We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
28
14
16
7
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
14
16
7
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luggage rack bed was comfortable top floor nice breakfast fish market mirror balcony toiletries bryggen
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. We were on the 6th floor. Unfortunately for us, our stay wrapped around a weekend. We could not sleep at all on Friday and Saturday night because of the loud music playing in the nightclub right above us. The music plays till 3 am and it gets louder as the night wears on. The last straw was that on Saturday night the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. The hotel staff came around telling guests that someone had triggered the alarm in the nightclub. We were only able to sleep on Sunday night because I think the nightclub is closed. Complained to the front desk and got a smile with the explanation that they get a lot of complaints about the noise. We got earplugs but they don't work. We were also unlucky enough to get a room with sloped ceilings and no view.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lakshmi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Lakshmi72,
and thank you for your feedback.
We can only apologize for the inconvenience the noise from the nightclub caused you. We have now found better solutions for the rooms more exposed in the weekends. Furthermore it is only more unfortunate that the firealarm went off. We still hope you had a nice stay in Bergen, and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future to better your impression of us.
Best Regards Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed Friday night and hotel was fine but Saturday night has a night club on floor above my room which makes it impossible to sleep. Was told on booking in that this was a quieter room so goodness knows what the less quiet rooms are like. They have the cheek to also charge full price for this appalling service!
Hotel provided a card to make a review on trip advisor! Need to get sound proofing sorted!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wendylaynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Wendy,
and thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry that your stay with us became a poor one. The nightclub can be very disturbing to the rooms that are more exposed for the noise. We have now found better solutions for these rooms in the weekends. We hope we can welcome you back in the future so we can better your impression of us.
We hope you still had a nice stay in Bergen.
Best Regards Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The Location and breakfast, which was included, were wonderful. Excellent coffee and a wide selection of food. A bit noisy though. Could hear my neighbor on the phone at midnight. Loved the toiletries.

Room tip: I wouldn’t choose a skylight room again. Would prefer a room with a view.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AstridB413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear AstridB413,
and thank you for a perfect score and nice feedback!
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our great location in the middle of the city.
We hope you come back to visit Bergen soon, and that you choose to stay with us again.
Best Regards Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Before checking in, we read all the reviews about the noise, so got really worried. We asked the receptionist if our room was one of the quieter ones and she said it was on the 6th floor, right below the nightclub and unfortunately, they had no other free rooms, but she gave us earplugs (also provided in the room). I was expecting it to be terrible, but it was completely fine and I had no problems sleeping at all. We could hear a bit of the nightclub noise, but it really wasn't as bad as described. If you're worried about it, request a room on the 4th or 5th floor.
In terms of location, I don't think you could get any better in Bergen. The hotel overlooks Bryggen and the fish market - very central and easy to access.
The room was very modern and clean, the bed was comfortable and the TV had a Chromecast, so we could watch Netflix etc. The rooms had an umbrella, which turned out to be very handy!
The breakfast was great - a lot of choice and very filling and the breakfast room looked over the harbour.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and overall, it was a very good experience, and just what we needed for our stay in Bergen.

Room tip: 4th or 5th floor are quieter rooms
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 612pipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonen at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Pip M,
and thank you for a great review!
We're so glad to read that you had a good stay with us and a lovely time in Bergen,
especially after reading reviews about the noise before arriving.
It makes us happy that the experience you take with you back home is our
comfortable beds, our beautiful location and a good impression of our lovely staff!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future, have a great day!

Best Regards
Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Although this hotel is located in a mall, it's relative location is magnificent. However, if you stay on a Friday or Saturday night the Disco upstairs will keep you awake all night (even after the dancing stops- the clean-up noise begins) When we complained the next morning, we were told that others had complained also. When we shared that our toilet did not work all evening and there was no phone in the room to notify anyone, we were told that no one could come to fix it because if was Sunday. Really??? And to add to our misery, there was no way to control what seemed like "air" for our room - and we didn't dare open the windows (they'd only open an inch or two anyway).
We insisted that we were checking out of the hotel and wanted to be reimbursed since we had to prepay! We were credited with the future night that we did not stay there, but were not reimbursed for our night of no sleep. We should have been, because sleep is the service we expected to receive. (as with any credible hotel) It ruined the rest of our visit to lovely Bergen.

Room tip: Just don't stay there!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Harriet,
thank you for writing us your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear that your stay in Bergen wasn't as good as it could've been.
Unfortunately the nightclub in the same building as ours can be disturbing to some of our rooms when its open in the weekends. We have now come up with some better solutions for the rooms that are more exposed to the noise than others. As for the issue with the toilet and the climate in your room, we can only apologize for making a poor stay worse. We do hope you still had a nice stay in Bergen, and that we one day can make it up to you if you ever return.

Best Regards Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews