We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this hotel for our 6 year wedding anniversary and as a surprise, the hotel upgraded us to a fabulous room with a view of both the harbor as well as the funicular! There was so much space in this room! We had 2 TVs, a couch, coffee table, arm chair, desk, mini bar and lots of luggage space! The bathroom was very large with plenty of counter space. Overall, the hotel was clean, quiet and really pretty. The hotel did a great job of blending in with the surrounding houses. It is so much bigger on the inside - don't let the outside fool you! The breakfast included was terrific. Plenty of choices. The room service was prompt and delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great experience in Bergen and our room at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel was part of that. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and would absolutely stay here again if we visit Bergen. The location couldn't be better. Oh and the airport shuttle bus stops right in front every 20 minutes!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms/suites with a view of Bergen and/or the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Islandtime11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay, Islandtime11.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also great to read about your positive experience at the breakfast and the upgraded room. There is nothing that pleases us more than having satisfied guests, like you.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here one night in the middle of the Nutshell tour. The room was super tiny and didn't have a closet, just hangers on the wall. Excellent location though. Excellent breakfast. Took a cab to the hotel, but walked back to the train station. Great sights along the way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Danielle C.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, we just need you to tell us if something is not like it should, when it happens.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I expected lot more from a 4* hotel...it was the cheapest (still expensive) i could find in norway but the cons outweighed the pros:


cons:
~lack of hotel amenities ...no slippers, says tea making facilities but there's no spoon or milk..or tea bags to make your tea!
~cups weren't washed!
~hotel amenities that were given weren't replenished
~poor cleaning
~poor 'breakfast.buffet'...no selection...no local delicacies...and food werent even hot!
~lack of service

pros:
~cost...was the cheapest

~location: convenient central location


overall wont be choosing any radisson hotel ... i do not think it deserves its 4*...poor quality...poor service...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZTluilui .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, MZTluilui.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. However, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the overall experience. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, we just need you to tell us if something is not like it should, when it happens.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope you give us a second chance and that we get the opportunity to see you here at Bryggen again. If you decide to come back, please ask for myself, Therese Tefre Steen, before making the reservation.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

You could not find a closer hotel to all the attractions in Bergen. Everything is within easy walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is of high standard which one expects of Radisson. The bedroom was a nice size and a comfortable bed. We had dinner in the hotels restaurant the main meal was cod which was of poor quality but we may have been unlucky as the breakfast the next day was of a higher standard. Overall the hotel is a good place to stay as it is close to the attractions of Bergen which is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, murarrielen.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. However, I am sorry to hear about the cod. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, we just need you to tell us if something is not like it should, when it happens.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel is very well located in the heart of Bryygen and staff are very obliging. New rooms do not have basic facility of a wardrobe and shelves so clothes are hung on a rail on the wall. Old rooms are better but face other bedrooms. Air con is not very effective. Breakfast excellent. But overall a good hotel to stay in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Andrea P.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, we just need you to tell us if something is not like it should, when it happens.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, just along from Old historic Bergen. I found all the staff to be friendly, welcoming and very helpful. If I visit Bergen again, this will be my first choice. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank RJB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your recommendation.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in July 2014 during a very hot period. Our room, 294, which was a standard room, had not been cleaned properly so we were upgraded to a business class room on the 5th floor which was fine. It was interesting to note that the standard room had no wardrobe for hanging clothing neither did it have any seating which we found very strange.

The location of this hotel could not be better as it is very central to all shops and restaurants.

Breakfast buffet was excellent if not a little busy at times. Staff very helpful and pleasant to talk to.

Do not accept a room near the lifts as they are very noisy. The management close down two of the lifts in the evening to reduce the noise level which is thoughtful.

We can recommend this as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: 5th floor business class room recommended if you are staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, honestreviewer50.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and the upgrade.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
740 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,372 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
958 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5 | Bryggen, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £90 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing