We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right hotel at Right place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
386 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Right hotel at Right place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here in 23rd to 26 th July 2013 , the location of this hotel is the best i believe , right on the wharf , the airport shuttle( every 30 min) drops you here the last point & starts from the hotel . Good breakfast though the breakfast area is bit squeezed . the "Filni " restaurant is quite interesting , a well balanced menu for food and drinks , good location , sitting option both indoor and out door.
Many other restaurants are around the wharf , the tourist information is 500 mtrs , the local sight seeing bus , toy train start around this , two of the main attraction are on the either side of the hotel.

Room Tip: As usual room facing the wharf the best .LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aditya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    838
    315
    92
    37
See reviews for
349
717
108
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Large comfortable rooms. Very little imagination in decor, but in a town like Bergen you should not be in your room much. No views of harbor due to angle of hotel. Staff all pleasant and helpful. Hotel described its breakfast as extra ordinary, hhmmmm no its not, very nice but very average, Nothing you could not find elsewhere. The hotels location is superb and access to all tourist stuff is on the door step.

Room Tip: Remember your room key operates the lift, not easy after a few beers! The hotel has a locked luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrannylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
522 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Good location close to the UNESCO designated buildings and the Funicular to go up Mt. Floein. American style hotel with friendly service and clean facility. Next door is TGI Fridays. Being American style hotel there is ice machine in every floor and the rooms are a little bigger than usual European rooms; but they do not have wash clothbut has facial tissues.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed on 14th July for 1 night only. Location is perfect for the sights of Bergen and the hotel does not impinge on the historic buildings in the immediate area. Room & bathroom was quiet and appointments could not be faulted. Able to open the window to let in fresh air which always a plus. Breakfast was very good and the variety appreciated. Reception was always helpful (checkin and out painless) and courteous and assisted in making the stay memorable in advising on must see's.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flip v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is near all the action of the Bryggen in Bergen - you just have to step out the front door and you are in the midst of great restaurants, pubs, the historic wharf area with its museums and shop as well as the Fish Market. Inside the hotel is an oasis of calm and uber-cool décor. The front lobby and restaurant looks smashing and the rooms are decorated in urban chic style. The breakfast buffet was great and the service at the hotel was also excellent. With the Radisson brand you do count on certain things working well such as free wi fi in the rooms, comfortable beds and great lighting in the rooms and this hotel has all that and more! If you are looking to be in the heart of the action in Bergen yet want to get a great night's sleep and enjoy top-notch amenities then this is your hotel for Bergen!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBTravelDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

On Friday 26. July I ordered a room on this hotel at 02.13 p.m. by mobile phone. I was told my family and I were welcome to a nice stay from Friday to Sunday. I told we would arrive late and the answer was " that is no probleme at all". At 06.00 p.m. I called again to tell about the arrival time, about 10.25. p.m. This time the person we spoke to said she could not find us having booked a room. We ( my wife and two children) became very upset and desperate. After a long talk the connection was broken. I called again and after 20-30 minutes talk we were offered two single rooms, and we accepted. Now they told us there was a concert with Rhianna, and the hotel was overbooked. When we arrived we got our rooms, but when we tried to go into the first room there were two persons already staying in that room, and the next room had only one bed.
(single bed). We had to go back to reception and next we were offered a suite with one bedroom.

Room Tip: We had to wait about 1,5 hour to get beddings and the next day the room was not cleaned until we arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback, Rolf.

We appreciate to hear from all of our guests in order to continuously improve. That being said, we are very sorry to hear about the less fortunate start of your stay with us. In regards to the double booking of the hotel room (the one you entered), I cannot say exactly what went wrong there. It is of course not supposed to happen, and luckily not anything that normally happens. I really hope you enjoyed the upgraded suite you were given afterwards. They are much more spacious and I am sure it was more appropriate for your family.

Feel free to send me an e-mail before your next visit. We very much value or return guests and hope to see you here again many more times.

Best Regards


Kjartan Vestbø
-Sales Manager-
kjartan.vestbo@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Radisson Blu Royal in Bergen is definitely an improvement on its cousin in Stavanger. This well designed hotel is just yards from the Bryggen world heritage site but its sympathetic design means it is incredibly unobtrusive. First the bad news - check in was incredibly painful. Leaving one unfortunate trainee employee to manage an increasingly large crowd of arriving and departing guests at the peak midday check out time is unexcusable. So is losing our reservation. Maybe they were just having a bad day! After around half an hour we finally managed to make it to our room, which was large and pleasant. From thereon in we had a happy stay. As I mentioned, the location couldn't be better. The parking at 200 krona for 24 hours may seem expensive but given you can get very good room rates (we paid 1236 krona a night) by booking in advance means that all in all it is still excellent value. The breakfast buffet is very good too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing