We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in June. the room was small but certainly adequate for one person, and it was very clean. The staff were delightful, especially on reception, as when I had a problem they were extremely helpful.

Breakfast was ample, and the offerings were varied. Sitting eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the lovely waterfront is enchanting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_J_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back to Bergen!

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    445
    126
    34
    12
See reviews for
186
544
61
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We are coming to the end of 4 great days in Bergen. The Clarion Admiral Hotel is in an ideal location and very comfortable. The decor is inviting and the breakfast superb. We arrived in the evening to a very tiny room, but fortunately we were moved to another bigger room thanks to the girls at reception. I am sure my review would have been less glowing if we had not moved. We could hardly unpack in the first room. Nowhere to put anything.
It's a great place to stay and the staff are very happy and obliging.
Incidentally, the weather was terrific, 18 degrees every day.

Room Tip: Don't accept a tiny room. They have other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. All the best from all of us Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back til Bergen and Clarion Hotel Admiral.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After 25 hours in planes, to drag myself into this hotel and be greeted by cheerful staff, cake (it was May 17th, National Day) and a gorgeous room with a balcony right on the water with the best view of Bergen ... let's just say I felt so invigorated and inspired that I went straight and got amongst it (as soon as I finished my cake).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank work4travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful feedback!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My room was lovely. This is the Perfect hotel for trips to Bergen!

Lovely view from the room, huges breakfast table With all sorts of Food, warm and Cold. You can have Your breakfast outside if the wheather is Nice.

The staff are very kind and I will definately come back NeXT time I og to Bergen.



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful feedback!

We hope to see you again soon at Clarion Hotel Admiral.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice hotel. The rooms are upgraded (or in the process...)

Confusing elevetor, old floorplan (romantic ?)

Friendly staff and very good breakfast overlooking the busy but historic harbour.

As always, Choic Hotels never disapoints

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BioLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back!

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in May. Have to say, the location is excellent - just a short walk from the centre of town. The room we had was 522. It had a terrific view over the harbour and being a corner room we had double aspect windows. The (private) terrace was super too. Breakfast was included which - considering how expensive the city is - was a boon. There were a few oddities though. Despite emailing the hotel in advance to confirm if the room would have a safe (and them confirming it) the room had no safe. That was annoying. Also, the room floors had ice machines (great) but the room had no ice bucket (not so great). There was plenty tea, coffee and suger, but never any milk. We only had a bathroom floor mat on day one, but after that, no. That said, the underfloor heating in the bathroom was fantastic. So, despite a few niggles, I would certainly recommend and return to the Clarion.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbour view, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback.
We have 104 rooms with safe, and we also have a safe in our reception for our guests, sorry we did'nt inform you about this.
Regarding the ice-machin we have ice bucket next to the machin.

Welcome back to us.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is one of the better hotels in Bergen and to find any negative Things to highlight is hard. However at this stay the wireless internet coverage was poor at my room 538.
Breakfast is great and I assume the Food from the restaurant is great too, I did not eat there this time but I have had Food from it at earlier stays.
The hotel is missing a relax Department such as swimmingpool or spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ole-kristian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.

We know we will never have as good a gym as a proper fitness centre, and we are not in a position to offer the wide variety of innovative group sessions that are so popular. We have therefore chosen, instead, to join forces with Actic fitness centre a short walk from the hotel. A daily pass costs NOK 95 for guests staying at the hotel, and includes access to workout equipment, group sessions and a pool. In some of our rooms after the renovation we have experienced poor wireless internet coverage, but we are working on it and hope that it will be solved soon.

Welcome back!

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 49 in Bergen
299 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Admiral

Property: Clarion Hotel Admiral
Address: C. Sundts gate 9, Bergen 5004, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#3 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Admiral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Admiral finished a large renovation in May 2014. The hotel is right in the center of Bergen City, with a view featuring Bryggen and Fløyen Mountain. Enjoy lunch and dinner served in the restaurant Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson.Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen is situated in a traditional pack house that dates back to 1904. The dignified old building opened as a hotel in 1987. A stay at Clarion Hotel Admiral is the perfect starting point for Bergen’s unique city life; shopping, concerts, theatre and dining.The staff at Clarion Hotel Admiral fully understand that a genuine presence and individual care form the basis of passionate hotel management. Our creative employees will do everything they can to make your visit a memorable experience. This is how we manage to create such an intimate atmosphere in the heart of Bergen.In the hotels bar and restaurant, Kitchen & Table, we offer a diverse menu with influences from Manhattan - and Bergen. Afterwards you can relax in our salon with a glass of wine, cocktail, beer or a cup of coffee.We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, and free coffee/tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Bergen
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing