We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a hotel in need of some TLC, but the people make up for it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Norge
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is a hotel in need of some TLC, but the people make up for it.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was rather a last minute break we booked, so we didn't have a massive selection of hotels to choose from, however the Hotel Norge seemed central and was quite reasonable cost wise, so we went for it.

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year and to be honest, Bergen was very VERY quiet. A lot of things were shut for the Christmas Holidays (including the Tourist Information) but nonetheless we found enough to do.

Stine and Andre at the hotel were absolutely great and they really went the 'extra mile' to find answers to our questions and requirements - Stine especially was a real star and kindly gave us a room upgrade (Business Class) - So thank you! Every morning we were greeted with a smile from the Breakfast team and there was always a very fresh and wide selection of foods to choose from. Probably too much! :)

The Maids who took care of the room were 1st rate and always did their 'magic' tidying up our junk! even the (Spanish?) gentleman who checked the mini-bar was lovely. As I say, people make a stay.

The Hotel is in a great location and does look a little tired in places, I try to take a pragmatic view that we perhaps all have different ideas of what is fashionable and trendy from different parts of the world, however it could do with being 'jazzed up' a bit and made to look a little more contemporary and modern.

The most important thing for me was a good, quiet nights sleep in a clean, comfortable room in a safe neighbourhood. This hotel delivered on this fully - THANKS Hotel Norge!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lille Lungegårdsvannet - its a lovely view from the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorflemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your long and detailed review, we really appreciate this. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we will forward your nice comments about our staff)).
We hope that you will come back another time, maybe in the spring/summer season, when it is extra beautiful in Bergen.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
On behalf of the entire team-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    326
    357
    226
    106
See reviews for
275
303
73
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this hotel with trepidation for New Year having read some of the reviews here. We needn't have worried at all. The staff throughout were polite and helpful and we encountered no problems. Our room (415) was clean and more than big enough for our family of two children (4 and 7) and two adults. It came complete with a generous seating area. The breakfast was immense and we ate our own body-weight in watermelon. The choice included pickled herring, mackerel, flat and crisp breads, pastries, cereal and a full cooked. The location is fantastic, with no more than a 10 minute walk to all the major sites. We read a comment about music from below. We weren't above the hotel's club but we did hear snippets of a piano and singing from a crooner's bar somewhere. This is in no way more than you would expect from any city centre location and didn't detract from our enjoyment - or sleep - at all. The hotel isn't brand new but we don't require everything to be so and we felt it makes up for it in charm. The pool and sauna were great too and the kids loved these.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your nice, positive and detailed feedback. And thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back another time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
On behalf of the entire hotel team-
our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It has an excellent location! Restaurants, shops, sightseeing points, even money exchange are within walking distance, but definitely, some refurbishment is needed.

Services' very good, staffs are polite and helpful, but the hotel itself's not so impressive, building and the rooms are old, overall, it's an average hotel, 5* for services but only 2* for the rooms, building etc...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinChoi129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are aware that the hotel need some upgrading, and this will be done in the near future. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we will forward your posotive comments to our staff.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

On behalf of the entire hotel team-
Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel probably has the best central location in Bergen - just a shame it is in dire need of a refurb. We had a twin room but the beds were so narrow I was always in danger of rolling out!
The breakfast although excellent - was far too busy to have any kind of a relaxing experience. The reception staff were OK - nothing special and wanted £40 for a room with a better view (which I declined). As everybody must know - Norway is incredibly expensive for food and drink. Peppes Pizza (just across the road) was great - but a large pizza was £29. Beer was approx £8 for a 400ml and cheapest house wine was approx £40. Elesewhere in Bergen Beer ranged from £7-£13. The Scotsman were doing 400ml on a Sunday for £4.80 - bargin!!! I would return to Bergen but would stay elsewhere unless the hotel is refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We apologize you were not completely satisfied with the condition of the hotel room during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued.
We are aware that parts of the hotel needs renovation, and this will happen in the near future.
Please contact us again directly if you will come back to Bergen, and we will make sure that your ttay will be excellent.

On behalf of our enire hotel team-

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is trying to its best with facilities it has. Right in the centre of Bergen, the location is very good. This time I got a room from the 80s. The bed was good, but the rest was at best a 3 star hotel level unfortunately. Ok breakfast, ok staff. Taxi chaos in the morning, but that is the same in all hotels in Bergen. Unfortunately, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Book a new room? Inside rooms face a banquet hall, so can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear guest, we apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We are aware that parts of the hotel and our rooms need some renovation, and this is under planning.
If you plan another stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, and we will make sure you will be satisfied with your hotelroom.
email: therese.t.steen@radissonblu.com


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We ve been there only for the buffet lunch. The variety was very poor!!. Two kind of meat, one rice, potato and salmon. Good variety of cold dishes. The quality was average. The dessert variety was hilarious - Whipped cream with chocolate flavour or banana served in a small glass , the same thing served in a cup biscuit .....
The price : 40 euro per person. OK in general norway is very expensice , but at this occasion was a huge gap between price and food quality and variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikosMavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. If you would like to discuss your concern further, please call us directly and ask for Therese Tefre Steen, Director of sales. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is good only if you want to earn some club carlson points...locations wise it is good but you have many another hotels within the 20 mtr radius..so unless you are interested in getting points I would recommend not to go for this..reasons as below
1)staff not interested in anything except collecting money
2)always check your bill upon checking out..if you notice your booking rate it is never a fixed price every day..on top of this,final bill will show a higher amount and if you point this out..hotel will blame their computer system..I have proof and if hotel or anyone want to challenge I can post the email from hotel here
3)they have no idea about loyalty programs ..no recognition or anything

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kap555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear guest. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We understand the inconvenience an unexpected charge can cause. Please contact Therese Steen, director of sales, at therese.t.steen@radissonblu.com directly if you require additional assistance in this matter. Further on we are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations during this stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further comments. Your feedback is really important to us.
On behalf of the entire hotel-team,

with our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Norge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Norge

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Norge
Address: Nedre Ole Bulls Plass 4 | Postboks 662, Bergen 5012, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Norge 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and centrally located hotel in Bergen. Adjacent to the city park, and within walking distance of the historical sites and modern shopping districts. Our rooms are all equipped to the very highest standards, where as 8 Suites/Junior Suites and 63 Business Class Rooms. We offer non-smoking rooms and rooms for persons with reduced mobility. Facilities include TV, radio, telephone, mini bar and room service, restaurants, bars, nightclub. We also have swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and well-equipped fitness room. For pure relaxation we recommend the homely atmosphere of the library. The airport bus stops just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Norge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing