We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a quiet but easily accessible location, a neighbourhood restaurant serving outstanding food”
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Ranked #12 of 456 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vagen
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We were staying in Bergen on the Bryggen and were so pleased to have booked this restaurant in a quiet neighbourhood but less than 10 minutes walk away. The contrast between the locations was huge and the peace and quiet was delightful. It is a busy small restaurant but the service and food were both to a very high standard. We particularly enjoyed the baby goat ribs and the veal. We also had the starter which included a flight of aquavits, and were surprised by how much we enjoyed the experience. Altogether a great evening and highly recommended. It is probably better to book in advance as it was full and people were being turned away.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat-Romsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We dined here years ago while visiting and loved it then. It is even better than I remembered! My husband had fish of the day which was fresh and perfectly prepared. His duck appetizer was outstanding! The rest of us had veal which was tender and had a succulent Demi-glacé sauce. It had potatoes and veggie on the side. The house red wine was good. The cheese board dessert had some interesting choices and was enjoyable. The piece de resistance was the "flower pot" dessert which was a small glass with a strawberry and dense dark chocolate in the bottom covered in a thick layer of passion fruit mousse with toasted hazelnuts. To give it a garden look there were little herb sprigs and several chocolate sticks springing up out of the dessert. The flavor combination was divine. Entrees were 289 NOK. You definitely need to book a reservation a few days in advance. Service was very good. Nice quiet ambiance.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I booked most of the places in Norway in advance as summers are very busy. However, I've learnt that if you come early without reservations, you almost guaranteed to find a place. This particular restaurant was the first place to try in Bergen as the reviews were promising. We arrived earlier, at 6pm and the place was almost empty. Tip to all: steer clear from Chef's menu. We found that it wasn't such a great value after all. Both of us ordered the Chef's menu. Their main dish was the highlight: veal with lightly cooked veggies. Big portion. Enough to share if you order a normal size of appetizer from the menu. Our appetizer from Chef's menu was a set of three tiny dishes that we could most certainly skip. Marinated trout was mushy, soup was nothing to rave about and a piece of meat was dry and unremarkable. We also weren't impressed with the dessert trio/cheese, except for the cheese selection, even though these dishes were better than the appetizers.
I would have been happy with the cheese selection to finish the meal. Do order an appetizer and main course! I looked over our neighbors' table and the fish dish (main) looked amazing. Bottom line, do not go for the prix fixe menu. I was a bit disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We had some dinner here last night. I had the catch of the day (fish), my boyfriend the veal. Both very tastfull! Really loved the fish. Afterwards, I had the White chocolat cream, my boyfriend the passion fruit mousse. Again, both very Well prepred. Fresh ingredients. Small place, so reservation is a must!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Hannevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is known for its veal which of course was excellent but their smoked trout or artichoke soup were worthy counterparts. Nice and helpful staff made our last night in Bergen memorable.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank puttomobili
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.