We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option when travelling with family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good option when travelling with family.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Good option when you're travelling with family. Centrally located on the harbour, excellent service with modern and clean rooms. Breakfast is good, but didn't eat in the restaurant for evening meals as there are lots of options in town within easy walking distance. The hotel doesn't have a pool, but you can use the pool at the other Radisson hotel in town which is a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WanderingClarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear WanderingClarkes,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your good experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us.
We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials.

Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    895
    351
    105
    43
See reviews for
385
785
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Centrally located, staff very courteous and attentive, even during busy times. Breakfast contained a lot of good varieties. Decent-sized room and good bathroom.
Nice that hangers can be removed from the bar, water heater in the room for making your own coffeee and tea

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear dragon789wv,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews for this hotel. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet was among the best I've ever had in a European hotel. Lots of variety of food. The hotel's location is perfect too. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear C A,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your good experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us.
We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials.

Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the end of July 2014. The rooms are fine and clean. The location is excellent. The reception staff are a little brusque and ineffectual. We had a parking problem which they were unable to sort out (car park is run by Europark). Also when we asked if there was a lift up from the carpark as we had many bags the reply was 'No'. Not 'No would you like some help'

We only had one bathrobe in a room for two and after ringing housekeeping twice during our stay they promised but never managed to deliver a second one. Food was good and restaurant staff were very good. Also the air con was useless so we had to sleep with the window open. It was very noisy until the early hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear jcjcjc,

Thank you for reaching out and write your review, we really appreciate it.
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff, when it comes to the missing lift and help with the luggage. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service, so we are sorry we did not deliver this during your stay.
We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise. Your stay was during the event " Tall ships races", and this caused some noise during the evenings and nights.


Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the restaurant, food and the staff there.
We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.


Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrived during the tall ships race at 4 pm and was not allocated a room til close to 5 pm. While I understand that its during the peak season, still, it was way past check in time.

Room was on the fourth floor, not much of a view and really, really small. Hardly any place to put luggage and walk around. Expected more I suppose.

Location near the fishmarket and Hanseatic era wooden houses was good. But then again, Bergen is a pretty small walkable town that, really, there was nothing terribly special about its location compared to its competitors. About the only plus point was that it had its own parking garage underground which many hotels in Bergen do not have.

Breakfast was underwhelming with average choices and lots of people.

Nevertheless for a tourist, its still an acceptable option as internet is fast and free and has a good location for exploring Bergen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Flitting_bird,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We are sorry that the stay was not more than average, as we stribe to make our guest feel really comfortable. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We hope you would choose us again for another stay.

Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We're currently in the hotel in a room with 2 single beds pushed together! After being told to wait 2 hours for a "king bed" room, were told that only suites have king beds that I could have one for an add'l 2500Krn. After a long day of travel, disappointed in the staff, their level of knowledge of rooms and availability and complete disrespect for our time while in Bergen on a 2 day trip. It is, in fact, a clean hotel; however, that is what I expect from every single one of the 300+ nights I spend in hotel rooms every year for work. That is not worthy of extra compliments.
I've just read all of the mgmt responses to complaints here...speaking about this in your next mgmt mtg does not help people who are being mistreated in your hotel right now.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear R M,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to hear more about your stay. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for General Manager Nina Askvik.

Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights, having booked a Standard room (1495 NOK/night), requesting a Sea View. I never usually change rooms, but we had a look at three different rooms before deciding to pay more for a Business Class Room (400NOK/night extra). The Standard rooms were OK if you like views over gravel pits or brick walls and walking down long depressing corridors. What a mistake we made staying here, as for 240NOK ($40) extra we could have stayed at the Clarion Collection Havnekontoret, which is next door, shares the same enviable location on Bryggen in Central Bergen, has many more sea view rooms and is generally a nicer, more luxurious hotel with romantic well furnished rooms. At the Radisson you get Scandinavian, Ikea style rooms, a lobby full of bus groups, and endless waits to talk to reception. Also the rooms have an automatic mini bar that charges the minute you touch a bottle. In Bergen it rains a lot and the Radisson charges 100NOK, supposedly for charity, for an umbrella!! On the positive side the breakfast was very good, free wifi was strong and the standard of house keeping was excellent. Across the road, one gets free tea, coffee and waffles in the afternoon and a free light dinner which makes up for the additional room rate. So now you know why, when we returned to Bergen we stayed at the Havnekontoret.
.

Room Tip: Just keep asking to see more rooms if the one they allocate you is awful. There is a lot of variatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations, due to the room standards and views. We would like to hear more about your stay. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for General Manager Nina Askvik.


Best regards,
Therese Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
905 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing