We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is good but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The location is good but.....”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

...a lot is left to be desired. A previous reviewer called the hotel 'self satisfied' and I agree. It's very smug but I am not sure that's justified.

I had a room on the second floor and was kept awake most of the night by the noise from the lifts even though my room was not actually next to them. This was a first, (I travel frequently) so I assume poor sound insulation.

The bathrooms have no complimentary toiletries bar soap. Wi-Fi is hit and miss. The 'gym' has one rowing machine, one treadmill, one elliptical trainer, a set of weights and a multigym machine. If there is more than one of you in the space then it's overcrowded. Oh and no mirror so its hard to check technique when doing weights.

Breakfast looks good at first glance. But the cheese and meat selection is poor, gluten free is not signposted, no waffles/pancakes (per other Norwegian hotels I stay in) and they ran out of some varieties of non caffeine teabags.

The bar doesn't have champagne or prosecco (very embarrassing when entertaining a client who requested it!) which seemed really odd.

This is a functional hotel that seems to think it is something more. I wish it had been.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apronannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    881
    335
    100
    40
See reviews for
372
764
123
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two days in April. The hotel is has a moderen and welcoming appearance. The location is great, especially in nice sunny weather as we had during our stay.

However, some more attention to details would result in a higher rating from my side. Internet speed is slow, the breakfast could be more delicatley presented with more fresh food (e.g. less canned food), several standard bathroom items was missing/empty upon arrival.

One note on the room enterance door; it is too heavy to open and it closes equally heavy; when I first arrived, from the rather dark corridor into the dark room, I was knocked over from the back by the closing door as I tried to put the key card into the main light switch. Not a very welcoming guesture.

On the bright side; friendly staff, nice fitness room, comfortable beds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bumble B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A good hotel, friendly staff and the food was good. The only thing I'd suggest is ask for a room far away from the lifts, they are very noisy. Also, when you are coming in from the airport remember you are in the Royal or Bryggen as there are two Radisson Blu's in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Wonderful location of hotel!!!!!!!! It is actually located on the historical Bryggen street! Rooms are spacious and clean. Only complaint is that the breakfast could use a little work. Luckily there are a lot of options to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Radisson Blu Royal is a grat place to stay in. Its located right at the city center and you dont miss the limelight. Very convenient to the nearby attractions.
The breakfast has a good spread to choose from and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while on business.
When I checked in, I was informed that as my invoice was sent to my travel agent, I would not receive points for my stay. This very fact makes me think there no longer is a point to stay here or at this chain.

The rooms are basic and clean. Very Scandinavia look and minimalistic. Not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
The bathroom was open plan, something I do not like. I realize this is handicap friendly but I just expect these rooms to be allocates to those who need them.
Reception and bar area are great. Big and airy. Friendly staff there too.


Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel has a superb location behind the historical Bryggen in the City of Bergen. Maybe that's because the hotel seem a little bit self-satisfied. The hotel could do better on service and the food. The panna cotta we were presented looked like a fish ball, and tasted like milk gel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Svein Olav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
609 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#15 of 47 in Bergen
880 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing