We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, make sure to have a reservation and sit upstairs..”
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Ranked #6 of 375 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vågen
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great food, make sure to have a reservation and sit upstairs..”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You need to have a reservation for this population restaurant, we did not and ended up in the basement. Not unpleasant but no windows, a bit humid and we were alone except for the other guests coming down past our table for the toilets. Food was great, top quality chef clearly, although the concept slightly less interesting than for example Bien Bar (see my recent review there) for example the set menu starts with a plate serving three small taster starters, each with their own accompaniment, resulting in six little bites to start with, perhaps this is a bit overdone as although it gives really nice variety one does not really understand what the starter actually was, main course was superbly prepared veal (it was really good so did not matter that we had had it two days earlier almost similarly in Bien bar) then followed by again a highly varied dessert platter, very very good again but perhaps a bit too much variety, or perhaps it is the fact that one gets all these deserts / entrees at once that makes it slightly less surprising. Our waiter was totally nice and welcoming and did an absolutely great job. Overall very strong place for an excellent foodie experience, but try to reserve and sit upstairs...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    184
    47
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Norwegian meal to begin our stay in Bergen”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous start to our short break in Bergen. The spisekroken is a small and cosy restaurant with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The dishes on the menu are made from local Norwegian produce, beautifully presented and our meal was cooked to perfection. The wild sheep was delicious and the creamed fish soup from the 'this and that' menu was really tasty.
If you're looking for exceptional food at Norwegian prices look no further. It's a very popular restaurant so best to book.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannelie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Wine in cosy restaurant”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This Place requires the highest rating. Affordable excellence. Short but exciting menu. Polite and timely services. Excellent wine recommendation at sensible (though Norwegian) prices. Charming and unformal. A Place to visit many times!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The food here is always a very good, the service is great - and you just simply feel comfortable and taken care of in every way. Whenever we want to have a special European/Norwegian meal, without going over the top money-wise, we know that Spisekroken is a safe choice. There are some restaurants that can match the wine better with the food, and serve more extraordinary dishes, but then you have to pay twice as much, and often a less relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Class Act”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This restaurant is small, with four choices each for starters, main and desserts. The food was distinctive. The veal I had was the best I've ever had. The accompanying wild mushrooms and greens were so salty, they were inedible. When the waiter came by to ask how things were, I told him. He said the chef would prepare a new vegetable dish. That was superb. Also good was the trout appetizer and the creamy fish soup with mussels.
I appreciated their caring about the quality of the food and the experience of the guests.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yakherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing