We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from a Radisson Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed only one night in Bergen and picked this hotel mostly because of convenience: the SAS airport bus stops right in front of it and I am a Clarion Hotels member. We had booked online in order to take advantage of the 20% saving from advanced booking which was available at the time. At the time of the booking we requested a room with a queen size bed. However, when we arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon we were told that they no longer have rooms with queen beds. I started to protest and was told that this is normal in Norway and it is not standard to have queen beds in the room. I continued to argue as I had just spent two weeks at the Radisson Scandi in Oslo and was aware that this is not necessarily the case. The receptionist then told me that if I am not happy I am free to go to another hotel .... Well, you can imagine my anger at which point I made a big scandal, also pointing out that I am pregnant and this is not the way to treat Clarion Hotel members. The compromise was to send someone from housekeeping who would tie the two small beds together. We took this option as it was already 6pm and we had been traveling for 12 hours. Housekeeping came quite quickly to tied the beds together and also brought us a platter with fruit and cheese, which was a nice gesture. But still, the unpleasant experience remained. Luckily we stayed only for one night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Bubolecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Bubolecho.

We are pleased you decided to book Radisson BLU, but we are truly sorry to hear about your experience that is far from what we want to give our valued guests. It is sad to hear your experience did not meet you expectations. Even though it will not help you at this point of time, I can assure you that we take your constructive feedback very seriously and will discuss your inputs on our next management team meeting. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels have 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Yes the rooms are small, but they have everything that's necessary and reflect modern Scandinavian efficiency and engineering. We never heard a door slam and had our best dinner (salmon) at their restaurant. On the recommendation of a friend we asked for a room facing the courtyard. We were told the street noise can be loud sometimes. We kept the window open and night to enjoy the fresh air and had no problem with outside noise. The SAS bus, which is the best way to travel to and from the airport, stops at the front door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, fdhappy.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel. Moreover, it is great to hear you had the best dinner in our restaurant. The airport bus is very convenient as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside of the hotel. And, because the hotel is the bus’ first and last stop, it is easy to find the hotel when you arrive and you will always get a seat when leaving. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was included as part of our Norway in a Nutshell package. Three nights in total. I had requested a double room, expecting a double/queen bed, but we were given a room with twin beds. Also the room had barely any window and little or no view, although I had requested a room with a view as we were staying 3 nights. They had no rooms with double beds available, but "upgraded" us to a business room with twin beds, which was actually worse: overlooking the front door where all the airport busses come and go all night. The next night they found a room with a queen bed, but it was the disabled room which I would actually recommend. It had no closets, only hangers, but as a result was more spacious and had a nice window. I found the staff friendly but inept and the hotel quite soulless and disappointing. I don't know why my guide book said it was one of Bergen's finest hotels.
On the plus side, the location is very good and the breakfast was excellent. Also helpful breakfast staff who brought me natural yoghurt when I asked.

Room Tip: I guess you have to be prepared to pay top dollar for a suite with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitty064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, kitty064.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and the service-minded staff. In terms of your requests, we are sorry they were not available. Unfortunately we cannot always give all of our guests their preferences due to our guests have different preferences, but the bed set-up is fixed. However, we always do our very best to give all of our guests the best possible experience and service here at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, Bryggen. Remember, in order to be guaranteed a room with a great view and queen bed, you can book our Jr.suites and suites, which will have this. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Actually, I didn't know Bergen at all and couldn't imagine hotels and locations. So I went for this Radisson, as the location is great and it looked new. The location is great for tourists and given the city isn't very big, a hotel further in town would have been better.

The hotel service isn't very friendly - in effect, I got the feeling the staff isn't happy. Not sure why. It is pretty much mass production feeling. The room isn't cozy, but new, sizable, and very functional - linoleum floor, etc.). It didn't get cleaned every day.

Breakfast has much choice and seemed included in all rooms (no one asked for the room number), but the quality and taste is challenging.

That being said, staff acted upon requests and Bergen has plenty of great restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AxelWinter952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, AxelWinter952.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the large variety on our Super Breakfast buffet. However, it is sad to hear the rest of your experience did not meet you expectations. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels have 100% Satisfaction Guarantee – we just need to know about it in order to solve it. The best thing is to talk to the front desk during your stay, or at least before you check out, so can they assist you. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel seems to be an excellent choice in Bergen. Located just next to Bryggen, the famous world heritage site, and being the last station on the airport bus route, you have everything at your door steps. Decent size room, with excellent bed and a nice bath-tub, with most of the things one would need in a hotel room. Very friendly stuff, trying to accommodate your every wish. A very good breakfast, with a wide range of options. The interior shows quality. The only thing I was disapointed about was a dirty glass in the tray in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay, SorinBu.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our service-minded Yes I Can!-staff. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Sentral hotel in City. Nice and modern. Sorry to say that the room I had (family) was not up to expectations. No lcer or othet place to put choltes. Main el- switch for all ligts and el-outlet made me have to chare mobile in bathrom during night. Water heater had no place to stay during use but om the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Jan Ove R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Jan Ove.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. In terms of your constructive feedback, this is something we take very seriously and will discuss further on the next management team meeting. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee – you just have to inform us so we can fix it for you. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

nice hotel , the room was cousy , no bath , no view
no air condition at the summer its a problem
at night its chill so you dont need to
no air condiyion at the lobby or dining room

the bell boys are not working very accurete

Room Tip: choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ofer z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, ofer z.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel. Usually it is not as warm in Bergen as it has been lately, but we are sorry to hear you had issues with the AC during daytime. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 51 in Bergen
776 reviews
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 51 in Bergen
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,404 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#14 of 51 in Bergen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5 | Bryggen, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £88 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing