We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant small restaurant”
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Ranked #12 of 456 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vagen
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This is a storefront restaurant that serves pleasant, but not exceptional, food from a quite limited menu. My wife and I both enjoyed our meal and service was very good. The price is moderate for Norway (high for anywhere else) so I would recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

It was delicious from the beginning to the end! The fishsoup was outstanding! We had the veal and fish of the day. Both were fantastic! The White housewine was good! Friendly staff. Would defenitly go there a second time!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 375anneliesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

A bit off the usual touristy sights , located on a hill just west of the ferry pier. It's a lovely walk around.

Had the three course meal at 570kr.
Had the lovely starters of crab soup, ham with cheese and honey and the scallops with salmon eggs. Small
Portions but as its three in one it adds up.

Mains of veal pieces with apple sauce and parsley purée with glazed veal cheeks, again excellent.

Desert was a trio of buckthorn cheese cake with raspberry sorbet, chocolate and liquorice cake with raspberry ice cream and cheese with raspberry.

Very interesting meal. Came out full enough but not bursting!

Had cremont for drinks. There is an accompanying wine medley.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nolanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We visited this place because of the critics in TripAdvisor. The waitress was very rude and dind't explain the dishes properly.

We ordered baked chicken, but it was stuffed with something else, the waitress sayed that it was "fillet", and it comed with a sweet sauce, not specified in the menu. The chicken was dry and it wasn't tasty at all.

Also we ordered a baby goat, and the size of the dish was tiny. The price was excesive.

Better stay with the classic norwegian couisine!!

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank ChristianYesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I had one a business meeting here, as the first encounter with the second partie during April 2016. My first impression was not good, as the staff litteraly turn her back at me when i was entering and asking questions. However, the food and drinks were perfect. Tender meat, with glazed and perfects sides. Nothing to complain about.

Our waiter during our servings was great, she treated us good and always made sure we were fully served. I would have given this restaurant a top rating if i haven´t been for the first impression of one of the other waiters.

However, thank you for the great food. Perfect for business and leisure. Prices is also decent, however not cheap (500 NOK ++).

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank MarkusN381
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.