We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great trip!”
Review of Fjord Tours

Fjord Tours
Ranked #3 of 44 Tours in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose Fjord Tours for great deals on vacations in Norway!Book fjords tours, hotels and exciting activities - all in one package! We offer a wide range of tours exploring some of the most popular tourist routes across this spectacular country. Whether you’re planning a long holiday in Norway or just a short break, let Fjord Tours be your expert guide - all year round. Fjord Tours combines beautiful fjord cruises with spectacular train and bus journeys. Enjoy a daytrip or a longer trip with stops in fairytale villages along the way. And thanks to the currently favorable exchange rates - there's never been a better time to visit Norway!
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a great trip!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Took the three hour boat to Mostraumen and was really surprised by what a great trip it was. I figured that a three hour tour would see very little but wanted to get beyond the streets of Bergen. Wow - the scenery was beautiful and while not the largest Fjord's (from what I was told) - still worth it if your time is limited. I must have taken over 400 pictures during the trip (the nice thing about digital cameras is that you can toss the bad ones). Made for a great day and would definitely recommend this excursion!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    23
    7
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sognefjord Tour”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

In early June 2014 my wife, bonus daughter and I had a handful of days available to make the short trip from Aarhus, Denmark near where we live to Bergen, Norway. Bergen was terrific and - if you can afford it - seems like it would be a wonderful place to live. It is a city of more than 200,000 yet compact ... on the water and at the foot of the mountains ... a pretty difficult combination to beat.

We thoroughly enjoyed Bergen ... enjoyed one of the trams up to the mountain top ... pleasant, great views, places to eat and some very nice nature walks possible there. Went to a movie theatre that was very nice.

Food ... hotel ... well ... it is Norway ... so these are very expensive ... BUT ... the Sognefjord Tour was a true highlight that made the expense worthwhile.

The Sognefjord Tour is approximately 10 hours as a more or less circular route that has you on the ship for about seven of those hours, in a small tourist town for about an hour, and then a few hour train trip back to Bergen across the mountains. If you like majestic waterfalls, this is the our for you, with hundreds of falls, many of which are dramatic. Of course most of those were strewn along the cruise route of Sognefjord, but there were some very dramatic ones that were part of the train route -- a route that features a short and steep climb with a stop at a wonderful waterfall, followed shortly thereafter by a longer train ride.

The ship has a small canteen (not cheap and not many choices), a small "tv room" for younger kids, very comfortable and abundant seating, and lots of deck access so that dramatic photo opportunities are abundant. My recommendation ... buy your soda, or water and food off-ship and bring it with you. Young kids or teens who feign boredom easily? Bring an IPod.

Cost ... an adult ticket is not inexpensive ... about $200 US ... but if this is your once in a lifetime opportunity, you've already spent a reasonable amount of money just to get there .. and the extra cost of the tour is worth sacrificing something else for.

Language? Like so much of Europe, and especially Scandinavia, English will take you anywhere. Currency? Norway is not part of the EU, so expect to use your credit card or bank card or use and ATM machine to get some Norwegian Kroner.

Bergen ... if I had the opportunity, I would consider moving there. But since I don't have that opportunity just now ... give me the Sognefjord tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Norse Legends Cruise on MS Ryndam Holland America Line”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went on a Norse Legends trip to the Norway Fjords with Holland America Line. The fjords we visited included Bergen, Alesund, Eidjford and Gerainger. At Bergen, there was a few shops, bars and restaurants to choose from, but at the other stops, it was a case of blink and you would miss it, as there were less than half a dozen shops, cafes etc. Norway is very expensive - we paid £63 for two tex-mex burgers and chips with two pints of beer at a local restaurant. Individual items of clothing were priced between £80 and £200. The Holland America cruise was supposed to be a five star cruise, but was in reality more like a three star. The cabin and dining room staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, but the entertainment was a joke. None of the entertainers had much talent and the brief shows they put on were badly managed and on a tiny stage. There were a few other solo singers playing in some of the bars and there was nobody listening to them, they were so mediocre. If you needed internet access, it cost $1.75 per minute, and the connection was very slow. Also, were adding on a daily service charge of $11.50 per person, which they didn't advise passengers of in advance. For us this would have come to over £80 for the week, but thanks to another passenger who alerted us to this, and advised us that we could opt out of gratuities, we would possibly have ended up paying for it until it was too late for us to realise we were being ripped off. The scenery in Norway was beautiful, but if we were to go again, we would travel with a different cruise company.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Carole350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Norway”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Norway is a beautiful country I been in Bergen and travel to Oslo by bus ship and train to Oslo was beautiful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No frills tour yet magnificent ride”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just did our tour 9 days ago and we are forever beaming from the experience.

We booked the Oslo - Flam - Bergen - return to Oslo tour and we are absolutely satisfied. All travel arrangements handled by Fjord tours with no problems. I see other reviews stating that there could have been a little more of a descriptive itinerary included and I agree with that considering I had to figure out how to interpret the book of tickets they shipped to us on my own. It was easy enough but I can see how it could be confusing. Tip: use Google translator to translate words on the tickets.

We found our boat very easily and were pleasantly surprised that it was a pleasure liner equipped with plenty of comfortable seating, tables, tv screens (showing the World Cup match that day), a fully stocked snack bar (with a beer tap), and engines with horsepower that made the ride through the Sognefjord a thrill.

I write "no frills" for the tour because there wasn't any "guide" aside from one pause to describe a particular peak that reached some impressive height...but I honestly wasn't that interested; it was big and beautiful along with the rest of the magnificent geography I'll never forget journeying through for the rest of my life.

Also the "tour" kind of felt like a commuter bus for travelers with all the stops to take on and drop passengers off; and we basically bought a ticket from the start of the line to the end. Again, it didn't matter for we were so comfortable and pleased with the experience.

One highlight was glancing up at a cliff face and seeing a smattering of white puffs that at first looked like snow but was actually a group of mountain goats casually hanging out at what would be a terrifying precipice for any non-rock climbing human being.

Another highlight was approaching and seeing Bergen from the fjord...we --not really knowing what to expect -- thought it would be some tiny stopover outpost like Myrdal and Flam but it was a beautiful sprawling small city.

We easily made our way to the Bergen train station (using Google maps on a smartphone) and hopped into our overnight sleeper car for the journey back to Oslo (also booked by the tour company).

Tip for the boat ride - I brought an iPod with full over the ear headphones (not ear buds) that anchored my hat to my head and shielded my ears from the cool breeze. So I was super comfortable hanging out at the back of the boat and got to enjoy my own music for the ride.

Recommending this experience to anyone visiting Norway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fjord Tours also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Fjord Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing