We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Comfort Holberg Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Holberg
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Comfort Holberg Hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was very satisfied with the standard of the hotel related to the cost.
The room was good. food was good. Service was good.
Location of the hotel is a bit away from the city senter bus stations.
But will recomend the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ragnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Ragnar N. Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Have a nice day, you’re welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    318
    276
    115
    56
See reviews for
143
369
66
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was surprised when I walked into this hotel as it felt more like a hostel then a hotel with no real lounge area and the unfriendly staff didn't help but the next morning the staff had changed and we really enjoyed the varied and excellent breakfast in the nicely designed restaurant. Our room was small but we enjoyed the view over the rooftops of some quaint houses. It was also clean and the design was modern. The water only reached lukewarm in the shower but when I asked about it the reception staff said they had never been told this and they did nothing about it. The hotel seemed at first in a more isolated part of the harbor area but is a 5 minute walk to the fish market and great stores, there are also restaurants nearby. Nice that signs encourage drinking regular tap water.

Room Tip: Only the elevator on the left reaches the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElanaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello ElanaJean.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! However, we sincerely apologize if you found some of our staff to be unfriendly. Customer service is the corner stone of our industry so naturally this is one of our highest priorities. We will look into this with the reception staff.

It is in fact true that we very rarely get complaints about the temperature in our showers, as we recently replaced our water heaters. We will off course have our maintenance crew inspect this immediately.

We wish you a good day and hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reignier, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A great little hotel, ideally situated, only a few minutes walk from Bergen port, central Bergen and the main tourist attractions. And, as always with the Comfort hotels, an incredibly friendly and helpful staff! There's a little terrace on the roof which is quite good during a sunny evening for a quick drink before heading out for the night. Great breakfast also, all the more enjoyable considering the cost of eating out in Norway. The only (small) drawback is that this hotel could do with a little bit of refurbishment and the rooms could do with a bit of a painting! Other than that ... fantastic hotel considering the low cost! Once again ... Comfort hotel chain rules it all!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello Laurent V.

Thank you so much for your stay and for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here!

PS: We are currently in the planning stage of a major refurbishment set to take place sometime in the next year.

Have a nice day, we hope to see you again the next time you visit Bergen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a good hotel - nice room, balcony (but most rooms don't have one), great breakfast, clean, friendly staff. All in all very good, and good value for money, especially for Norway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Maria N.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you if you ever visit Bergen again.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a comfortabel hotel. The room was not that specious but clean and tidy. The breakfast was a reasonable buffet with al the standards. The location is little off from all the key attractions but whitin walking distance. The airport bus does not stop here so prepare to walk 8 min.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Douglas G.

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

Unfortunately, the airport shuttle buss that used to stop outside our hotel, Flybuss Bergen, recently went out of business as they were no longer permitted to park outside the airport. However, the nearest bus stop for the regular airport shuttle is, like you wrote; only about an eight minute walk from our doorstep.
That being said, we believe that there will be room for an extra shuttle when Bergen Airport completes their ongoing expansion, so that once again our guests can take the bus directly to and from our hotel.

We hope to see you the next time you visit Bergen. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good location (Bergen is fairly small and everywhere is walking distance) and fantastic value for money. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options. Room wasn't particularly large but fine for two people. It would have been a squash however if we had the sofa bed folded out for a third person (this was our original plan). Hotel is probably starting to date however the room was very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Kirsten B.

Thank you for staying with us and or taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you the next time you visit Bergen.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I couldn't fault the hotel, it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for a good value base. The breakfast was great and perfect to fill you up before a day of exploring. The location was perfect, just away from the noise of the bars and pubs but so close to the centre to access everything and go exploring the mountains.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for very good value and comfortable base when in Norway, would stay again if we ever returned.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubexd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello rubexd!

Thank you so much for staying with us, for taking the time to review our property, and for your kind words! We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

Have a beautiful day, we hope to see you if you’re ever in Bergen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Orion (Bergen Brygge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Holberg

Property: Comfort Hotel Holberg
Address: Strandgaten 190, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Holberg is the choice for travelers wanting to live in modern surroundings for an affordable price. The hotel is situated within a short walking distance from the biggest tourist attractions, shopping facilities and theatres in Bergen city center. The rooftop terrace is a hidden gem in Bergen. 149 Rooms, lounge and reception. Comfort Hotel Holberg offers smart service solutions like for example free wireless internet. Breakfast buffet with healthy options, and a lobby shop with snacks and softdrinks. There is also a small garage where spaces can be pre-booked. The hotel is an urban, efficient and affordable alternative in the Bergen city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bergen
Comfort Inn Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing