We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment! ”

Restaurant Cornelius
Ranked #14 of 435 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$64 - US$87
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Just outside the City of Bergen, you will find one of the most exotic attractions in the whole of Western Norway's archipelago. Cornelius is one of Norway's best seafood restaurants. It is situated right by the sea on a small island with spectacular views of the fjord, mountains, skerries and passing boats and ships. Inspired by the weather of the day, Cornelius serves its famous Meteorological Menu of exquisite seafood and trimmings, prepared using innovative culinary techniques and with a genuine passion for seafood. Cornelius is open all year. On beautiful summer days, we open the sliding doors and set up tables on the pier, where we serve lighter dishes. When the weather is less favourable, we create a cosy atmosphere indoors and serve food with stronger flavours and light up the candles and the fireplace. Every season - every day - we offer unique and exciting culinary experiences on Holmen. Experience a beautiful trip among the skerries, from Bryggen wharf in the City of Bergen to Holmen at Bjoroy. Regular departures at 18.00 from Dreggekaien on Bryggen (shed no. 8) opposite Radisson Blu Royal Hotel and Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret. Return from Holmen at 22.30. The boat trip takes 25 minutes. Warm, safe boats take you back and forth in comfort, - regardless of the weather. Please contact us if you want to charter a private boat. During the summer months we have regular departures for lunch Thursday, Friday and Saturdays.
Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

The whole package sounded like such an experience. I booked this for my partners birthday and we both expected to be wowed but were left unimpressed. Where to start.. From entering, you are pressurised to take a drink, then you are presented with a wine choice (only 2 out of 7000 apparently) which are very expensive, £50 a bottle is the cheapest. We were served with some bread and butter, which I must admit, was the best I enjoyed of the whole night. We then got served pollock ceviche , which was okay, nothing to write home about. Then a mussel soup which just tasted like mushroom soup, overly creamy and again nothing to shout about. Then we were served with cod which was nice, served with parsnip purée and vegetables. The wait between courses was tedious, we could not believe how long the wait between courses was. After a long wait we were served with whale, which we had to send back as it was cold. They did return a fresh hot dish after we sent this back which was very nice and probably on par with the beautiful bread and butter. Lastly after another long wait we got dessert, there take on chocolate orange, which was actually really nice. All in all I am giving the low score on the basis that the food is not 5 star and the service is not 5 star, the atmosphere is very boring and there was no music. We asked for some music as it was on in the next room but the response was that the speaker was broke (you would think that they would fix this, going off how much they charge for their service) The whole experience was a let down and I personally think it’s not worth the money.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Love2TravelEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and my had a very nice evening!
The restaurant picks you up in Bergen city in a boat.
The boat trip takes about 20 min and you can enjoy a glass of wine or beer on board.
When you arrive to the restaurant the staff meet you at the pier.
The staff are really friendly and they provide really good service!
The food is delicious, and they pick the perfect wine for you for each and every dish.
The restaurant is beautiful with nice atmosphere.
It was just a great evening!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Natki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

enjoyed the 3 course dinner with matching wines. easy boat ride to and from resturant.
only problem that after finishing 3 course meal you have to wait until people eating 5 course menu are finished. only one boat to and from resturant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smithp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita G, Bookingsjef at Restaurant Cornelius, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you, we appreciate your constructive review. Feedback from our guests are important to us in order to continuously improve and to be able to meet our guests expectations. Your comments will off course be evaluated and taken into consideration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

This place is 30 minutes from the city centre of Bergen. Check the webpage. From when and where .
On a island close to Bergen.
You can start like we did, go to the wine cellar and select your aperitif, and the wine or cider( from apples) made from apple from Hardanger a fjord close by.
Or say to the sommelier, and she will fixs.
Many seafood experiences....
The kitchen / chefs are very creative.
Tonight we had:
Raw scallops, cevische from haddock . Oysters, o shell, sandshell,and kråkebolle- Google it.= with champagne made from 4 grapes.
Then seafood in every way you can,and can't imagine. Even deer.
Desserts .. wines,Cognac from Grand champagne.
And at a set time the boat leaves.
Seafood island heaven . Dice 10 of 5

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JohanSaeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita G, Bookingsjef at Restaurant Cornelius, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for the kind reply on your visit to Cornelius. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. Welcome back another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

We went there with a group of 8 and preordered the Meteorological Meny.

The restaurant is really nice and I can imagine that it will be an extraordinary place to visit on a sunny summer’s day. (If you are so lucky to catch one of those in rainy Bergen)
The food, while the seafood was fresh, was really nothing special. I heard so much positive about the restaurant that I felt slightly disappointed about the food as it lacked taste and imagination.

The the two main courses were the most tasty ones but again I was left disappointed. Another unimaginative variation of the worn-out pea puree dish with some fish and hollandaise.
The barley risotto with truffle oil would have been much better with real truffles or none at all. It tasted pungent and overpowering as everything seasoned with this horrible oil tends to taste.
The dessert was 2 types of mashed apples with a drizzle of crumbles, some almond cakes, sour cream and a tiny apple marshmello. It was ok, but again- nothing special. Come on, I thought, 2 types of apple puree- you can’t come up with anything more imaginative?

The service was slow and there was a lot of waiting between the courses. With more attentive waiters they could have sold a few more bottles of wine. We didn’t even have time for a coffee or avec as we reached to finish dessert just a few minutes before the boat left.

Not sure if I would choose to visit again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank D9388JTdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita G, Bookingsjef at Restaurant Cornelius, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you, we appreciate your constructive review. Feedback from our guests are important to us in order to continuously improve and to be able to meet our guests expectations. Your comments will off course be evaluated and taken into consideration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Cornelius also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Restaurant Cornelius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing