our landlords were soooo nice and helpful as well, just generally decent lovely people.

This place definitely exceeded expectations, if we're ever in Bergen again, we know where we will be staying!

Room Tip: Take the room opposite the bathrooms if you have a choice (room 3)!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheherazad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews