We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thursday evening meal”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #221 of 375 Restaurants in Bergen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sentrum
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Thursday evening meal”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I wanted to have chinese food this evening and chose this restaurant. I have eaten here some years ago and remembered it as a nice place. I was not disappointed this time either, The restaurant was crowded with people, but I didn't wait long for a table. Service was good and fast and the food was really good. I had a mixed course and when they brought it to the table it could easily have been dinner for two people. Nice price and plenty of food. I was really full when I left.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    51
    55
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for cheap food”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This place serves American-style Chinese food at a reasonable price, so you know it won't be top-shelf dining. It gets five stars because of the low prices, the great service, the central location and the nice atmosphere. The food is good, taking all of the above into account, and I've never been disappointed coming here. They have a lunch menu that offers smaller portions at a lower price before 5 pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StoutGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK Chinese food”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The place is located on the second floor, the atmosphere is cozy.
Service is helpful and rapid.
The food was really nothing to write home about, typical Chinese that we see in the west, very average quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZoombaSBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
199 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Central, crowded, a bit pricey and average food.

Actually the atmosphere was quite good. Sitting alone, being in town on business, the pace and feel to this place was interesting. The waiters almost running from table to table, doing their best to deliver. I had a nice full hour in this place, eating a quite average (and bit dry) meal.

Funny, I guess it took less than 2 minutes from ordering till my meal was on the table.

And btw, my empty glass of beer was left on my table to keep me company for the duration of my stay.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Greate Asian food!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is maybe one of the best asian food places I have visited! The service was excellent. We got a window seat on request and was served quickly. The food was good! Ate spring rolls, roasted duck and Chop Suey. I will recommend this restaurant to everyone who's visiting Bergen!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miramar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing