We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
To Sostre Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 19 Bergen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After staying here we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Breakfast each morning was amazing and I was thrilled that my certain dietary needs were considered and catered for. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sababajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at To Søstre for the May 17th celebrations in Bergen some years ago. Excellent rooms, fantastic location and brilliant breakfast with owner Yvonne and her husband. Highly enjoyable and authentic place to stay if you look for something else than your run-of-the-mill international hotel.

What are you waiting for? Get on the phone and book a room for your next trip to Bergen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Sisters Renate and Yvonne were very helpful when trying to book on line. They have a very nice "upscale" B&B on a quiet street about a 15 walk from the Bergen T.I. office on the harbor....30 mins to train.

The rooms are large, sunny and well decorated. The two 2nd floor rooms share a new renovated bath which was quite large with a walk-in shower. The Blue Room bed was wonderful.

Renate prepares a fabulous, home-cooked breakfast and it was the best we had on this trip.
They charge an upscale rate but it was well worth it! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We met a very interesting German couple who made the breakfast a most interesting experience.

The morning we left we had an 7:55am train...Renate volunteered to come early to prepare us breakfast! That was wonderful because it was another great meal to enjoy before a 6hr trip.
It was pouring rain (it's Bergen after all) so Renate was so kind to drive us to the train station rather than have us walk! We were so grateful. A taxi would have been very expensive!

Our recommendation...spend a little more and get the best - stay at Tosostre Guesthouse!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are very nice. No pool or fitness which is ok by me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffymchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was a dark and rainy night when we arrived in Bergen on the Songefjord express boat at about 8:30 p.m. Our hostess had offered to pick us up (I don't know if this us a regular service) and it was lovely to see her at the pier and trundle our bag into the back of her little electric Peugeot. She oriented us to the guest house and the city with information tailored to our interests. The house was quiet and spotlessly clean and the decor was very restful but full of Nordic character. We stored the lunch leftovers in the fridge in the kitchen, took a warm shower, and fell into the most comfortable bed we've found in all of our travels away from our own bed at home. [This was the queen bed in the canopy room - latex bed with another two inches of visco-elastic type of mattress topper. I don't know if all of the beds are the same.]
The house was quiet during our stay, even though the other rooms were occupied. There is a full kitchen available if guests want to cook at home and a living area with a lovely wood burning stove and a comfortable couch and television if you are ready for a night in. The stove wasn't burning during our stay, but I imagine in the winter it might be an option.
The breakfast was very high quality food - yogurt, fresh berries, jams,two types of homemade bread, three types of cheese, a couple of preparations of salmon and some yummy cured ham/prosciutto-type meat. Eggs were offered, but we didn't want to be gluttons!
Our hostess was friendly and generous with her time. We would certainly return to Bergen if we could stay at To Sostres again!
P.S. The brownies at the "Good Bread" bakes hop are the best I've ever had - the kind one dreams of- thanks for the recommendation!

Room Tip: As mentioned above, the queen bed in the Canopy Room is miraculously comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IthacaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Two Sister's Guest House is a cozy, family-friendly bed and breakfast ideally located near the Bergen waterfront. If you're searching for a clean, charming place to call home during your holiday, stay at To Sostre!

Our family had the pleasure of experiencing Renate and Yvonne's hospitality for two days during our Norwegian summer holiday. Making the arrangements via e-mail was easy. Renate provided helpful directions, which made finding the home easy. The guest house is situated in a quiet neighborhood, and while it is conveniently located near the waterfront (a 5 min walk), it is also far enough to avoid the tourist-induced commotion of the Bryggen. As we drove up the peaceful, cobblestone passage, Yvonne was waiting for us and warmly greeted our exuberant kids as we settled in.

Entering the guest house feels like coming home. Beautifully decorated in a traditional, simple, Scandinavian style, the home features wood floors and walls which have just enough wear to show some character, and keep parents from worrying that kids will scuff the floor! The cozy sitting room is a perfect place to curl up with a good book, while the kitchen and dining room can be enjoyed--and used--by all guests. We took advantage of a nearby market to buy some food and make ourselves a simple dinner both nights--a plus if you're looking to save money. Upstairs features two guest rooms and a bathroom, which the two guest rooms share. The first night we stayed in the charming blue room, to which they added two mattresses for our kids. The room is beautiful, with thoughtful touches (like hooks on the wall) to make the stay easier.

Up one more level, and at the top of the home, is the spacious family loft suite (this was our first choice, but it was unfortunately booked for the first night). This is the perfect room for families with 2-3 kids. The private suite features one bed for two adults, two single beds, and a mattress in a sleeping loft above the suite. The suite also has its own changing room and bathroom with shower. Several opening skylights keep the room bright and fresh, although one can also pull shades down to darken the room for sleeping. Several amenities make the room comfortable, including kit for making tea. We really enjoyed the suite, and would happily stay there again.

A word to parents with young kids. As others have noted, the home features very steep spiral stairs going up to both levels. Our children were careful and managed just fine; however, toddlers will have difficulty ascending. The family suite has its own private staircase with a locked door at bottom, and we noticed Renate and Yvonne thoughtfully placed bumpers on the wall for a baby gate at the top of the staircase. We did not use the gate (our kids are older) but we believe it would be an option to keep little ones safe.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the magnificent breakfast! Fresh-baked breads, jam, smoked salmon, sausage, brown cheese, yogurt, fruit, and home made muesli were just some of the delights available. Yvonne also made eggs to order, and even prepared fresh smoothies for us one morning! On our first morning, we had to leave early to catch a tour, but Yvonne had everything ready for us, which made the entire day go better! In 3 weeks of travel throughout Scandinavia, we found the fresh breakfast at To Sostre was the best!

In sum, we highly recommend To Sostre for any family. The convenient location, extraordinary hospitality, and comfortable accommodation easily make this Bed & Breakfast the finest in Bergen!

Room Tip: As reviewed, the family loft suite is just right for parents plus 2-3 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer4Life-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Everything about this inn was a true delight...from the "two sisters" who own and operate the place (Renate was "on" during our stay) to the beautifully presented breakfast to the casual elegance of the "Attic" suite on the charming side street, to the nice central and walkable location.

Would definitely recommend, and out of a myriad of places we stayed during our 2+ week visit to Norway, it was in the top favorites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Book early as this three room guest house is sure to fill up fast! Yvonne and Renate, the two sisters who own the guesthouse, are warm, inviting hosts who are eager to make your stay in Bergen and at the guesthouse a memorable one.

Located on a charming street in Old Bergen, it is an easy walk to Bergen's many sights. At the end of the day, it was nice to come home to a quiet street and a relaxing home away from the tourists and tour busses!

All rooms are on a second and third floor. The two rooms on the second floor share a large and modern bathroom. The third floor houses a spacious loft and is great for families with its extra beds and private bathroom, again, modern and recently remodeled. Our room was one of those on the second floor. Beds were extremely comfortable and the room was light and a good size.

Yvonne prepared a delicious breakfast each morning with made to order eggs should you wish. Both sisters were so helpful...Renate picked us up at the train station and both provided answers to questions via email prior to our trip. We tried a few restaurants recommended on their website and all were delicious.

I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend the guest house to anyone looking for a change from the chain hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: The loft is the only room with a private bath, so book the loft if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NANCYJ714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
700 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Orion
Thon Hotel Orion
#14 of 49 in Bergen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to To Sostre Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about To Sostre Guesthouse

Address: Nedre Stoelen 4 C, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range: £62 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — To Sostre Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 2009, To Sostre ("Two Sisters") is a charming family run guesthouse situated in the historic centre of Bergen. This traditional wooden house lies in a quiet, cobbled street and is just a short walk (5min) from the city’s historic water front and UNESCO world heritage site – "Bryggen." We offer comfortable rooms and a family suite, with a wholesome breakfast, including homemade breads and local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your To Sostre Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
To Sostre Guesthouse Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing