We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and delicate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Holberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Holberg
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and delicate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a hotel in quiet area. Its about 10 minutes to walk to "Fisketorget". My room was delicate and a bit "homey", Excellent breakfast and good service. My only objection is that it is no coffe/tee facilities on the rom - even thoug it is always available by the reseption. A nice stay - I will use this hotell again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Hello Mona E.
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kinds words. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    314
    274
    115
    54
See reviews for
143
364
65
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

As a regular traveller to Bergen for work I have stayed in many hotel's here. However my experience in the Holberg hotel was very poor. Rooms poorly cleaned and the breakfast very poor. Most mornings they would run out of Orange juice or bread or coffe etc. Often there were no cups available at the coffee machine. Staff were also very unhelpful and it appears that there favourite sentence was "I'm sorry sir, it,s finished! This is one Comfort hotel I won't be returning to anytime soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MCTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Hello MCTME.
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about your negative experience. Clean rooms and a good breakfast are essential parts of our effort to constantly provide our guests with the best possible stay. We will therefore investigate the complaints in your feedback with the respective departments. Feedback from our guests helps us to never stop developing ourselves. I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Gjovik, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Second time in this hotel in one month. This is NOT good.
Last time the dirty towels from the last customers was still in my cleaned up room. Leaking shower head and missing hooks for the towels.

This time, hair from the last customer or the cleaning lady was both on the toilet and in the shower.

The bathroom and shower is like Warzawa when I was there in 1991..

Small tv, lousy quality on the screen (hotel cables) and they are missing a lot of channels I would expect in 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howieboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hello Howieboy68.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience with us.

The situation with the dirty towels was clearly a breach in our routines and should never have happened. The shower head and hooks were fixed as soon as you told us about it in your questback survey, thank you for that. Feedback from our guests is an important tool for us in our effort to offer the best possible hotel experience.

We strive to maintain a high level of cleanliness. Hair in the bathroom is obviously also a breach of our routines and will be investigated further with our housekeeping department.

We have always had good feedback regarding our TV’s and channel selection. If there are certain channels you would like, please tell us about it on our Facebookpage and we will examine the possibility of getting it.

We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We felt very welcome when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms were a bit small, but ok. The location is very good. Good value! There is free coffe and tea to bring to your room. Walking distance to the aquarium and the city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello Anne H.

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kind words.

We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have Choice club Gold card & my boyfriend with Silver card. We have 3 rooms for me ,my kids ,my mom & my sister but when I ask for upgrade the girl in reception tell me she can upgrade for 1 room. We arrived around 10:00 AM 28Mar13. When I ask where we can eat she give us the discount card of Chilli bar & restaurant and show us the way to the other Chilli bar & restaurant about 15' walk away(Because Easter so the one in the hotel was closed) But when we get there it was closed also. The rooms have dust on the tables & chairs. When my boyfriend arrive in the afternoon he saw nobody at reception so he just went straight to the room. Breakfast was at 6:30-9:30, but at 9:00 some of the food was empty and wasn't refilled. The next morning when we check out, I ask the receipt for my point from the reception 's girl, who just allowed me to have point for 2 rooms when I tell her I can have points for my own stay & my family she answer me I just can have points for myself & my children under 12years old . I ask her if I can't have points for the 3th room so I want it for my boyfriend's card but she denied. She tell me he must stay at the hotel,I show him to her when he pick up our baggage but she still not agree. Don't want to argue to a person who doesn't know what's her job so that I ask for the receipt of hotel but she tell me it was on my booking & doesn't give receipt for the 3th room. So disappointed! When I check my profile the next day I see my point was minus & adding for that 2rooms.It mean I have no point for that 2 rooms. I'll never ever back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hello Ann H.

First of all I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that your experience was so unsatisfying.

Our ability to upgrade our guests depends entirely on availability, we simply can not upgrade if we do not have available superior rooms.

Our in-house restaurant Chilli was closed over the Easter holydays, but they do in fact have two other restaurants in Bergen. Why you where sent to a closed one I don’t know, but must be due to some form of miscommunication. For that I apologize. Luckily there a plenty of other good restaurants in the City Centre.

Regarding the bonus points, the rules from Nordic Choice Club - which you have agreed to - are very clear: “A member can never earn bonus points for another person’s or another member’s transaction(s). Bonus points are awarded, however, if, in connection with your stay, you book an extra room for family members from within the same household”.
In other words, our receptionist was simply following protocol. Also, receipts for prepaid rooms, like the ones you had booked, are automatically given via e-mail. If additional documentation is needed, this must be provided by Nordic Choice customer service.
For more information about membership rules, please visit the Nordic Choice website.

Again, I am sorry for your negative impression and hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Value for money hotel centrally located in Bergen.This was my first stay at this hotel and served the purpose during my two-day business visit.Free coffee/tea and friendly staff. Very clean room even though the size was among the smallest I have ever stayed in. Even so, I plan to stay at this hotel also in the future. The only thing I missed was an information package about Bergen in the room. All in all, highly recommeneded.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hello Dag N! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you stay with us was satisfying. Information booklets about Bergen (in several different languages) can be found in the lobby. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Usually I try to book at this hotel when I'm in Bergen. First of all it is a Choice Hotel and it is very close to the center. Prices are also nice. This time I'm here for 7 nights. Good service and breakfast. The restaurant is called Chilli and they have great Tapas and pizzas. Choice have several great hotels in Bergen, but this one is the one I like the best.

Room Tip: Rooms 416, 516, 616 and 717 gives a view out against the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Hello jechstra! Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kind words! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#11 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Holberg

Property: Comfort Hotel Holberg
Address: Strandgaten 190, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Holberg is the choice for travelers wanting to live in modern surroundings for an affordable price. The hotel is situated within a short walking distance from the biggest tourist attractions, shopping facilities and theatres in Bergen city center. The rooftop terrace is a hidden gem in Bergen. 149 Rooms, 4 conference room, lounge and reception. The three meeting rooms can fit 25-70 participants with class seating, and the board room can fit 12. In the hotel you will find Chilli Bar & Restaurant, which is one of the best tapas restaurants in the city. Comfort Hotel Holberg offers smart service solutions like for example wireless internet, free coffee/tea from buffet at all hours and coffee to go. Breakfast buffet with healthy options, and a lobby shop with snacks and softdrinks. There is also a small garage where spaces can be pre-booked. The hotel is an urban, efficient and affordable alternative in the Bergen city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Hotel Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bergen
Comfort Inn Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing