We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

There are many more good things about this hotel than not. The airport bus stops at the door. The lobby is spacious and group friendly. Although most rooms do not have views, the location is excellent for enjoying the waterfront and downtown. The windows open so that the air is fresh in the room. The beds are comfortable and the room compact but well organized. Our room had a high ceiling(566) and a shutter to keep out all that light Bergen gets in June. Staff is efficient and polite. Our room was kept clean and done everyday. Breakfast was adequate although I would recommend that the hotel add a few more traditional Norweigen foods such as the waffles. All in all an pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    854
    322
    93
    38
See reviews for
358
733
113
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location but essentially no view. We had 2 rooms. One looked at interior wall of building so was like looking at a brick wall and was like having no window in the room at all. The other looked at the hotel driveway. Located on the wharf near restaurants. But also right near where all the cruise ships let the passengers off. Breakfast in the restaurant was average but not excellent. It was the worst breakfast of our trip (compared to small hotels, a Sheraton and a Marriott). Housekeeping did not make up the room one day. We had to call 3 times at 5 pm when we got back after a long day and wanted a shower. Also, in the 3 night stay they never left new shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. Your feedback is important to us and we are very sorry to hear the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues when you stay here in order to solve them. Your feedback has already been passed on to the rest of our management team and will be reviewed together with both the housekeeping department and the breakfast chefs.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My comments are similar to what others have reported. This is a very clean and functional hotel located in a very good location. The room was adequate, but there were limited amenities. The breakfast was also adequate. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Take advantage of the airport bus as it stops in front of the hotel. I would suggest a floor on an upper level and away from the noisy elevator.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, mr_los_angeles.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel).

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location, Location but don't expect any views!
The situation of the hotel is excellent to venture out from and enjoy Bergen town but they do charge you for this facility!
This was the most expensive hotel during our ten nights in Norway and poorest review.
Our booking had obviously been lost, so we were given the usual end of the corridor room that looked onto not the sold views of Bergen but a brick wall, I've posted the photo, so do enjoy it.
The room facilities were great and nothing to complain about. A good nights sleep but don't be sold by the coffee making machine as it takes as long to heat as the standard kettle.
If parking under the hotel make sure you check in and drop off your luggage first as the parking (not belonging to the hotel) is underground, dark and has very narrow and limited parking spaces. The route up to the reception is past the loading bay and up a set of stairs which would not be the easiest with luggage. If travelling in by car, we found the postcode takes you to the main road side of the hotel and not into the courtyard in order to park and offload.
Plenty of bar space and seating around the hotel to relax with friends in and as mentioned the location is perfect to just step out into the heart of Bergen.

Room Tip: Not 533 for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwp12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, gwp12c.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the great facilities and that you got a good night sleep. I am sure other guests who read your review also appreciate your tips in terms of parking in the underground garage, which is run by Europark.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Really nice hotel with friendly staff on hand.
Décor is "OK" but the rooms are ok and very clean.
The rooms can be a little pricey depending on time of year but the hotel is placed in a great spot ideal for everything you need.
Not the Best Radisson but it does the job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pspeed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your last stay, pspeed19.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful part of Bergen and it was so nice to be able to walk everywhere you wanted to go. The room was small but clean. The problem is in the design of the bathroom where taking a shower floods the bathroom floor and there is no way to prevent it. The breakfast was adequate with excellent fresh fruit. The front desk employees were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabgkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, backmg.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to hear our service-minded Yes I Can front desk employees took good care of you. Your feedback is important to us and we will discuss the issues you mention when taking a shower.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am very disappointed with the chain Radisson Blu in general. This 4 star hotel has 3 star hotel rooms and bathrooms.No amenities on the sink, only the soap-gel-shampoo dispensers on the wall.
The mandatory breakfast included in the hotel fare (240 euros for one night in a double room with inside views) is very poor. The restaurant was crowded and the hot food was not properly refilled. Even non customers can get in to have breakfast, there is no control at all.
During the check out we had to stay 20 minutes in the reception because we had a voucher and they could not find it.
The price is just too expensive, but I have been and checked other Radisson Blu hotels around the world and the price is just too high for what it includes. It is generally above 200 euros, honestly, if I did not have the vouchers I would choose other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicaiglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. Your feedback is important to us and we are very sorry to hear the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues when you stay here in order to solve them. Your feedback has been passed on to the rest of our management team and will be reviewed.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Rezidor, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing