We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Holberg
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Voss Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel was actually quiet, and the beds were great.
But the room was small, the bathroom was not great.
The cleanliness was not good, someone had clearly spilled something, and it was not cleaned properly.
Breakfast was good, but not to much to choose from.

All in all, ok for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hello karitha.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We apologize if the cleanliness in your room was unsatisfying; we will follow this up with our housekeeping department. We constantly strive to keep all of our rooms up to our – and the guests- high standards. It was, however, very nice to hear that you enjoyed our beds and appreciated the quietness in our hotel. We most certainly want to give our guests a better experience than “just ok”. We hope you will give us a chance to improve your perception of us the next time you visit Bergen.

Have a magnificent summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    328
    288
    120
    60
See reviews for
147
378
68
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel, by impression, is lame... But happily inside, it's not the same!

Hey Guys, Oddvar here, and this time i'll be rating this hotel - Comfort Hotel Holberg

As i said in the "intro" Comfort Hotel Holberg is just a brick house.. with an entrance.. luckily, this is not how it really is.
Though the lobby is small, the location is wierd and Bergen' weather might not always be the best, this hotel scores high.

With free internet/wi-fi, good beds, TV, a nice bathroom, and parket floors... it's just luxorious!
The rooms are nice and clean, bathroom is not too small, but not to big either, and a reasonable price for the Norwegian market at this standard, it's worthy a stay.

You can walk to everything you want to,cruising the world known cobblestone roads of Bergen, and watch both old fasion and modern stores, while enjoying the weather or just the fresh Norwegian air!
- Within a distance of about a kilometre,you'll find possibilities to - shopping, eat nice dinners both cheap and expensive, enjoy the sun in parks (lille lungegaardsvann), going to the theatre, taking a glass of whine or a cold beer, observing different boats at the dockside, or witness the majestich ship Statsraad lehmkuhl at close distance. The possibilities are great!

As a food lover myself, I always love ending my reviews with a "column" dedicated to the hotels breakfast.

- Comfort Hotel Holberg' breakfast... YUMMY!! :D This hotel serves a great great great breakfast consisting of everything from cereals to newly amde crunchy bread, to hot dishes.. It's like the song "Let meeeee, entertain you" ... That sounded wierd, indeed, but anyway GREAT BREAKFAST

(Give me a helpful vote and i'll be sure to detail you about everything you need to know of where i've bee)
- Oddvar, over and out!

Room Tip: Just let them do the work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Norway16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hello Oddvar.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel, and for your kind words! Reviews like yours inspire and motivates us to keep doing our very best to offer all of our guests the best possible hotel experience. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Nice and quiet hotell but very small rooms and even smaller bathroom. (when you have to move the sink to the outside of the bathroom - then it is small) Poor TV-signal and few channels made it impossible to watch TV, used my computer instead because the Internetlink was good.
Good breakfast, nice people working in the reception area still made the stay nice. Will proably be booking here also next time I am in bergen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hello Gravert.
Thank you for your stay and for reviewing our hotel!
Our rooms are maybe not the biggest, partly because we target ourselves towards guests who want to spend most of their time exploring the wonderful city of Bergen instead of in their hotel room. The solution with a separate room for the toilet and shower is simply so that these can be used while others are using the basin. However, some of our rooms are bigger than the rest, and include hardwood floors, a bathtub, and a balcony with a view for an extra fee. You are welcome to try them the next time you visit us. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a hotel in quiet area. Its about 10 minutes to walk to "Fisketorget". My room was delicate and a bit "homey", Excellent breakfast and good service. My only objection is that it is no coffe/tee facilities on the rom - even thoug it is always available by the reseption. A nice stay - I will use this hotell again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Hello Mona E.
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kinds words. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

As a regular traveller to Bergen for work I have stayed in many hotel's here. However my experience in the Holberg hotel was very poor. Rooms poorly cleaned and the breakfast very poor. Most mornings they would run out of Orange juice or bread or coffe etc. Often there were no cups available at the coffee machine. Staff were also very unhelpful and it appears that there favourite sentence was "I'm sorry sir, it,s finished! This is one Comfort hotel I won't be returning to anytime soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MCTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Hello MCTME.
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about your negative experience. Clean rooms and a good breakfast are essential parts of our effort to constantly provide our guests with the best possible stay. We will therefore investigate the complaints in your feedback with the respective departments. Feedback from our guests helps us to never stop developing ourselves. I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Gjovik, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Second time in this hotel in one month. This is NOT good.
Last time the dirty towels from the last customers was still in my cleaned up room. Leaking shower head and missing hooks for the towels.

This time, hair from the last customer or the cleaning lady was both on the toilet and in the shower.

The bathroom and shower is like Warzawa when I was there in 1991..

Small tv, lousy quality on the screen (hotel cables) and they are missing a lot of channels I would expect in 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howieboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hello Howieboy68.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience with us.

The situation with the dirty towels was clearly a breach in our routines and should never have happened. The shower head and hooks were fixed as soon as you told us about it in your questback survey, thank you for that. Feedback from our guests is an important tool for us in our effort to offer the best possible hotel experience.

We strive to maintain a high level of cleanliness. Hair in the bathroom is obviously also a breach of our routines and will be investigated further with our housekeeping department.

We have always had good feedback regarding our TV’s and channel selection. If there are certain channels you would like, please tell us about it on our Facebookpage and we will examine the possibility of getting it.

We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We felt very welcome when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms were a bit small, but ok. The location is very good. Good value! There is free coffe and tea to bring to your room. Walking distance to the aquarium and the city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello Anne H.

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kind words.

We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#30 of 46 in Bergen
658 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Neptun
#24 of 46 in Bergen
858 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Orion
Thon Hotel Orion
#36 of 46 in Bergen
3 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 46 in Bergen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Holberg

Property: Comfort Hotel Holberg
Address: Strandgaten 190, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Holberg is the choice for travelers wanting to live in modern surroundings for an affordable price. The hotel is situated within a short walking distance from the biggest tourist attractions, shopping facilities and theatres in Bergen city center. The rooftop terrace is a hidden gem in Bergen. 159 Rooms, lounge and Barception. Comfort Hotel Holberg offers smart service solutions like for example free wireless internet. Breakfast buffet with healthy options, and a lobby shop with snacks and softdrinks. There is also a small garage where spaces can be pre-booked. The hotel is an urban, efficient and affordable alternative in the Bergen city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bergen
Comfort Inn Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing