We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Lookout for the dancing lady - Flam Railway

We made our own "Norway in a Nutshell" tour! From Bergen to Flam by train/bus and a bot ride down... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
1kkumar
,
Massachusetts
Norway in a nutshell - an excellent trip!

We booked the train from Oslo to Myrdal, followed by the Flam railway, overnight in Flam, fjord... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
FionaTD
,
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Read all 2,033 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bergen
from US$112.00
More Info
from US$33.18
More Info
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveller rating
1,251
423
182
89
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
423
182
89
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flam railway nutshell tour round trip from bergen bergen voss boat ride day trip hairpin turns local train your luggage stay overnight train trip hour journey fjord tour oslo central station beautiful scenery window seat bus driver
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took Sognefjord in a Nutshell and Osterfjord tours. Wonderful experience, a must do in Bergen. But please be advised that this is not the organized tours you are probably got used to. You will be handed tickets and provided very friendly guidance (when asking for it), but nobody will nurse you. Pack your bag with some refreshing drinks and sandwiches, look through your route in advance to make sure you don't get lost at connections and you will be ready for a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank natrmnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, and your good advice on our tour! Our tours are package tours by public transport, and you travel independently. Stops will be announced over the loudspeakers, and you can of course ask staff for information. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We started our train journey from Oslo to Flam early in the morning at 8:30am, 28th Nov. We totally enjoy our approx. 4.5 hours train ride - the seat is large and very comfortable and the train is very clean. Along the way, the snowy white scenery is just beautiful. The next time, I would love to take the same train journey BUT will be in Summer and I am sure it will be very colourful and beautiful too.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review! Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

I really enjoy this tour from online ticket booking, printing all tickets at the train station, explanation from officer who printed the ticket, leaflet containing the schedule and itinerary are clear and easy to understand. This trip starts by train from Bergen train station to Voss continue by bus from Voss to Gudvangen harbour, very beautiful scenery along the way. From here the journey by boat along Nærøyfjods the narrowest, most famous of the fjord arms and UNESCO World Heritage Site begins. Nice and clean boat, magical atmosphere created from high mountains that surround it. Anchored on Flåm fjord cruise terminal and continue the journey on Flåm Railway to Myrdal, the journey up the mountain passes through several tunnels with views towards mighty waterfall and mountain peaks. Train stop at Kjosfossen for 10 minutes to give opportunity for passangers to take pictures with background of the waterfall. Watch out for the slippery stops during winter. Trains stop again at Vatnahalsen where the passangers can enjoy the spectacular view over the valley. The trip continues to Myrdal where the Flåm railway and Bergen railway meet. We moved to Bergen railway to return to Bergen. Truly a beautiful and unforgettable journey.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank deneliaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you for your great review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and experienced good service throughout the tour. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

Great experience. We went from Bergen to Oslo. First leg was the 1hr train which was in darkness for most of it. Second leg was the bus and it was nice with the sun coming up. The third leg, the fjord cruise, was incredible. By far the best part of the trip. The fourth leg, the Fram railway, was nice but not comparable to the Fjord cruise. The waterfall was frozen (who cares, I’ve seen plenty). We took the earlier a Flåm railway train. You must do this in winter otherwise you will see nothing. The fifth leg, the 4 1/2 hr train to Oslo, was in complete darkness and was exhausting. Not fun at all, but the day was well worth it. Highly recommended, but you will be exhausted by the end.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank chrismclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you for your nice review! Good to hear that you took opportunity of taking the earlier train from Flåm in order to avoid travelling in the dark. And I agree, the fjord cruise is really one of the highlights of the tour. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

Our trip from Oslo started in the dark, but we got some nice views near the end and the Flam railway was wonderful. The third boat was good until the sun went down, then the rest of the trip was just darkness. Not a lot of fun.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordTours2, Kundeansvarlig at Fjord Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most of the tour, but as you mention, darkness comes early in Norway. One solution to get the most out of the daylight is to take the tour in two days. You will be able to take the cruise in the morning from Flåm to Gudvangen, and finish in Bergen by 3 p.m. Best regards, Marian Fjord Tours customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews