We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is right behind the UNESCO World heritage site Bryggen (the old Bergen Wharf). It is very central therefore it can feel very crowded especially when cruise ships arrived. But Ido not think if it was worth $300/night for a standard room. The room was large but we had two tiny windows on either side of a big wall. So I guess we definitely paid for location. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. Free wifi and breakfast is included.

The bathroom was very clean but it would smell like sewer (coming from the shower drain) every once in a while. The shower was nice but the shower door does not help too much so the floor was getting wet due to water leaking under the door. So we had to dry the floor by our hand towels. Even blocking under the door with a towel did not help greatly.

Also I would recommend bringing your own shampoo. The hotel only provides liquid soaps. I usually bring my own. I did not test the product in the shower but if you depend on hotel shampoo to save room in carry-on space you might be disappointed. Not a major issue of course… just a friendly reminder. It is nice that they are trying to protect the environment.

The staff was excellent. They helped us with every question and every request.

The breakfast was very good. A lot of food choices.

The refrigerator was very interesting. If you remove any item you would be automatically charged for the item. There was a designated guest spaces for two bottles. I was very impressed with the technology but why all this effort would go into a refrigerator instead of providing an empty one unless otherwise requested? I managed to not disturb any sensors and squeeze our water bottles.

I guess I would rate this hotel "Good". If the price was lower I would consider staying there again. It is a nice hotel with fantastic staff. I just did not think we should have the problems described above when the price for the room is $300.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and that our Yes I Can! staff took good care of you.

Your feedback is important to us. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues when you stay here in order to solve them. Your feedback has been passed on to the rest of our management team and will be reviewed.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a two night stay here as our base for the 'Norway in a nutshell' tour, which leaves from Bergen.
We were assigned a 'business class' twin room, on the fifth floor, which was a spacious, and airy room, with a tall ceiling following up the steep roofline of the hotel. The room was decorated and furnished in a modern and neutral style, with sufficient power sockets, a large wall mounted TV, and it was well equipped with fridge, kettle, iron/ironing board etc. The room was a comfortable temperature, although the air-conditioning grill, above the door, produced a constant sound of dripping internal water.
The bathroom had a bath with wall mounted shower head. Although pump action soap dispensers were fitted, these were empty and separate toiletries were provided. The bathroom lighting was limited - just lights around the mirror.
The breakfasts were very good, for hot and cold food, fruit and bakery items, although some items were not replaced as they ran out.
Staff service was friendly and professional and the hotel seemed very well run.
The location was extremely convenient, both for the airport bus, and for access straight onto the attractive harbourside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights in Bergen, but yet in a nice and quiet location. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). As we are very proud of our Yes I Can! staff it is nice to hear you received good service.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great value beautiful hotel. Airport bus stop is out side reception so very easy for traveling to and from. Very convenient for everything the tourist would want. Very modern and clean and very comfortable beds. The location is quiet enough in the evenings. Only snag we had was no towels arrived second evening but soon resolved. Oh and how often do you get this - batteries not working in the tv remote.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay, Martin.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights in Bergen city centre and nearby the mountains and the wonderful hiking trails. It is also a great pleasure to read you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel) and that you got a good night sleep in the new and comfortable Jensen beds.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was here on business during the winter months and it was such a pretty hotel. It's located very close to some shops and restaurants and you can walk around the harbor.
The hotel rooms were basic but functional and had everything I needed for a business stay although I did question whether or not I would stay here for leisure.
Food was very good and service was polite and friendly.
Great location as I have said very picturesque.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauwed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights in Bergen, but yet in a nice and quiet location. It is also a great pleasure to hear your kind words on our Yes I Can! staff and the food.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited with family at Bergen.The location of hotel was great.It was in UNESCO heritage site.
The room was very small with small bed,toilet was of vey poor quality.The breakfast
Was average.One day we had noticed the dish and spoon was not properly washed and kept in the table of breakfast.The cost was very high.one advantage is airport starts and ends
At the hotel.We were not offered room with good sea view.The front desk person there was no room with sea view ,but we noticed that some rooms had sea view.I am a member o club carlson from long time.I had stayed in different countries in the same group of hotel.It was a bad experience for us.The hotel peoples are not at all helpful.rt

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to hear that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel). However, we are very sorry to hear about the issues you mentioned.

Your feedback is very important to us. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues when you stay here in order to solve them. Your feedback has been passed on to the rest of our management team and will be reviewed.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Modern and functional hotel strategically located on the Bryggen. Nice rooms, excellent breakfast, vero quiet in spite of being right in the middle of the town. Very convenient also for the airport bus which stops right outside the building.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights in Bergen, but yet in a nice and quiet location. It is also a great pleasure to read you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel) and that the Super Breakfast buffet was to your liking.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for the weekend to experience a taste of the fjords and walk the Vidden trail. The two most important things for when I book a hotel is location and cleanness and top marks for this. The airport bus stops outside the hotel and definitely just as convenient as a taxi. I thought the breakfast was excellent and well organized given the volume of people. Overall I had a very pleasant experience with service..we arrived very late and we upgraded which was a nice touch. Upon requesting for late checkout they were very accommodating. Bergen is a beautiful place and looking forward to more weekends away here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay, Mia.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights in Bergen city centre and nearby the mountains and the wonderful hiking trails. It is also a great pleasure to read you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel).

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
675 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
661 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
924 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £106 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing