We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Bergen. The location was great, just by the heritage buildings and the airport bus (Flybussen) stops outside which is really convenient. Room were reasonable size and clean and breakfast large and plentiful.

My only negative would be that we wanted a double room and were given a twin but we can live with that.

Check in and check out were really painless and it was all very good.

Felini Bar has a nice outside seating area which is great if the weather is good, which it was during our stay. Pricey but all of Norway is.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our Italian Filini Bar with outside seating. In terms of the rooms, we mainly have twin rooms, but we always try to allocate the double rooms to those you request them. Unfortunately, they were not available when you stayed with us. Hopefully at least one double room will be available next time.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just go back today from the hotel. Stayed over for Easter Weekend. Staff always helpful and very friendly. Stayed with 3 kids, hotel allowed us to have one room, put us in a "Business Class" room which was big and comfy.

My daughter fell ill so couldn't come down for breakfast. Was allowed to take to the room for her.

Bus to and from airport right outside the hotel. Location is very convenient for main sites. The place to stay in Bergen. Will stay again ( :-) if I can be convinced to go back to Norway. Beautiful place but so, so expensive).

Room Tip: Get a business class room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junz_Fatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive 5 star experience from your last stay.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). We are also pleased to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our Business Class room.
Norway is quite expensive, but we really hope to see you and your family here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I first visited this hotel since it first opened in 1982 and repeatedly over the years. I have enjoyed my stay even though gradually the hotel furnishings deteriorated. I was naturally excited at revisiting after a major renovation - sadly my excitement was dashed? The whole ambiance of the hotel has changed. The staff, were rude and arrogant. Breakfast was dismal - juice was from a carton and poor quality, coffee in thermos flasks, no choice of Cappuccino or latte, no offer by waiters of tea. General level of hygiene was poor with staff touching food with uncovered hands.
All guests who unluckily stay here should ask as the other wise guest's report mentioned for a bath and get the upgrade for free! if UNESCO visited this hotel they would be shocked as the inside is incredibly unsympathetic to the location. The location is more in keeping with an industrial city centre or railway station. To describe the hotel today as Royal is incorrect and the more correct description would be the peasants hotel !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay. Jonathan.

We are pleased to read you have been a regular guest for many years, but it is sad to hear you did not find the hotel as attractive now after it was totally renovated in 2012/2013.
We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team.

Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Aside from being give a twin bed room when I had booked a queen, and the room having very poor sound insulation (the lift motors burst into action continuously), the hotel is not bad. It's a good location, the breakfast buffet is good, it's clean and the staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to hear that our Yes I Can! staff took good care of you .

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback about the elevators has been passed on to the Management Team and will be addressed. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee and if you are returning to Bergen in the future please request a room away from the elevators. Also, feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed in many radisson blus and this was the worst I have tried so far. First the room didn't have a closet, the breakfast buffet was ok, but they never refilled the items that they ran out of, the concierge didn't even give a nr for luggage and I had to store it myself in the luggage room. This is not a hostel, so improve the standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pedro g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Brenda.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived in Oslo on 16th staying at a lovely Deluxe Room at Hotel Continental, followed by a visit to a friend in Geilo whose home is cosy and amazing. From the taxi ride from the train station to Radisson are wonderful historical buildings.Our friend said Radisson recently spent 200 million on renovation. Had high hope on Radisson but when I walked into the reception, it looks like a youth hostel. When I got to the 2nd floor, the design looks like council house. If I did not stay at Hotel Continental or our friends house, I would probably have thought that were the standards and taste of Norwegians but............when I asked the reception whether I could move to the room as shown on a photo on the hotel's website. She said but that would cost you 5000! A lesson to learn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank CharkJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Brenda.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here many years ago and I remember looking out the window at midnight and it was still light. Really good business hotel. The fees for business were quite expensive. Great to walk out in the evenings to be in the heart of the the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights and to hear you liked our hotel. We hope to see you here again when you visit Bergen next time.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
705 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
680 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,338 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £96 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing