We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen, Norway--Nice Hotel but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Ark533
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen, Norway--Nice Hotel but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. The hotel is close to everything in Bergen. The family room (for 3 of us) was very tight. No air-conditioning was in the room. Bathroom was big and nice.
Breakfast at the balcony overlooking the water and the town was very nice even though there were lot of people. Staff was very nice and efficient. Over all, it was a good stay and we would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ark533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ark533

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. We are happy to hear you mostly enjoyed your stay. Breakfast outside on a sunny morning can really be quite magic :)

We hope to see you again in Bergen and at the Clarion Hotel Admiral soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    391
    107
    28
    10
See reviews for
156
462
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location close to many great spots in Bergen. It is also an easy 10 minute walk to the train and bus station. They have a nice buffet breakfast with outdoor seating on the water. All day long water and coffee in the lobby. There is free wifi as well. The room we stayed in was quite small and I had to lift my suitcase over the bed to get it in the room. The room and bathroom was clean. The bed was very comfortable with more than one pillow. Overall a good stay in Bergen.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meeshs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Meeshs12

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. We really appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you had a good stay with us, and would like to take the opportunity to welcome you back to Bergen and Clarion Hotel Admiral.

We wish you an amazing summer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
328 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed three nights to delagify ourselves after an overnight three-hopper from Hartford, CT.

We enjoyed every minute.

Meter your foot travels over the hard and irregular footing in Bergen to save your feet for the mountain hiking.

The self-service coffee was superb and always available.

The only decaf coffee was instant.

Room Tip: We loved our fifth floor corner room facing the Bryggen (Hanseatic Village).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear DrBillCorcoran

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. We welcome you back any time.

We wish you a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel during the Tall ships races.I made the booking 2 years ago, knowing all hotels would be full. Thus hotel is at the waterfront, so getting a room overlooking the harbor was my goal! Do not know if it would have been necessary to, therefore, already book 2 years in advance, but I got the room I wanted! And that I call service!
Furthermore a compliment to night manager mr Mohanned, who gave very good service!

The hotel is the usual good Scandinavian quality: sumptuous breakfast buffet, nice duvet on the bed, clean!

Thank you for enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room overlooking tge harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Polarlys

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad you had a great stay in Bergen, and got to experience the Tall Ships Races 2014. It was magic. We will make sure Mr. Mohanned see's this.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice hotel, close to the city center in Bergen.
Had dinner in the restaurant wich was very good. The hotel lobby looks nice. Comfy bed and kleen. Nice staff. All over and ok stay, I would come back...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Christine A

Thank you for this great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and your meal at our restaurant, Kitchen & Table. We welcome you back whenever you are in Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice hotel, located near the harbor and the fish market and not far from the Airport bus stops.. Our room was large & renovated and furnished with nice modern design. The bed was exceptionally big & comfortable
Breakfast was great but lack of staff to handle the amount of guests they had. Would like to stay here again if ever in Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antarcticanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear AntarcticanG

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your room. The hotel finished a large renovation in May, so most rooms in the hotel are "brand new", including the beds. The breakfast should always have enough staff, and we appologize if this was not the case during your visit.

We welcome you back to Clarion Hotel Admiral if you ever come back to Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed two nights and loved the room. very modern design, very pleasant, there was no view from our window but no noise as others were complaining about.
breakfast was nice but not enough staff to handle the amount of guests they had.
the location is really great. will go again if in this nice city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antarcticanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate Christin G, Manager at Clarion Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear AntarcticanG

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you got to experience the view of the harbour during breakfast. The breakfast should always have enough staff, and we appologize if this was not the case during your visit.

We welcome you back to Clarion Hotel Admiral if you ever come back to Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Admiral

Property: Clarion Hotel Admiral
Address: C. Sundts gate 9, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#3 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Admiral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Admiral finished a large renovation in May 2014. The hotel is right in the center of Bergen City, with a view featuring Bryggen and Fløyen Mountain. Enjoy lunch and dinner served in the restaurant Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson.Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen is situated in a traditional pack house that dates back to 1904. The dignified old building opened as a hotel in 1987. A stay at Clarion Hotel Admiral is the perfect starting point for Bergen’s unique city life; shopping, concerts, theatre and dining.The staff at Clarion Hotel Admiral fully understand that a genuine presence and individual care form the basis of passionate hotel management. Our creative employees will do everything they can to make your visit a memorable experience. This is how we manage to create such an intimate atmosphere in the heart of Bergen.In the hotels bar and restaurant, Kitchen & Table, we offer a diverse menu with influences from Manhattan - and Bergen. Afterwards you can relax in our salon with a glass of wine, cocktail, beer or a cup of coffee.We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, and free coffee/tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Bergen
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing