We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location. renovated room !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great location. renovated room !”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed two nights and loved the room. very modern design, very pleasant, there was no view from our window but no noise as others were complaining about.
breakfast was nice but not enough staff to handle the amount of guests they had.
the location is really great. will go again if in this nice city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antarcticanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear AntarcticanG

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you got to experience the view of the harbour during breakfast. The breakfast should always have enough staff, and we appologize if this was not the case during your visit.

We welcome you back to Clarion Hotel Admiral if you ever come back to Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    398
    109
    28
    10
See reviews for
160
472
56
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located to the city, the shopping areas, to the fish market and several restaurants. Our stay started with an extremely friendly receptionist who made us feel welcome. In general the entire stuff of the Clarion Hotel Admiral is very friendly and helped us with good tips and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. On the downside, the superior room was rather small and hardly suitable for two people with larger suitcases. In addition, the air-condition had a hard time to cool down the room, which was a pity since we stayed in Bergen during a period what you can call a heat wave. On the upside, the view is spectacular. Where can you take a shower and look at Bryggen and watch the activities in the harbor.
The breakfast is excellent and one of the best we ever had in a hotel. Because of the great weather we could have it on the porch overlooking the harbor.
It is a lovely hotel and we would always come back as long as we get a room with a harbor view.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Bernhard S

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear our staff made a good impression on you, that you enjoyed the views and got to experience Bergen with such a great weather. When the sun is shining directly into the rooms, they might be a bit hot, but luckily it get's cooler in the evenings and night. We hope the warm weather did not interupt your sleep.

We welcome you back any time, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen,Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A really good hotel. Efficient and friendly reception staff. Room on the small side, but functional. Restaurant and bar area has been upgraded to a high standard. A couple of negatives though: My wife were ordering some beernuts at the bar. She was shown a box by the bartender and told that they were the only ones they had. Fair enough, so she ordered some. When looking at the bill she found that the glass of nuts cost 65 NOK, which is a disgustingly high price, even by Bergen standards. When asking if she could only have half, she was told that it couldnt be done, as the transaction had already gone through the system. I swear, it was the worst beernuts I have ever tasted, and I ended up throwing them to the seagulls outside the hotel. Why not start selling regular peanuts/chilli nuts like the rest of the hotel/pubs in town, insted of some fancy "upmarket" crap? Also, we had some problems while ordering coctails at the bar. The bartender was clearly not fully trained, and also quite defensive when we tried to order a coctail that they couldnt make because they didnt have the ingredients. At a hotel like this, you expect to be treated well, but unfortunately we felt that the customer service at the bar was below par. Other than that, we were really happy with our stay.

Room Tip: 211 is a quiet room with balcony. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit in July.

We are pleased to hear you mainly found your stay pleasant. I'm sorry to hear you didnt find our beernuts to your taste.
Our beernuts are made here in our restaurant, and our recipe are "fine tuned" all the time. Feedback both positive and negative are apreciated and taken into consideration.
In general we get lots of positive feedback on the recepie, from our guests. In this case I have passed your feedback to the kitchen team.

The price is set to reflect the raw materials we use and the time we spend making it. We are using only the best supliers of nuts and berries in our mixes, and the seasoning are carefully picked out for your enjoyment.

Regarding service in general in our hotel bar. We are sorry to hear you felt the bartender was "defensive", and that is clearly not the way we want to stand out. It is extremely important for us that our guests leave our hotel, feeling they have had a pleasant stay on all levels. Clearly this was not the case here.

We appreciate that you have taken time to write this, and we are taking this into consideration.

Welcome back to Clarion Hotel Admiral

Best Regards
Martin Christensen
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a fabulous location close to the fish markets, shops and a 5 minute walk to the airport bus. The staff were excellent and the whole style is very chic modern!

Our only issue was that the twin share mattresses are not stuck on very well so I literally rolled out of bed and landed on the floor!! Buffet breakfast was packed with scores of mature Americans so we opted out but honestly it's a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Torsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback.
We will check our twin mattresses, thank you for making us aware of it.
All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back to Bergen.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

All in all a good hotell to stay in for a reasonable price. Exelent service for good customers with the Choise club benefits. I can warmly recomend this hotel for couples ans friends. Breakfast was good, with a big selection of healthy foods and ecological. A nice porch arround the front of the hotel facing the "Vågen" in Bergen. A beautiful view and place to have a drink, relax and enjoy someone's company.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Even H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback! All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back!

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We absolutely love Bergen, and the perfect location of the Clarion Admiral played a big role in that. Great site on the waterfront right across from Bryggen and close to the Fish Market. The desk staff are very helpful, and the included breakfast is among the best I've ever had at a hotel. The room is clean, nice bathroom/shower, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only downsides: our room was very small, with no means of cooling except to open the windows (which wasn't enough to keep it from getting overly warm during the night). Our room on the 5th floor was quiet but our companions on the 3rd floor had a lot of noise coming through their window.

Room Tip: Possible to request air conditioning? Higher floor to reduce noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback.
All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back to Bergen.

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in June. the room was small but certainly adequate for one person, and it was very clean. The staff were delightful, especially on reception, as when I had a problem they were extremely helpful.

Breakfast was ample, and the offerings were varied. Sitting eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the lovely waterfront is enchanting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_J_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. All the best from us at Clarion Hotel Admiral.
Welcome back to Bergen!

Best Regards
Renate Christin Gangdal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
484 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
526 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
503 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Admiral

Property: Clarion Hotel Admiral
Address: C. Sundts gate 9, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#3 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Admiral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Admiral finished a large renovation in May 2014. The hotel is right in the center of Bergen City, with a view featuring Bryggen and Fløyen Mountain. Enjoy lunch and dinner served in the restaurant Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson.Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen is situated in a traditional pack house that dates back to 1904. The dignified old building opened as a hotel in 1987. A stay at Clarion Hotel Admiral is the perfect starting point for Bergen’s unique city life; shopping, concerts, theatre and dining.The staff at Clarion Hotel Admiral fully understand that a genuine presence and individual care form the basis of passionate hotel management. Our creative employees will do everything they can to make your visit a memorable experience. This is how we manage to create such an intimate atmosphere in the heart of Bergen.In the hotels bar and restaurant, Kitchen & Table, we offer a diverse menu with influences from Manhattan - and Bergen. Afterwards you can relax in our salon with a glass of wine, cocktail, beer or a cup of coffee.We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, and free coffee/tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Bergen
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing