We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights, having booked a Standard room (1495 NOK/night), requesting a Sea View. I never usually change rooms, but we had a look at three different rooms before deciding to pay more for a Business Class Room (400NOK/night extra). The Standard rooms were OK if you like views over gravel pits or brick walls and walking down long depressing corridors. What a mistake we made staying here, as for 240NOK ($40) extra we could have stayed at the Clarion Collection Havnekontoret, which is next door, shares the same enviable location on Bryggen in Central Bergen, has many more sea view rooms and is generally a nicer, more luxurious hotel with romantic well furnished rooms. At the Radisson you get Scandinavian, Ikea style rooms, a lobby full of bus groups, and endless waits to talk to reception. Also the rooms have an automatic mini bar that charges the minute you touch a bottle. In Bergen it rains a lot and the Radisson charges 100NOK, supposedly for charity, for an umbrella!! On the positive side the breakfast was very good, free wifi was strong and the standard of house keeping was excellent. Across the road, one gets free tea, coffee and waffles in the afternoon and a free light dinner which makes up for the additional room rate. So now you know why, when we returned to Bergen we stayed at the Havnekontoret.
.

Room Tip: Just keep asking to see more rooms if the one they allocate you is awful. There is a lot of variatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations, due to the room standards and views. We would like to hear more about your stay. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for General Manager Nina Askvik.


Best regards,
Therese Steen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had 2 stays at this hotel and were impressed by the service. The reception staff were welcoming, even though it was very busy when we stayed. Our room was adequate for our needs. It is sparsely furnished but the bathroom was large and clean. There is free wifi in the room. We had to request extra tea and coffee in the room as the supplies were minimal. There was a peculiar desk in the room which appears to be slanted. We had this in both rooms that we stayed. It seems a waste of wall space. Breakfast was excellent and was served in a large restaurant. We would recommend this hotel largely due to the fact that the airport bus stops right outside. That is incredibly convenient when you fly in to Bergen. We did not find the outside noise to be a problem. There is a small supermarket nearby so you can buy supplies. Eating out in Bergen is expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts. It is a busy hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear McKinnon2,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. At the same time, we are sorry to hear you experienced some noise from outside. There was a large festival ongoing for 3 days, and the weather was the best and warmest since a very long time. This might have caused some noise. We hope we can welcome you back in Bergen in the future!

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!


Best regards,
Therese Steen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

VERY NICE HOTEL Situated in a prime location near the fish market and near the cable car to view point Web and print capability are very comfortable The relatively expensive parking, you can park in the street at a cost of 3 nok per hour but from 8 p.m. to 8 a.m. for free

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank davidcY8298JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, davidcY8298JZ.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your review.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position with an underground car park. Check-in was quick and friendly. Room on the 5th floor was high enough to look over the neighbouring building to the hills behind. Room was small, no bath, and weak AC, but clean. The wet room drain was blocked, but when we reported it nobody came to sort it, so my wife lifted the drain an cleared out all the hair. Then we noticed a leaking tap wetting the floor. Again nobody responded and we were told that no maintenance staff were on duty that weekend (both on leave!). A request for a bathrobe took ages and several phone calls before one was delivered. The plate of the iron was chipped so that it caught on your clothes. Other than that it was fine, and they were kind enough to give us a discount. The breakfasts were excellent. Staff were lovely. Don't want to be melodramatic. We had an enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel with very pleasant staff - just let down by poor attention to details

Room Tip: Get on a high floor. Surrounded by buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Dekard.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also great to hear our service-minded staff took care of you and that you enjoyed the Super Breakfast buffet. However, we are sorry to hear about the other issues you encountered. We will discuss your feedback on our next management team meeting. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel and it couldn't be in a better location for all the facilities along the Bryggen waterfront. Our room was a good size but not air conditioned which was a bit of a drawback as it was a very hot night, although the bed was extremely comfortable which helped! There was no wardrobe but plenty of hangers which is fine for a night or two. Breakfast was included in the price and there was plenty of choice to suit every palate. We were a bit disappointed that the free wifi didn't seem to work in our room but I think there were computers in the foyer downstairs for those needing to get online.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank htl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, htl2011.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet. Please accept our apologies for issues with the WiFi. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your constructive feedback.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One half block off the Bryggen Wharf, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the location of this hotel could not be better!
Service, breakfast buffet, room quality were excellent!
Good pizzas in attache restaurant.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LJC309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star experience from your last stay, LJC309.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and our service-minded Yes I Can!-staff. Lovely to hear you enjoyed the pizza in our Italian Filini Bar & Restaurant. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen many more times and thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed only one night in Bergen and picked this hotel mostly because of convenience: the SAS airport bus stops right in front of it and I am a Clarion Hotels member. We had booked online in order to take advantage of the 20% saving from advanced booking which was available at the time. At the time of the booking we requested a room with a queen size bed. However, when we arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon we were told that they no longer have rooms with queen beds. I started to protest and was told that this is normal in Norway and it is not standard to have queen beds in the room. I continued to argue as I had just spent two weeks at the Radisson Scandi in Oslo and was aware that this is not necessarily the case. The receptionist then told me that if I am not happy I am free to go to another hotel .... Well, you can imagine my anger at which point I made a big scandal, also pointing out that I am pregnant and this is not the way to treat Clarion Hotel members. The compromise was to send someone from housekeeping who would tie the two small beds together. We took this option as it was already 6pm and we had been traveling for 12 hours. Housekeeping came quite quickly to tied the beds together and also brought us a platter with fruit and cheese, which was a nice gesture. But still, the unpleasant experience remained. Luckily we stayed only for one night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Bubolecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, Bubolecho.

We are pleased you decided to book Radisson BLU, but we are truly sorry to hear about your experience that is far from what we want to give our valued guests. It is sad to hear your experience did not meet you expectations. Even though it will not help you at this point of time, I can assure you that we take your constructive feedback very seriously and will discuss your inputs on our next management team meeting. Remember that all Radisson BLU hotels have 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again and that we manage to meet or exceed your expectations then.

Please follow us on our social media channels to stay informed of our upcoming specials and news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
697 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,334 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £97 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing