We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. The location was fantastic, right by the wharf and walking distance to all sites and restaurants. The beds were incredibly comfortable. There was a good variety of food at breakfast, which we really enjoyed. The airport shuttle stops right outside the front door making transfer to and from the airport easy and convenient. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were in a room near the elevator, and heard it running constantly every morning. It wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkeyeGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi HawkeyeGirl24,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your positive experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, our new Jensen beds, the Super Breakfast buffet – and your overall stay.

Furthermore, as you mentioned, it is very convenient for all of our guests that the airport shuttle’s first/last stop is right outside of the hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

The room was large, clean and we had a fantastic view over the harbor. The location is good for exploring the area surrounding the historic port and also the mountain overlooking Bergen. There was also plenty of options at breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tim M,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your positive experience. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the great location and the Super Breakfast buffet.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

this hotel was great.friendly helpful staff,great breakfasts,very good comfy rooms.right by the wharf and easy walk to central and shopping and restuarants.we thought the price was about the same as or better than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevemexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your positive experience.

We are proud of our Yes I Can! service, so it is nice that you mentioned the great staff. Moreover, we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed both the great location and the Super Breakfast buffet.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you are looking for great value for money then Norway isn't a great option, so it was foolish of me to expect more from a fairly expensive stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location for touring the city and gives you access to the key tourist sites. It is a fine hotel, with all of the amenities required, I just felt it didn't go further than being a standard chain hotel. In such a charming area a little more personality would have been nice. From the pictures of the hotel I had anticipated a lovely view rather than a wall just outside the window. Perhaps other views are available on request?

If there was a 3 and a half stars option I would have gone for that. You certainly wont have any issues here but I doubt it will blow you away either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxFox1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the great location here at Bryggen, close to all the sights, and that you liked our hotel.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience for everyone. In terms of the view, it very much depends on the room category you book.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

For such a charming location, I was a bit disappointed with this hotel. The room was very basic, and the service was average (polite but not very friendly). The provided breakfast was fine, many hot and cold options. Overall, okay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, happine55.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the charming location here at Bryggen, close to all the sights, and the Super Breakfast buffet.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues in order to solve them. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I think the Hotell was nicely designed with its modern touch. The personal was very professional and very service minded. I upgraded my room to a business room for 400kr. I also got to see their nicest junior suite which was amazing, but little expensive (~5000NOK/night) I also liked the gym with it's sauna and Turkish steam sauna. And in general it was a very good experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Markus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Markus, and for taking the time to write about your positive experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the amenities as much as you did. Like yourself, guests who upgrade to Business Class very much value all the additional benefits they get for NOK 400. Furthermore, we are very proud of our staff’s Yes I Can! attitude, so it is nice that you mentioned this. We look forward to your next stay – hopefully it will be very soon.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 for 2 nights. Had quite room overlooking a courtyard. Hotel staff came in very early morning and made loads of noise in the kitchen (loads of verbal noise) . They did quieten down when I shouted at them. Hotel was very convenient for the airport bus and main Bergen sites.. Supermarket opposite. Fantastic breakfast

Room Tip: Avoid ones that are near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and the Super Breakfast buffet. However, we are sorry to hear about the noise early in the morning, but glad it became quiet when you let them know. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 50 in Bergen
754 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 50 in Bergen
626 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5 | Bryggen, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £84 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing