We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Great location, Some items lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Norge
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great location, Some items lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

I was visiting Bergen as a tourist with my husband and 7 year old son. We stayed at the hotel because it has a pool, had decent ratings on the internet. and we were recommended to the hotel by a tour operator in Norway. The good part is the hotel room was excellent, the business class room was a good size and the shower had great pressure and bathroom was a comfortable size. However, little if no air came out of the vents, so virtually no air conditioner or circulation of air. This seems to be an issue in other hotels in Norway. Amenities were not supplied, ie, shower cap a bar of soap, qtips and hair conditioner. The business class room we were in was on the side of the hotel so the noise of the restaurants were not so bad. The breakfast was busy and there was a shortage of personnel. When I asked for artificial sweetener for coffee, I was pointed where to go, but there was no artificial sweetener around anywhere. Help was scarce, I asked two people to help me get some, neither did. Therefore I had none with my morning coffee.
The breakfast itself was very good, but again, it appeared the breakfast staff was there only to clear tables, not to help guests with any assistance.
The reception staff were pleasant but have limited knowledge about activities in town, it hindered me when I called from the United States to ask questions regarding renting bikes. When we came to town it appeared that the reception staff were not informed or trained in local activities or sites, which is wrong if the hotel does not have a concierge. One receptionist did not even know the hours of the Tourist Information Service, which is very important for them to know if they cannot give information about sites or activities. However, we enjoyed using the pool one night and found the hotel room comfortable. We got a good rate for the hotel, so it was well worth the stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    326
    357
    226
    106
See reviews for
275
303
73
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed here for one night while waiting to take the Hurtigruten Coastal Express.

We've stayed in a few Radisson's before but this one seemed to be a notch or two lower in quality. The interior of the hotel is pretty dark and felt like an outdated business hotel; it really needs refreshing. Check-in was slow, and the room wasn't that roomy. We found a leaking ceiling tile in the bathroom and when we tried to report it we found that the phone didn't work and neither did the desk light - also the prior guest's room card was still there! They did try to make it up to us by giving us some wine but I think that was just because we told them we were on honeymoon.

On the plus side, the location is very central and the breakfast was good.

I know that things are expensive in Norway, but there were a lot of other hotels in Bergen that were cheaper so I'd try them out before staying in this one.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Very central location - a couple restaurants and cafes a short walk away. 10 minute walk to the Funicular (an absolute must-see - most spectacular views) and the fish market. The Radisson here in Bergen is of an average standard. It caters for what you need on a basic level. Our room, although newly decorated, was quite bizarre with beads and funny lamps/cabinets - the bed was comfy. The bathroom - very disappointing... drizzly shower, which was filthy on arrival, there were 17 pubic hairs on the floor of the shower (i couldn't resist not counting) - from the previous guests. Made us wonder then if the sheets and towels had been changed! Really disgusting! Our window overlooked the interior of their conference centre - so no daylight or view. Fortunately only spending 1 night. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant - also of an average standard. The free in-room wifi for guests was the best part, but for the Radisson, I have to admit I expected a bit more - overall, a decent stay.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris_Imagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

we booked 2 double rooms for one night from 27 June 2009. First, when checking in, we were ignored for approx. 10 min and then the reservation was not found... however, with a printed booking confirmation, we managed to sort out that the booking was reserved on another name. The rooms we got were on 6th floor, both with twin bed instead of confirmed queen bed for one room, but no change possible as the hotel was fully booked. The rooms, the corridors and the bathrooms were quite worn, not to mention the noise coming up from the street. The hotel staff pretended the noise would soon stop, but after 1,5 hours there was no change and I was recommended to use ear plugs. However, after refusing to leave the front desk and explicitly asking and insisting on a room change, we eventually were changed to a business room on 9th floor, which had a small terrace but was smaller, newer and more quiet (despite the fact, that there were no new windows as told by the staff). Thus the night was saved, but poor aircondition in the room...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichsBonsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good with excellent selection. Location very central - on the other hand, Bergen center is small and most facilities are within walking distance wherever you stay.

On the negative side: The first day the newspaper didn't arrive (part of the service on business class). The espesso machine didn't work. The small bed lamps didn't work. Business class facilities was dispalyed on a small poster on the wall, and informed that the room was equipped with bathrobes and slippers. (in plural) But there were no slippers, and only one bathrobe.A bit irritating as one expect promises are kept.

To sum it up: Not bad, but a bit overprized, and a somewhat weak maintenance on room equipment. We stayed at room 739.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwegianHaugesund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

I work in Bergen, and have lived at hotels in Bergen for three years now. I have not been at all hotels, but try to find hotels that have a "miles-and-more" sort of program with the posiibility of abroad award stays. Therefore I have stayed in the following hotel chains:
Scandic (formerly owned by Hilton)
Thon
Radisson
Choice/Clarion/Comfort

For me Hotel Norge is ok for its location, but still not my choice downtown. The rooms are quite "old", and too many of the rooms have carpets (I prefer wooden floors due to the cleanliness).

The breakfast is average. The cleanliness is fair. The reception staff is helpful, but still only average. I have not tried the restaurant, but there is still plenty of good restaurants in town.

  • Liked — Loacation
  • Disliked — Old room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ovelaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

Our family of four stayed here one night in July. The business class rooms can accomodate four, so we took one of those. Despite a fairly high price (4590 NOK), the room was nothing special. We needed to close the curtains at night to keep out the midnight sun, but the air conditioning was so minimal that we were very uncomfortable. One of the nice things about the room is that it had a window that opened to let the fresh air in, but, as noted, once the curtains were closed we had no airflow. The indoor pool is inconvenient (you walk through a night club to get there) and cold, and there was no on there to help with towels (which we belatedly discovered needed to be brought from the room). The breakfast was plentiful. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, given the price, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — It was centrally located in Bergen
  • Disliked — the room was just okay, and the price was very high
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MGATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Norge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Norge

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Norge
Address: Nedre Ole Bulls Plass 4 | Postboks 662, Bergen 5012, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Norge 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and centrally located hotel in Bergen. Adjacent to the city park, and within walking distance of the historical sites and modern shopping districts. Our rooms are all equipped to the very highest standards, where as 8 Suites/Junior Suites and 63 Business Class Rooms. We offer non-smoking rooms and rooms for persons with reduced mobility. Facilities include TV, radio, telephone, mini bar and room service, restaurants, bars, nightclub. We also have swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and well-equipped fitness room. For pure relaxation we recommend the homely atmosphere of the library. The airport bus stops just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Norge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing