We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but no frills”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We did not have much choice about staying in this hotel, as it came as part of a package we booked and paid for before we left home in Australia. After reading some of the reviews here, we were apprehensive...however, it's not as bad as we thought it might be! Our main complaint is that is not good value for money. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The "mini bar" turned out to be an expensive vending machine! We thought this was a bit mean.
The room was clean and we had a pleasant view of the (quiet) street in the Bryggen area. The bathroom was adequate, if a bit cramped. The slightly malodorous plastic shower curtain was not an attractive feature.
The beds were comfortable enough and we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was good.
To sum up, this hotel is OK if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Based on reviews here, I had asked my travel agent to change the hotel and was assured by them that the hotel wasnt nearly as bad as the review suggest. With great reservation, I agreed to keep this booking. We landed in a room on the 4th floor. Imagine our surprise to find a room that was LARGE, even with a baby cot thrown in and a wonderful view of the courtyard. The location was very quiet away from the maddening crowds of the main street and the harbour, though no more than a 10 minute walk from these locations. The staff was also very friendly, allowing us a late checkout. The only less than satisfactory experience was breakfast with a large number of people in a small space and poor service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaviprad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel is located near the pier where the boats to the fjords dock. It is modern and simple. The breakfast is hardy and excellent but the dinunderstaffs understaffed. We ate at a table with the plates and glasses from the prior occupant. Our room faced an inner courtyard which has a dumpster, cars and mechanical equipment. At 7:30 in the morning they started throwing garbage into the dumpster. They were also tthrowing out garbage at 10 pm last night. We like to sleep with the window open so we were woken up with the garbage.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Lhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

If visiting Bergen then this Hotel is at its centre and only a short distance from the main town centre and restuarants. It was quite basic and the bedroom on this visit was what I would call ' functional'. I will be visiting Bergan again but wil look at alternative accomodation. However, it provided a reasonable breakfast which is buffett style and it did have a good lounge and guest area with coffee facilities available during the day.
I cannot comment on the Hotel Restuarant as we eat out during our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel has a good central location only one street back from the harbour on the opposite side to Bryggen. Hurtigruten booked us in here for 1 night after a round trip.

Although reception was very busy and had a room key programming fault, they were very pleasant and quickly fixed the problem.

My room was in fact a 6th floor suite overlooking the street with separate lounge area containing sofa, armchairs and TV. The large bed was very comfortable and the bathroom (up a couple of steps) was well equipped.
(My friend had a standard room overlooking the dreary inner courtyard).
I did not get disturbed by any street noise during the night but they were relaying the road below my window and started work at 7am.

The breakfast buffet was really generous, and kept well stocked with both cold and hot foods. My only (minor) complaint was that the only breakfast cereal (not muesli) was a Scandinavian cardboard imitation of cornflakes. A really leisurely and worthwhile meal.

If I was choosing a reasonably priced hotel in Bergen for myself, this would be it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Alot of advertising by the Norwegian tourist board in London now, encouraging a visit to this UNESCO heritage city. Problem is, i don't think the locals are on board! Generally poor srvice in this city.....Waitress cleaning a table as she takes your order and wipes crumbs onto your lap - this in supposedly decent restaurants (you can't catagorise by price as everything is expensive here!!), Coach Driver from airport not knowing which stop we should get off at (it's supposed to be a 4 * - shouldn't he know??),
People of this city generally do not have a good manner with toirists - not rude - but not good service...sorry!

Back to the hotel,
Check in was atrocious, dissinterested receptionist, offererd no information on hotel or the area. Asked when Breakfast was, where it was, where our room was etc.......asked about tours etc.....no clue, and 0 interest in even attempting to help. Seriously, either get trained to deal with hotel guests, or get another job if it's all too much trouble....(it's the girl with the skin complaint - sorry, no other way to describe)
First room was tatty....stained ceiling, broken window latch, 100's of cigarette butts on the ledge below window even though it was a no smoking room. Had to move because of smell of smoke. Second room was better for sure, but both are tatty.
Breakfast is hard work for not very nice food - it's all self service, (meaning NO SERVICE) , they ran out of bacon , and until i told the waitress nobody had noticed/checked - wait ten minutes....then same thing with OJ, sure, not big deals, but hard work , not a relaxing b fast for a week end away. Food was not good (the hot b fast) , and if you are not on first sitting unlikely you'll find a clear table. They don't come near you even to take dirty crockery. Really like a school canteen....
Location of hotel is good, but that's all. IF you fnd another choice i'd take it.
City is beautiful for sure, but it will be held back by prices, and coming from London, that's saying something!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

10-15 years ago when I stayed here first time, this was a really nice and modern hotel. But the interior is the same today... say no more. The rates are too high compared to what you get, and what you could get at other hotels. The hotel restaurants serve delicious food! And the service is good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovelaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#36 of 49 in Bergen
730 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,333 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,311 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £91 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing