We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Cuisine”
Review of To Kokker

To Kokker
Ranked #37 of 388 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$250
Cuisines: French, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: It is a pleasure for us to welcome you to To Kokker. We present a menu combing traditional Norwegian cousine with an added special touch. Fresh Norwegian produce of superior quality. Based on well-known recipes, we have sought to provide that little extra that will make the meal experience like no other. Bon appetite!
Katy, Texas, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Cuisine”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Group of 10 easily accommodated. Most of us had the 5 course prix fis menu. Excellent proportion size, great flavor. Atmosphere was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    79
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is very old and all made from wood. The atmosphere is great. The service and the 6 dish menu which we had was great! The elk tastes amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Was with a group of 5 people and the atmosphere was very nice for a business dinner. Not too much noise although it was full. Fish and meat dishes were really tasty and I was told that it was genuine Norwegian food which I foubt as there are influences from the French and Italian cuisine.
When taken the menu the prices are not really cheap but rather expensive but the taste and very good service makes it you forget. Also the wine is expensive so beware and do not drink it like water! All in all a very nice restaurant which I recommend when in Bergen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food In A Very Classy Setting”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

For my one meal in Bergen, while transiting from a cruise to a flight, I chose this restaurant. Wonderful food, excellent service, upstairs in an old building at the end of an alley. I had a beef dish, very pricey, excellent presentation. Lovely décor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,085 reviews
2,035 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 986 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant down a back alley in Bergen!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I loved loved loved this place! It was located down a back alley, and then up a flight of stairs into an ancient building in historic Bergen. The owner told us that the building itself was over 300 years old, and that most of it was original. It was gorgeous, all painted in a dark rose hue with Impressionistic paintings framed on the walls. We felt like we'd been transported back in time!

For my meal, I had a roast duck with a lovely apple conserve sauce, which was served along with roasted asparagus and potatoes. Wow...great! My vegetarian daughter has problems finding something on the menu, so they said "Of course we can make a nice salad dinner for here," which they did.

This restaurant was expensive, but well worth the price. I would love to return some day if ever back in this charming town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To Kokker also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to To Kokker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing