We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had booked a weekend in Bergen with my parents and brother as a birthday present to my parents. The Radisson blu in Bergen is very close to the Bryggen harbour and you can walk around to see all the main places in the city. We were upgraded to a deluxe room when we got to the hotel and we were very pleased with our rooms. The breakfast at the hotel was a highlight for us, very nice spread.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    838
    315
    92
    37
See reviews for
349
717
108
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We are still in the hotel for 2 more nights. It's been a very nice stay.
Two minor things that make this 4* instead of 5:
Breakfast is a mob scene. The hotel can't help this. The food at breakfast is very good. Best soft-boiled eggs we have had in a hotel ever.
We had to call them on the maid service. Our complaint was taken care of, but still the maid doesn't leave coffee spoons or cream and sugar.

I just can't stress what a good location this is. We don't have much of a view, but our fifth floor room is nice and quiet for the most part. The front desk staff is very helpful. The airport bus ends its route right in front of the hotel door which couldn't be handier. Tip: Do Not take a cab from the airport. The bus is easy and cheap and clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevators. They are a little noisy but didn't bother us, as the activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel puts you in the heart of Bryggen. Easy walking to many Bryggen attractions, including shops, the fish market, and the flower market. The staff is helpful as well. Additionally, you can catch the express bus to the airport right outside the hotel's front door.

The included breakfast buffet was fantastic - a delicious range of eggs, cheese, fish, breads, cereals, and fruits.

Only one difficulty - wifi connections were a bit spotty. This, and the comfortable-but-not-posh accommodations in the room, earn this hotel 4 stars. Highly recommended if you want to be close to Bryggen attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed two nights has everything you may need, has basic bath products, tea and coffee, monitored fridge, room clean has extra pillows, bed comfortable, enough room too move and surprised to see iron and board.Shops close supermarket across the road.Nothing bad but a floor towel would be handy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARMODY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a very disappointing stay at another hotel, and after our trip on the Hurtigruten, we stayed here for, unfortunately, only one night before we left town. The difference in class between here and the InCity Hotel & Apartments was amazing. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were professional, friendly and attentive. The place looks like it was designed, rather than thrown together out of necessity. There are tasteful little art bits here and there.

The breakfast was a typically Norwegian buffet, with more choices than one could possibly consume, although I certainly tried.

Don't expect a view, since the hotel is sandwiched between other buildings in the charming Bryggen area. The best views are just outside the doors of the hotel--the fortress and the Rosenkrantz Tower, the shops and cafes and incredibly scenic buildings of Bryggen. It's about a ten minute walk to the fish market and most of the rest of the main shopping areas.

I feel I should add that I consider this a 4-star hotel, because it isn't full of ancient charm and lavish decor. It's not the Ritz. It's just a fine example of good hostelry, and there's nothing wrong with it. Next time in Bergen, we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't expect much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good food, clean and nicely decorated room which we had upgraded, and great location. We traveled with our teen aged granddaughter and she felt very comfortable at the location of this hotel. I really don't have anything negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

For bearing a big name franchise, Radisson Blu Royal Bergen almost lived upto the hype:

- Great location: Cant get any better being in Bergen- located right along the port and within walking distance to all the tourist places around
- Good food: Breakfast (esp from an American perspective) had plenty of choices: the Norwegian diary and breads are worth a mention
- Good service: the hotel staff were quite helpful and got on issues almost immediately.

A big knockdown was the extremely poor/patchy internet connection: my laptop kept getting kicked out of the free network (wasn't even enough bandwidth to load Gmail)- wish they would do something about it. Additionally, the hotel rooms on the 2nd floor didnt have an elevator nearby- it was a long walk plus walking down a set of stairs just to get to the room

Room Tip: If you are traveling to/from the airport, recommend taking the FLYBUSEN (cost only about 90NOK or 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing