We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act”
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Ranked #6 of 381 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vågen
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Class Act”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This restaurant is small, with four choices each for starters, main and desserts. The food was distinctive. The veal I had was the best I've ever had. The accompanying wild mushrooms and greens were so salty, they were inedible. When the waiter came by to ask how things were, I told him. He said the chef would prepare a new vegetable dish. That was superb. Also good was the trout appetizer and the creamy fish soup with mussels.
I appreciated their caring about the quality of the food and the experience of the guests.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yakherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    191
    50
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I live in Bergen, and have tried out quite a few restaurants here. Spisekroken is definitely one of the best restaurants in Bergen. The food is great (Can recommend the duck) and the prices are very reasonable compared to the quality. Local ingredients, intimate setting and friendly staff. Will come back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knut Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best in Bergen”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This restaurant is one of the best in Bergen! They have a short meny and the quality is really good! It seems like Spisekroken has put a lot of effort in picking high quality food and drinks from local farmers, and they change their meny based on the season.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eumundi, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This restaurant is well worth seeking out. The waitstaff could not have been more helpful, explaining all the dishes to us in perfect English. The food was exceptional in presentation and flavour. The setting was cosy and intimate and the price was very reasonable for Bergen

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A deft touch in the kitchen”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a top end Norwegian restaurant. With service expect to pay approaching £200 for 2 people. We got a table last minute on a Friday night, the place was full with one large party. Service was attentive, knowledgable and friendly. The food was excellent. My wife had a porcini mushroom soup, I had a aquavit platter which included three different aquavits and three small mouthfuls of food. Some nice cured ham, a portion of the porcini soup and some smoked trout, all delicious, the star of the show show was the confit egg yolk in the soup which is suspect was a soft poached egg yolk. Mains for both of us was the wild sheep with roasted vegetables, this was a beautiful piece of meat, very tender and full of flavour. There was a cream 'butter' over the vegetables which was cut by a dusting of powdered dried lingonberry which really worked. Desserts were an apple tart (like an uncaramalised tarte tatin) with vanilla and cream cheese ice cream and for me a ginger and almond tart with macaroons and a bitter chocolate ice cream. The strong flavours of the macaroons and the ice cream tended to overpower the tart which is my only criticism of the food. A very well executed and very flavoursome meal. We washed it down with a bottle of claret and a couple our dessert wines, unusually they had a choice of two Tokays on the wine list. There is also slightly cheaper set menu.

Eating at anything approaching UK prices in Norway is almost impossible. Even a pizza and a couple of beers will set you back over £70. It's interesting that the price difference contracts at the top end. I would have expected to pay about £120 to £130 for the same standard of meal in the UK.

If you're in Bergen and are prepared to pay the money this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neolith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing