We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Pros: The location of the hotel is perfect. Right next to the Hanseatic Bryggen. Parking was easy and painless, which, in a city like Bergen is a huge plus. Breakfast was good and had a large variety. Rooms are comfy and clean.
Cons: Wifi is available, but a tedious process to get connected. Elevators are loud. Write to the hotel in advance and request a room away from the elevators. We did and that worked well.
Conclusion: I would definitely stay at this hotel if I were to visit Bergen again. The pros far outweigh the cons. Just make sure to request a quiet room away from the elevators. And I really don't think it is possible to have a different hotel with parking in such a perfect spot. If you are flying in the airport bus stops right in front of the hotel, also.

Room Tip: write in advance to request a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohmattyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from your last stay, Peter.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues in order to solve them.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    895
    351
    105
    43
See reviews for
385
785
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great staff and breakfast was excellent value. Very restful sleep. Just do NOT order wine at the hotel. Cheap quality and prices were exponential. Overall, would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from your last stay, Michelle.

It is a great pleasure to hear that our Yes I Can! staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Thank you for recommending our hotel – we very much appreciate it.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent Easter weekend and although the location of the hotel couldn't be better, the hotel experience was not great.

We had a business class room, and to quote my children " if this is business class I'd hate to see the normal ones". It was not a generous size and with the sofa bed open, rather snug. The furnishings were adequate, but generally had the feel of a "travel lodge".

Housekeeping was sloppy, with no refills of toiletries, despite being 4 people for 3 nights. On one occasion a bottle of cleaning fluid was mistakenly left behind and remained in the room.

As others have said, the wifi is slow and patchy, and the elevator noise awful. We were on the second floor just around the corner from them, and could hear each and every journey they made. Fortunately I was able to mentally tune it down, but sensitive sleepers should be aware.

What did disturb my sleep, however, was the fact that on day 2, our door was unexpectedly opened at about midnight, by a member of staff. Needless to say I jumped a mile, and was quite frightened by the incident. My husband got up to see what had happened and then put the chain on. The next morning we informed reception, and got a very casual reply of " oh yes, that was just one of our staff going off shift. He called down and said he must have been sent to the wrong room" I emphasized that it was a rather alarming thing to happen when you are fast asleep and then got "oh, sorry about that" as a bit of an afterthought. The most basic function of a hotel is to provide a nights sleep, and I think this really warranted a better gesture of apology.

Breakfast was ok- although prefer to have hot drinks freshly made to order. Bar food good and service good on Saturday. First evening had to nurse a glass of water for 15 minutes because the bar man was off somewhere and person covering couldn't mix drinks. (?!)

Would not stay here again despite having the Club Carlsson gold card. Beautiful town though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmumatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights.

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team and will be addressed. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee and if you are returning to Bergen in the future please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a memorable experience. Considering you have Gold status in Club Carlson you know what to expect from Radisson BLU and it is very important to us that you will be satisfied. We hope to see you here in Bergen and will do our very best to give you a better impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Bergen. The location was great, just by the heritage buildings and the airport bus (Flybussen) stops outside which is really convenient. Room were reasonable size and clean and breakfast large and plentiful.

My only negative would be that we wanted a double room and were given a twin but we can live with that.

Check in and check out were really painless and it was all very good.

Felini Bar has a nice outside seating area which is great if the weather is good, which it was during our stay. Pricey but all of Norway is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our Italian Filini Bar with outside seating. In terms of the rooms, we mainly have twin rooms, but we always try to allocate the double rooms to those you request them. Unfortunately, they were not available when you stayed with us. Hopefully at least one double room will be available next time.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just go back today from the hotel. Stayed over for Easter Weekend. Staff always helpful and very friendly. Stayed with 3 kids, hotel allowed us to have one room, put us in a "Business Class" room which was big and comfy.

My daughter fell ill so couldn't come down for breakfast. Was allowed to take to the room for her.

Bus to and from airport right outside the hotel. Location is very convenient for main sites. The place to stay in Bergen. Will stay again ( :-) if I can be convinced to go back to Norway. Beautiful place but so, so expensive).

Room Tip: Get a business class room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junz_Fatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive 5 star experience from your last stay.

It is a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). We are also pleased to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our Business Class room.
Norway is quite expensive, but we really hope to see you and your family here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I first visited this hotel since it first opened in 1982 and repeatedly over the years. I have enjoyed my stay even though gradually the hotel furnishings deteriorated. I was naturally excited at revisiting after a major renovation - sadly my excitement was dashed? The whole ambiance of the hotel has changed. The staff, were rude and arrogant. Breakfast was dismal - juice was from a carton and poor quality, coffee in thermos flasks, no choice of Cappuccino or latte, no offer by waiters of tea. General level of hygiene was poor with staff touching food with uncovered hands.
All guests who unluckily stay here should ask as the other wise guest's report mentioned for a bath and get the upgrade for free! if UNESCO visited this hotel they would be shocked as the inside is incredibly unsympathetic to the location. The location is more in keeping with an industrial city centre or railway station. To describe the hotel today as Royal is incorrect and the more correct description would be the peasants hotel !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay. Jonathan.

We are pleased to read you have been a regular guest for many years, but it is sad to hear you did not find the hotel as attractive now after it was totally renovated in 2012/2013.
We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to the Management Team.

Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Next time you need accommodation in Bergen please contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales and I will make sure you will have a better experience. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and will do our very best to improve your impression of our hotel.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Aside from being give a twin bed room when I had booked a queen, and the room having very poor sound insulation (the lift motors burst into action continuously), the hotel is not bad. It's a good location, the breakfast buffet is good, it's clean and the staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights, and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). It is also a great pleasure to hear that our Yes I Can! staff took good care of you .

We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your valuable feedback about the elevators has been passed on to the Management Team and will be addressed. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee and if you are returning to Bergen in the future please request a room away from the elevators. Also, feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
636 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
637 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
905 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing