We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, nothing more you can wish for!”
Review of Alkoven Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alkoven Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 19 Bergen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just checked out of Alkoven Guesthouse after spending 2 nights in the 'Loftet' which is the only room with a separate kitchen, toilet and sink supplied with warm water. We had a very warm welcome from Elisabeth's daughter as Elisabeth was out for the day, but she came by later in the evening after we returned from hiking which was a very nice touch. There are coffee and tea set up in this room which was great after the long travel.

The room overlooks an inner court and is very quiet throughout the day. For a shower you will need to go down to the ground floor and it is shared with another three rooms however it was not bothersome even though all rooms were occupied the 2 nights we were here as everyone seems to be on a different schedule. The bathroom is equipped with a washing machine and dryer which you can use for free too. Towels you will find in your room and there is complimentary wifi as well.

Will definitely recommend Alkoven to all my friends as the facilities are great and clean, it's close to all major attractions and the family is lovely!

Room Tip: Loftiest has its own kitchen and toilet and is very quiet due to overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Digito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks a lot for a nice and detailed review, I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you will recommend our house to friends and other travelers. Welcome back if you return to Bergen one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at Alkoven, our room (front street) was the biggest and maybe the nicest one, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets on the sea from its windows and it is very comfortable for 2-3 people.
The house was clean and it is equipped with all the necessary also for a longer stay: kitchenware washingmachine and dishwasher.
It is just 10 min walk from the famous Bryggen and 15 min walk from the harbor.
Elisabeth is very welcoming and the surroundings are quite and relaxing. Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gordmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's much appreciated! Welcome back at any time if you ever come back to Bergen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a nice stay in the guesthouse. Good location, charming house. We stayed in the smallest room, which I would not recommend because it's not so practical. You need to take stairs and go outside to go to the toilet/bathroom/kitchen.So If you need to go to the toilet during the night, it's not so nice. If you come by car, it's hard to find a parking space and very expensive to get a parking ticket. We had to park 2,5 km away from the house to get a free parking space.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello, and thank you for your nice review though you had some bad experiences. First about parking: all Bergen is divided into parking zones, I've taken notice from your experience and from now on I always ask my guests if they will come by car or not, so that they will be prepared. Parking tickets are available at Nok 100,- pr 24 hours/Nok 40,- for evenings (17-23). These are the public prices for parking as guests in the streets. Second about Kvisten room: you are right about the conditions, it's a small room, but also the cheapest one. I think you would have troubles finding any similar rooms to a better price in all Bergen. A very popular room for single travelers. I hope you will return to Alkoven another time if you get to Bergen, and get to try any of the other rooms to have a better experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend Alkoven Guesthouse. I found it a really comfortable, homely and relaxing place to stay in Bergen, with great facilities and lovely rooms. It is in a peaceful location within easy walking distance
of Bergen. Elisabeth is very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello, and thank you so much for your nice review :-) - you are always welcome if you ever plan to return to Bergen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent 4 or 5 nights in the Red Room. The room was nice and spacious, and the kitchen was well equipped. Having a kitchen was great! By preparing our own dinner, we saved a lot of money we would otherwise spend in restaurants. The location is beautiful, with a nice view on the harbor, and walking distance from the city center. The bed could maybe use a new mattress, but other than that, everything about this place is just perfect! Best. Honeymoon. EVER!

Room Tip: Red room has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ture E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hello Ture, and thank you for your nice review. I wanted to ask you one question about your comments to the mattress, to see if I can make it better. What is the reason that you think the mattress should be changed? Was it too soft/hard or other qualities about it you think could be made better? Thanks for answering me :-) Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the Red Room for 3 nights in June 2014. Big room with a comfy bed, table and couch. Lovely location within easy walking distance of the town centre. Clean guesthouse with very nice hosts. The kitchen facilities were very handy for self catering.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyiommisfingertips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you very muck for your nice review, always good to hear that my guests had a good experience! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In a beautiful street, near the centre, but quiet, Nicely furnished and decorated, comfortable. Good to be able to use the kitchen and the garden. The landlady was not at home, but left a good description and everything we needed was there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoniem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Suzanne, and thank you for your very nice review. I'm sorry I was not able to meet you during your stay, but happy to hear that you managed all well on your own :-) welcome back, if any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Hotel Park Bergen
#3 of 49 in Bergen
571 reviews
Vågen
To Sostre Guesthouse
To Sostre Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Bergen
236 reviews
Vågen
AnneHelene's B&B
AnneHelene's B&B
#8 of 19 in Bergen
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marken Gjestehus
#1 of 32 in Bergen
380 reviews
Sentrum
Ole Bull Hotel & Apartment
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkoven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoven Guesthouse

Address: Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen 5032, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonable prices close to the city of Bergen, only 10 minutes walk to Bryggen and Fisketorget. Alkoven - rent a room, is an accomodation for people looking for something different from hotels. In our family house, where we lives upstairs, we rent out 4 rooms during summer season and 2 through the winter. Red and Green rooms are located at groundfloor, while Kvisten and Loftet is in the back and upstairs from our private back garden. The rooms are most suitable for singles or couples, but Red room can also take one extra person. When staying in our house you get a good chance to meet and get to know other travellers as you share common areas as kitchen, bath and toilet. This is an old charming wooden house in traditional style placed in one of Bergen's old historical neighbourhoods, Skuteviken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing