We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chocolate, warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moliere - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moliere
Cuisines: Cafe
Neighbourhood: Sentrum
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sentrum
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great chocolate, warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We have eaten twice at Moliere during our stay in Bergen. The food is fresh, and the wines are thoughtfully chosen. Stop in for an afternoon snack or tapas, or a late night dessert (the truffles are incredible!)- you will not be disappointed with this understated and inviting cafe.

Helpful?
Thank LoulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite stop in Bergen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The chocolate and deserts are amazing. Over the years this place has become our favorite. This last visit we ate their food everyday. For one of us this is the best cafe and desert place in the world, including Paris. Sounds extravagent, but we were just eating some of their chocolate back at home after returning from Paris yesterday and that came up.

The interior is painted wood with old photos. We usually like to sit inside and watch people across the street in the park. Last time there was a group practicing tightrope walking. But then we have always been lucky with weather in Bergen also.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great truffles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This cafe was recommended by a local friend for the fabulous chocolates that they make. We bought some as a gift for friends having us for dinner and they were very good. Had an OK coffee out in the small back courtyard. The staff was friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the chocolate and cakes, but staff is unfriendly and interior is shabby.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The chocolates from Moliere are absolutely lovely, the best ones I've ever had. We ordered our wedding cake from Moliere as well, and we certainly don't regret that. Not being a big fan of the whole "marzipan and too-much-whipped-cream"-thing, this was the right choice for us. Best tasting wedding cake ever! And it looked BEAUTIFUL.

As for the actual cafè, the interior is outdated, sticky and feels a bit uncozy. The staff knows their stuff, but sadly they are not that friendly and inviting. Go in, get your chocolate, and eat it somewhere else.

So much potential, but still quite a long way to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalinedenfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“1st-Rate Atmospheric Chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Many have noted the high price. True. However, if you want superb chocolate, cappucino, croissants and such, then this is the place to frequent in Bergen. For my wife and I, it is our haunt. The staff is very friendly and excellent conversationalists that helped our embryonic Norsk. And they even provided free candies and croissants (try the chocolate one). Service can sometimes be slow, when the cafe is packed in the late afternoon. Finally, if you'd like to be around adults, not the "hip" youth of Bergen while sipping wine or downing a hot coffee, this is the place. Try it. We look forward to Moliere when back in Bergen.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drBluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moliere also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing