We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed one night while on a tour. The rooms are clean modern and comfortable. Small closet flat screen TV, free wi fi that works well and a very nice bath with combined tub and shower. Plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. The room is not large by US standards but spacious by European standards.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    850
    322
    93
    38
See reviews for
356
731
113
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I absolutely loved everything about Bergen. The clean air, beautiful scenery, lovely people and not to mention the name of the city itself ;) The Radisson was located just down from the UNESCO site of Bryggen. 5min max walk to everywhere within the central town and 10min from the train station. The hotel was your standard chain one but still offered everything that I was after, including an awesome buffet breakfast. Bare in mind it is very expensive in this city though so definitely be prepared to pay crazy prices. This being said though I would happily come back to this gorgeous country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abergz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel has an ok standard, both in rooms and the hotel in general. But the staff was a bit cold, and we had some unpleasant treatment from some of the staff. The breakfast buffet was ok, but a bit unclean and messy somewhere in beetween. Wouldn't stay there again unless I had to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmissy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbergen, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our Super Breakfast buffet. Our goal is to ensure clean and tidy buffet is provided at all times. We usually receive very good feedback on the breakfast, but we will of course take your feedback seriously and see if we can improve our routines. Furthermore, we want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service here at our totally renovated hotel. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. If you would like to discuss your concern further, please contact me directly as I am very interested in hearing more about your stay and what we could improve.

Hopefully we will see you here at the hotel again.

Best Regards


Kjartan Vestbø
-Sales Manager-
kjartan.vestbo@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

high standard hotel in the very city center, big if not huge rooms, Clean, effective, nice, very quiet at night, very good breafest (high Scandinavian standard) make the start of a day a real pleasure, highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It's worth bearing in mind that staying anywhere in Norway is expensive, so the price you pay for a room in this hotel may feel like you aren't getting your money's worth when comparing similar standard hotels across Europe. Having said that, despite small rooms and rubbish A/C, we really enjoyed our stay. The amenities provided (tea/coffee, shampoo etc) weren't great and staff were perhaps a little stingy with them but were happy to provide more when asked. I'm also doubtful that our room was cleaned properly whilst we were there - I'm pretty sure it wasn't hoovered. Beds are comfy, but made up with a memory foam topper on top of the mattress which slips around all over the place. Breakfast was included in the room rate and pretty good - an excellent and entirely over-the-top selection of bread was the most pleasing part! Given eating out in Bergen is particularly expensive, we took the opportunity to fill up before heading out for the day. Airport bus pick-up right outside the hotel is brilliant if you are only in town for a short time.

I'm probably being a bit stingy rating this as Average. It's actually a very nice hotel, but it doesn't quite warrant Very Good purely for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3ttyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for New Year last year. It's an interesting building with well-appointed rooms. The best aspect of this hotel is the breakfast - one of the best I've ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world. Location is pretty good and the airport bus drops and collects you right outside. Biggest issue we had was when we arrived. We'd booked a double room and were given a twin. We asked to be moved and they moved us up a floor to a tiny (and I mean properly tiny) room in the eves, which they claimed was the only other "standard" double available. We realised after no time at all that the door lock didn't work, so we complained and were moved again - to another twin room! On the fourth time of asking we were upgraded to a business double room, which was very comfortable. The staff were generally very helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a double - make sure you check you're not getting a twin. Changing rooms is a real p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Bergen. The rooms were too warm and seemed the air-conditioning did not work in most rooms,including ours. . The check-in for our group was slow. The fish market was very close with lots of great options for good fresh sea food. Thanks for a good breakfast buffet ,although not as good as other hotels visited in Norway. The food and drink in Bergen otherwise is VERY expensive. We enjoyed this compact city and found the hotel to be just ok other than being close to everything.

Room Tip: Did not visit the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing