We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but poor sound insulation in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Aside from being give a twin bed room when I had booked a queen, and the room having very poor sound insulation (the lift motors burst into action continuously), the hotel is not bad. It's a good location, the breakfast buffet is good, it's clean and the staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to hear that our Yes I Can! staff took good care of you .

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback about the elevators has been passed on to the Management Team and will be addressed. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee and if you are returning to Bergen in the future please request a room away from the elevators. Also, feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed in many radisson blus and this was the worst I have tried so far. First the room didn't have a closet, the breakfast buffet was ok, but they never refilled the items that they ran out of, the concierge didn't even give a nr for luggage and I had to store it myself in the luggage room. This is not a hostel, so improve the standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pedro g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Brenda.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived in Oslo on 16th staying at a lovely Deluxe Room at Hotel Continental, followed by a visit to a friend in Geilo whose home is cosy and amazing. From the taxi ride from the train station to Radisson are wonderful historical buildings.Our friend said Radisson recently spent 200 million on renovation. Had high hope on Radisson but when I walked into the reception, it looks like a youth hostel. When I got to the 2nd floor, the design looks like council house. If I did not stay at Hotel Continental or our friends house, I would probably have thought that were the standards and taste of Norwegians but............when I asked the reception whether I could move to the room as shown on a photo on the hotel's website. She said but that would cost you 5000! A lesson to learn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank CharkJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Brenda.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here many years ago and I remember looking out the window at midnight and it was still light. Really good business hotel. The fees for business were quite expensive. Great to walk out in the evenings to be in the heart of the the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights and to hear you liked our hotel. We hope to see you here again when you visit Bergen next time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We are still at the raddison blu royal ... and we love it , we are here visiting our brother inlaw and partner , after reading reveiws we asked for a room with a bath after a lttle while he said I assume you will need a double bed , we replied yes problem was only rooms left were twin rooms with bath . He said I will upgrade you so we ended up having a junior suite with shower .. wow the room was huge with a lounge area huge bed that felt like you were sleeping in a marshmallow , a nespresso coffee machine and tea making facilities lovey fluffy dressing gowns and slippers . The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had loadsa of choice hot/cold lots of smoked salmon , gravalax and healthy options as well as good ol cooked full english .. yes its very expensive here in bergan £300 for a meal for 4 and £75 for 2 rounds of drinks for 4 people but we were prepared ,, stock up on the inclusive breakfast , hotel perfectly situated for shops , bars , docks Bergan museum right next door , the finicular to top of mountain a must all walking distance from hotel , supermarket opposite , I recomend Bergan to everyone

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic 5 star experience from your last stay, Janine.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights. The breakfast chef was very happy to hear your positive feedback on our Super Breakfast buffet. We are very proud of our Yes I Can! staff and it is great to hear your story. We hope to see you here again when you visit Bergen next time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Radisson Blue is a well appointed hotel located at the UNESCO site. The business class rooms provide extra space and are very comfortable, although the queen beds use two twin duvets rather than one large duvet. The location is ideal for most any activities since many are easily within walking distance. The downside is vehicle access to/from this hotel is limited and the sentrum is definitely an older city! If you want to really see the old port this is the place to stay! The breakfast is definitely a nice feature and the included WiFi was a great benefit. A security feature that was good to see was the requirement for a room key to activate the elevator; this, in addition to spacious in-room safes, eased and security or safety concerns.

Room Tip: Select a business class room on the top floor. You get some extra space and some character with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic 5 star experience from your last stay.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights. The breakfast chef was very happy to hear your positive feedback on our Super Breakfast buffet. Furthermore, we are pleased to hear the free WiFi was appreciated. We hope to see you here again when you visit Bergen next time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Like another reviewer the lift noise was intrusive to my room on 3rd floor although not next to lifts. Room view was non-existent.
Internet was slow/poor for a hotel of this standard not good.
Twin beds and seemed narrow compared to other hotels.
Staff friendly and helpful. Bar with usual Norwegian prices -beer draught NOK 78
Breakfast selection excellent, especially the salmon selection.

Room Tip: away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Dave.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the Super Breakfast buffet and our service-minded Yes I Can! staff. We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience.

We hope to see you here again when you visit Bergen next time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
700 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,335 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £95 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing