We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norway in a nutshell”
Review of Fjord Tours

Fjord Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose Fjord Tours for great deals on vacations in Norway! Book fjord tours, hotels and exciting activities - all in one package! We offer a wide range of tours exploring some of the most popular tourist routes across this spectacular country. Whether you’re planning a long holiday in Norway or just a short break, let Fjord Tours be your expert guide - all year round. Fjord Tours combines beautiful fjord cruises with spectacular train and bus journeys. Enjoy a daytrip or a longer trip with stops in fairytale villages along the way. And thanks to the currently favorable exchange rates - there's never been a better time to visit Norway!
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really enjoy this tour from online ticket booking, printing all tickets at the train station, explanation from officer who printed the ticket, leaflet containing the schedule and itinerary are clear and easy to understand. This trip starts by train from Bergen train station to Voss continue by bus from Voss to Gudvangen harbour, very beautiful scenery along the way. From here the journey by boat along Nærøyfjods the narrowest, most famous of the fjord arms and UNESCO World Heritage Site begins. Nice and clean boat, magical atmosphere created from high mountains that surround it. Anchored on Flåm fjord cruise terminal and continue the journey on Flåm Railway to Myrdal, the journey up the mountain passes through several tunnels with views towards mighty waterfall and mountain peaks. Train stop at Kjosfossen for 10 minutes to give opportunity for passangers to take pictures with background of the waterfall. Watch out for the slippery stops during winter. Trains stop again at Vatnahalsen where the passangers can enjoy the spectacular view over the valley. The trip continues to Myrdal where the Flåm railway and Bergen railway meet. We moved to Bergen railway to return to Bergen. Truly a beautiful and unforgettable journey.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank deneliaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and experienced good service throughout the tour. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"flam railway"
in 253 reviews
"nutshell tour"
in 187 reviews
"round trip from bergen"
in 42 reviews
"bergen voss"
in 30 reviews
"boat ride"
in 80 reviews
"day trip"
in 105 reviews
"hairpin turns"
in 28 reviews
"local train"
in 24 reviews
"your luggage"
in 28 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 20 reviews
"train trip"
in 33 reviews
"hour journey"
in 16 reviews
"fjord tour"
in 68 reviews
"oslo central station"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 75 reviews
"window seat"
in 21 reviews
"bus driver"
in 16 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great experience. We went from Bergen to Oslo. First leg was the 1hr train which was in darkness for most of it. Second leg was the bus and it was nice with the sun coming up. The third leg, the fjord cruise, was incredible. By far the best part of the trip. The fourth leg, the Fram railway, was nice but not comparable to the Fjord cruise. The waterfall was frozen (who cares, I’ve seen plenty). We took the earlier a Flåm railway train. You must do this in winter otherwise you will see nothing. The fifth leg, the 4 1/2 hr train to Oslo, was in complete darkness and was exhausting. Not fun at all, but the day was well worth it. Highly recommended, but you will be exhausted by the end.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank chrismclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your nice review! Good to hear that you took opportunity of taking the earlier train from Flåm in order to avoid travelling in the dark. And I agree, the fjord cruise is really one of the highlights of the tour. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our trip from Oslo started in the dark, but we got some nice views near the end and the Flam railway was wonderful. The third boat was good until the sun went down, then the rest of the trip was just darkness. Not a lot of fun.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most of the tour, but as you mention, darkness comes early in Norway. One solution to get the most out of the daylight is to take the tour in two days. You will be able to take the cruise in the morning from Flåm to Gudvangen, and finish in Bergen by 3 p.m. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Norway in a Nutshell tour started in the dark with train from Bergen to Voss. Daylight had arrived for the hour long bus trip over snow laden hill and dale to Gudvangen. There were a number of decent views but none like what awaited on the rest of the day. The Ferry ride through the fjords to Flam was spectacular but if doing it at this time of year make sure you rug up! Then the Flam Railway to Myrdal was unbelievable. We sat on the right hand side facing backwards. This provided some extraordinary scenery but to be fair, everyone on the train would have been in awe! Myrdal to Bergen provided some more wonderful scenery until darkness descended.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank brucemQ9888TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery at winter time, though there is less daylight than in the summer. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We opted to do this tour based on the reviews it received. However we found that for most of the time you hopped on and off transport and sat around. There was limited information provided along the route. Most of the group had to lug around suitcases. The fjord ferry ride was good (2h) but there could be more information given as you journey through the fjord. The TV screen information doesn’t do the experience justice. Flam was a waste of time. Most places were closed including the pub. The cafeteria had limited stock and poor service. Shops were closed. There is the option to take the train to a hotel. Some said one should and others said we shouldn’t. We should have. We felt like all we did was sit around for the whole tour. The train to Myrdal which is supposed to be a “must-see” was done in the dark!!! We saw nothing of the scenery. There was an earlier train to Myrdal but then you would have to wait at a station with no caffe for over an 1.5h. Options to be explained clearly and other options should provided over the winter season. Yet on another train for four hours in the dark back to Oslo. Disappointing and expensive.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Ilonka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ilonka! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our Norway in a nutshell tour®. Around Christmas, Norway is a quiet time of the year, where shops and restaurants often close and there may be less activities to participate in. In the winter period November-February we offer our customers to take the earlier train from Flåm to Vatnahalsen at 14.40 to avoid travelling in the dark. If you booked with us, you should have been given this option. (Please note, Vatnahalsen hotel was closed 23-26 Dec, when this option was not available). Otherwise, our tours are based on travelling on your own by public transport, and information is given over loudspeakers on transfer points. No guiding is given along the tour. Regarding luggage, it is a possibility to book luggage transfer between Bergen-Oslo (v/v), if you do not want to carry along your suitcases on the tour. Despite your disappointment, I hope you would like to return to Norway one day to see more of our beautiful country. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fjord Tours also viewed

 

Been to Fjord Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing